We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more...”

Bubala's by the Bay
Ranked #22 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $0 - $26
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Worcester, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“I was expecting more...”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

On a recent trip to Provincetown, we decided to dine at Bubala's. The menu looked fairly interesting, and the atmosphere casual and fun. The food, however, was a disappointment. I had the lobster ravioli, which was served in a very watery sauce and had very little lobster flavor. My companion had a seafood stew which had a consistency thin enough to be called soup. If these entrees had been $15-$18, it wouldn't be worth complaining. But at $25-$28, someone needs to call them out on the quality of these dishes. With so many restaurants to choose from in the immediate area, I will select a different one on future visits.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MaxPrince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    316
    138
    56
    37
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Havre de Grace, Maryland
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly staff”
Reviewed September 23, 2013 via mobile

After a long car trip the staff made us feel welcome and arranged for an ocean view. After a short wait at the bar with excellent Bloody Mary's, we were seated and given the wireless password so we could check email. Service was fast and friendly. The salmon sandwich was very good, the fries were excellent and the Gorgonzola salad good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mike R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Apollo Beach, Florida
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“free entertainment”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We usually hit our favorite restaurant when we head to Provincetown, but they weren't open and everyone was hungry so we walked a bit further down the road... Bubala's has a great outdoor eating area to enjoy the warm fall weather while dining on chowder, steamers, salads and beer. It has some of the best chowder and steamers on Cape Cod (trust me, we try them everywhere we eat) and the waitstaff was great fun! We got some really great one liners we used the rest of our trip. We will definitely be adding Bubala's to our favs when visiting the Cape!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cmasse10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
roebling
Level 6 Contributor
164 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Good hamburger before seeing the sunset”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

Before heading to Herring Cove to see the evening sunset, we stopped at this restaurant for a quick hamburger and to watch the parade of locals along Commercial Street. Rather than a frozen hamburger tossed on the grill, the patty was thick and juicy...clearly hand made. The associated fries were OK, but the burger and server were higher than expected.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank donkamienski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Good Food, Nice Atmosphere, Great People Watching”
Reviewed September 21, 2013

If you're going to eat lunch here, do yourself a favor and sit outside and enjoy the energy and good vibes that pass you on Commercial Street.

Food is very good, staff is friendly and service is quick. I thoroughly enjoyed my Caprese sandwich on Foccacia, something that seems deceptively simple to make but can often be underwhelming. Not at Bubala's...it was fantastic. My wife enjoyed her Gorgonzola salad which was generously portioned and well-prepared.

There are a lot of dining options in Provincetown, but if you're looking for a quick bite and a drink or two, Bubala's is a safe bet and will leave you satisfied and ready to continue exploring all that Provincetown has to offer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taylorplayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bubala's by the Bay also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Bubala's by the Bay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing