We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over-rated, sad to say”
Review of Lobster Pot

Lobster Pot
Ranked #4 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Scenic view, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: Open mid April through last November..."A Provincetown tradition" to those visiting the Outer Cape., our two waterfront dining roomsprovide the harbor view while our full menu, served all day, offers the finest & freshest in seafood,Portuguese specialties, steaks, poultry, vegetarian and light fare. Cocktails served in the "TOP" of thePot bar...famous for our Bloody Mary's & Signature Drinks.. Home of Tim's award winning Clam Chowder.ZAGAT Survey...Top Restaurants on Cape Cod.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Over-rated, sad to say”
Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

We have eaten at the Lobster Pot in Provincetown many times over the last 25 years; in fact, we've made it a point to eat there every time we visit.

The ONLY thing that was good this time was the pumpkin bread, which was excellent -- but I love all things pumpkin.

I had a lobster roll, wh was a disaster: the lobster meat was SQUISHY, & didn't even taste particularly good. My spouse had a whole boiled lobster, wh was adequate.

The waiter was attentive & helpful.

The Lobster Pot is a P'town institution. It will survive w/out our business. Good thing, b/c we were terribly disappointed, & likely won't return. :(

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank drrobinhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Public Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
We are sorry that you where disappointed with you recent visit to the Lobster Pot. Food & service…we pride ourselves on 100% customer satisfaction. Any disappointment with either food or service we will fix immediately if the situation is brought to our attention. Our front of the house managers are available to correct any problem with your meal or service and to follow through on why you may have been disappointed with your dining experience. Sorry we could not have corrected the problem when you where in the restaurant, but thanks for your input…The Lobster Pot Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,795 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,519
    857
    281
    99
    39
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Albany, New York
Level Contributor
30 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Just Fantastic”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great seafood, Everything about LP is great, Staff is very helpful. Very large menu.
The grilled tuna was cooked perfect.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bigt101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Public Relations Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this review, November 9, 2012
Thanks for the great comments...WE LOVE THE FEEDBACK !!!
The Lobster Pot Restaurant
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
33 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

My husband and I, along with another couple, stopped in this restaurant while recently visiting Provincetown. It was a very busy day in town and all the restaurants were crowded. The hostess at the Lobster Pot was very friendly and promised to get us seated ASAP. We proceeded upstairs, picked up a drink at the bar and went out on the deck to enjoy the view. We were seated within 20 minutes and received quick service. The clam chowder was good as well as the lobster and scallops. It was noisy due to the crowd but we ended up chatting with a group at another table. Overall a pleasant experience.

Helpful?
Thank bedep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant!”
Reviewed November 4, 2012

We visit the Cape often, but this was our first visit to the Lobster Pot restaurant in Provincetown, and I think this is going to be a new tradition! It was a bit noisy in the restaurant since it was packed, but that didn't stop us from having a great dinner. Our seat was right next to the window and gave us some great views! And the food was delicious! The bread basket had different types of homemade break (pumpkin bread!) and the salad was fresh spinach with several dressings to choose from. My husband got clam chowder and seafood pesto and inhaled both of them! I got the asian bouillabaisse, and I don't think I've ever eaten anything as good as that for seafood!

Definitely recommended if you are in the area and would like a good meal at a great price!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Elisabeth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“The Lobster Pot Rocks!!!!”
Reviewed October 31, 2012

Just want to say - we were only in PTown 2 days - found the Lobster Pot just walking around town and saw their neon sign and decided to eat dinner there - This is how much we loved the place - we ate dinner there - went back the next day for lunch and dinner :-) Our lst dinner we splurged and had lobster pot pie & lobster newburg - rich & creamy & super yummy . Lunch the next day we dined tapas style - calamari, sashimi, clam chowder & each of us had one of their pepperoncini infused Bloody Marys - Ate healthier for dinner that night - Halibut & Portugese stuffed cod (w./crabmeat & shrimp) - We also bought 2 cookbooks which the owners (all family) so kindly autographed - can't wait to make some of the dishes back here in Chicago! Our servers were amazing and friendly as well! This is a muist go to place - forget the others - and BTW - the 2nd floor has a great view of the ocean :-)

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lindakosarek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lobster_Pot_Ptown, Manager at Lobster Pot, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Thanks for the great comments...we love the positive feedback !!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lobster Pot also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Lobster Pot? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing