We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Glad we came”

Provincetown Art Association and Museum
Ranked #18 of 72 things to do in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Philadelphia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Glad we came”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We went to Provincetown specifically to see a show of Robert Motherwell paintings, "Beside the Sea", all done while he was spending his summers in Provincetown. The museum is quite professional, especially as most of the art to be found in P-town is pretty awful.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank VanGogh2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    27
    4
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Charlestown, MA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Friday Nights”
Reviewed August 19, 2012

Fun addition while exploring lots of East End galleries. No admission on Friday nights.....but be sure to give a donation to this special spot.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Susie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
60 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Small - but Worth a Visit”
Reviewed August 17, 2012

We enjoyed our visi to this small museum located on the east end of Commercial street. They were featuring an exhibit of Robert Motherwell, which was quite informative. FYI - if you present a AAA membership they offer a discount on admission.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Charles H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Art Museum”
Reviewed August 16, 2012

On this visit they had a Motherwell exhibit...work he had done while there. Wonderful! Whenever I am in town I visit this lovely museum. The exhibits are always interesting.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank linhelen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level Contributor
52 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Paultry Collection and Overpriced”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Admittedly I'm not the biggest fan of Motherwell but for $10 I would expect to see a lot more art beyond the special exhibition. I could see paying half that amount given how small and overall unimpressive their collection is. The bottom line is that unless you go for free or there is an exhibition you are dying to see, I would save your money and instead enjoy some of nearby art galleries, like Bowerstock, that contain some beautiful works.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank hgoblin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Provincetown Art Association and Museum also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Provincetown Art Association and Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing