We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Medium gallery, clean and cold.” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Provincetown Art Association and Museum

Provincetown Art Association and Museum
Ranked #16 of 69 things to do in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Sterling, New York, United States
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Medium gallery, clean and cold.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The exterior is architecturally interesting with metal sculptures on the lawn (I love the mermaid tale). The art is lovely, displayed in wide open spaces with little traffic.

The customer service is cold; no smiles (for us), no conversation, and short answers. The one exhibit I enjoyed had a booklet available for purchase in the gift shop with no price. I inquired but wasn't willing to pay it.

Not impressed and I did not linger.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank MirandaDee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

75 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    4
    2
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
65 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“A satisfying exhibition space with good art.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We are members of the Provincetown Art Association and Museum (PAMM) and highly recommend a visit. They have nice special exhibits throughout the year and their permanent art collection is strong.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank WestBrooklyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“worth the time spent”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

a great review of the life on the cape. So many talentead artists and the Kennedy Gallery sells beautiful; paintings for all price ranges.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank gwen155004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“You have to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

It's a landmark, and home to some of the most incredible art and entertainment in town. It's not uncommon to walk by at night as a lively jazz band is playing at another new art showing.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ed L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
50 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Glad we came”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Provincetown specifically to see a show of Robert Motherwell paintings, "Beside the Sea", all done while he was spending his summers in Provincetown. The museum is quite professional, especially as most of the art to be found in P-town is pretty awful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VanGogh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provincetown Art Association and Museum also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Provincetown Art Association and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing