We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food, ok service, old decor”
Review of Lobster Pot

Lobster Pot
Ranked #4 of 145 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Scenic view, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open mid April through last November..."A Provincetown tradition" to those visiting the Outer Cape., our two waterfront dining roomsprovide the harbor view while our full menu, served all day, offers the finest & freshest in seafood,Portuguese specialties, steaks, poultry, vegetarian and light fare. Cocktails served in the "TOP" of thePot bar...famous for our Bloody Mary's & Signature Drinks.. Home of Tim's award winning Clam Chowder.ZAGAT Survey...Top Restaurants on Cape Cod.
Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

The Lobster Pot is a PTown institution. We went on a rainy day in July. In the summer, there is always a line here so be prepared to wait up to an hour. Once we got inside, we noticed the place was nice, but was sort of outdated. Our waitress took about 30 minutes to take our drink order, and then after they came we waited about another 20 to place the food order. My lobster roll was good, but not the best I've ever had. I would try this place again, maybe off season.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RPR84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded November 11, 2012

Thanks for your review of the Lobster Pot. Unfortunately during the high season, especially the July/August period, because of the "pace" of a tourist town our level of service sometimes suffers. No excuses, but In visiting Provincetown during the high season this is often the case not only with us, but in many restaurants in the area. As far as the decor is concerned, we are in an old/dated building, but always try to "refresh" things during our off season periods. We do not attempt at being a fine dining establishment but certainly offer a traditonal, clean & comfortable...great waterviews i might add...dining atmosphere. Again, thanks for your input...The Lobster Pot

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (3,130)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2,447 - 2,451 of 3,130 reviews

Reviewed November 8, 2012

They the Bloody Mary and go for cocktails in the upstairs bar. It's fun and they have great apps. The seafood is delicious. Hey, there's a reason they have survived in a town of picky eaters where restaurants come and go. It's not fan y. And it's really good.

Thank ustraveler07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at the Lobster Pot in Provincetown many times over the last 25 years; in fact, we've made it a point to eat there every time we visit.

The ONLY thing that was good this time was the pumpkin bread, which was excellent -- but I love all things pumpkin.

I had a lobster roll, wh was a disaster: the lobster meat was SQUISHY, & didn't even taste particularly good. My spouse had a whole boiled lobster, wh was adequate.

The waiter was attentive & helpful.

The Lobster Pot is a P'town institution. It will survive w/out our business. Good thing, b/c we were terribly disappointed, & likely won't return. :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank drrobinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Public Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

We are sorry that you where disappointed with you recent visit to the Lobster Pot. Food & service…we pride ourselves on 100% customer satisfaction. Any disappointment with either food or service we will fix immediately if the situation is brought to our attention. Our front of the house managers are available to correct any problem with your meal or service and to follow through on why you may have been disappointed with your dining experience. Sorry we could not have corrected the problem when you where in the restaurant, but thanks for your input…The Lobster Pot Restaurant.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great seafood, Everything about LP is great, Staff is very helpful. Very large menu.
The grilled tuna was cooked perfect.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bigt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Public Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this reviewResponded November 9, 2012

Thanks for the great comments...WE LOVE THE FEEDBACK !!!
The Lobster Pot Restaurant

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with another couple, stopped in this restaurant while recently visiting Provincetown. It was a very busy day in town and all the restaurants were crowded. The hostess at the Lobster Pot was very friendly and promised to get us seated ASAP. We proceeded upstairs, picked up a drink at the bar and went out on the deck to enjoy the view. We were seated within 20 minutes and received quick service. The clam chowder was good as well as the lobster and scallops. It was noisy due to the crowd but we ended up chatting with a group at another table. Overall a pleasant experience.

Thank bedep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Pot also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing