We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that easy to find but worth the search”

The Red Inn Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Business meetings, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Reservations
West Barnstable, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
161 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Not that easy to find but worth the search”
Reviewed June 12, 2014

On the far end of Commercial Street near the Provincetown Inn. Built in 1805 and has only 8 guest rooms and a great bar and restaurant that are right at the Harbors edge.

We found this by accident and were both surprised at the great atmosphere and really a great first class menu. Food was very well presented in a timely manner, GREAT quality and taste. It's not cheap but sure worth it.

I would not hesitate to recommend it or go back again and again. Staff were all professional and well trained.

Take the chance and dine there if in the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

689 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    431
    139
    71
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Providence, RI
Level Contributor
235 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“A real disappointment”
Reviewed June 7, 2014

After my wife had a pretty good trout dinner at the Red Inn several nights before, we decided we would try again for a Friday night dinner. The place was crowded and it seemed that the waitstaff was overwhelmed. Everything on the menu sounded good but all of it tasted like it had been cooked two days earlier and then just reheated before service. The bacon wrapped fried oysters that came with my Caesar salad were greasy and rubbery and cool. The avocado foam on my wife's beet salad could've been anything… It had no flavor at all. The slow braised pork shank special lacked seasoning and it sat on top of a rather flavorless pile of grits. It seemed that the best dish on our table that night was the Kobe beef sliders our daughter had ordered. Like any other restaurant in Provincetown, this place suffers from the fact that it is seasonal, and therefore good help is hard-to-find. Provincetown is not the place to go for fine dining… But the views of the water don't suck.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Elvis355
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
247 reviews
197 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“A lovely restaurant with a gorgeous view”
Reviewed June 2, 2014

We sipped on a dirty martini and one of the "famous tea-tinis". Dirty martini is common knowledge but the house signature was Earl Grey infused Plymouth gin with triple sec and a sugar rim. Interesting on paper, not so interesting on the palate. There was something missing but we couldn't put our index finger on it.

As the light rapidly diminished we moved inside to a table and tucked into a bottle of local vino. Great drop, even if it was from industrial-strength glasses that are thick enough to be akin to beer mugs.

The food - smoked Long Island duck (34) done Creole-style, de-boned and served with a savoury bread pudding and an orange and peppercorn glaze. The duck was beyond generous and had an intense smokiness, equalled with a sugary sauce.

My blackened rainbow trout (28) is a rustic affair; served with Creole sauce, beans and mascarpone grits. Beautiful white flakes of fish and a Southern-spiced sauce that hit all the right spots. A bit stodgy, a bit pub-like, but just what I needed.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank heneedsfood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Yacht views and great food”
Reviewed May 31, 2014

You can't get better atmosphere, views and authentic charm on the Cape than at the Red Inn. It's literally right on the water with water views from every table in the restaurant. The food is high quality, the portions are generous, and the service is very professional, but friendly. Walking into the dining room is like stepping into the 1800s. A great dining experience all around. The menu may not be cutting edge, but there are some interesting and delicious preparations like the roast duck, the ceviche, the pork shank and the boston salad with fresh palm hearts.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank John M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
36 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Always Wonderful for Every Return”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We come to this restaurant several times throughout the year. We consider this the number one restaurant in town. It has all the qualities that is important in dining out - FOOD - the menu offers delicious and well done meals always cooked to perfection with excellent sauces, nice portions, healthy sides & beautiful presentation. SERVICE - the staff here is one of the best trained and experienced in Provincetown. All dressed well, groomed, attention to detail in service, a change of silverware and never needing to look around for a server. PRICE - although many may find it high in price, the price is no higher as compared to other good restaurants in town. The wine list is extensive and covers all prices. Drinks are well done and has a decent pour. PARKING - this is a commodity that is almost unheard of in Provincetown. WIth it's excellent location, there is parking just outside the door. and lastly ATMOSPHERE - this restaurant has an exceptional view all from most tables of a well light, romantic dining room, with white tablecloth tables that is not crowded together. This place is the ultimate dining experience. Don't miss out on this place!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Bill B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Red Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing