We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect spot for a romantic dinner”

The Red Inn Restaurant
Ranked #7 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $31 - $40
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Local cuisine, Special occasions, Business meetings, Scenic view, Bar scene, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Drinks, Dinner, Brunch, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“The perfect spot for a romantic dinner”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The Red Inn is a fabulous restaurant with a view of Cape Cod Sound, a wonderful deck out back and delicious food with accommodating service in the dining room. It is our favorite meal in Provincetown year after year.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MDHastings30306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

682 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    427
    137
    70
    25
    23
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lake, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Don't miss the raw bar special 3-5”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Have eaten dinner at red inn for many years and the experience is mixed, mostly ok over the past few years, although they can be pretty snotty about reservations. However, the best deal int own is to go during the afternoon for the raw bar that offers shrimp and oysters for $1.25 a piece plus other lught fare. Sit near the window, have a drink and gobble all you can until 5:00. Who needs dinner? The wait staff is friendly and fun and so are the other customers. A great elegant but beachy spot with a fabulous view and more parking than most.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank bertk656
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn, IL
Level Contributor
51 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Not just a good view...”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have been traveling every year to Provincetown for the past 7 or 8 years. While we have walked past the Red Inn on walks in the West End, we never thought far enough ahead to get a reservation. That changed with our trip to P-town last week.

From the road, you just want to walk through the picket gate, up the brick walkway to explore and soak up the history of this antique structure. But what is inside isn't just 'cute Cape Cod.' It is a restaurant that has kept the best of the old, while updating what needs to be new and clean when you're expecting a top-notch dining experience.

We arrived early and had a drink on the expansive porch/deck that faces the waters of Cape Cod Bay. It was four of us for dinner that evening, and as we sipped our wine, we suddenly realized that the host staff might not know where we were on the porch. It was 8:13 when we said this and I said I should go to the host stand and let them know. Right when I was about to enter the restaurant, a gentleman I hadn't even encountered yet came up and said our table was ready, exactly at 8:15. Amazing.

First off, two of us ordered the Tea-Tini and it turned out to be one of the best 'flavored' martinis we had ever had (in fact, when we got home from our trip we bought a bottle of Plymouth Gin and Earl Gray tea to infuse it so we can try to duplicate!). The entrees we ordered varied from meat to fish and all were cooked to perfection. Our waiter Clay was very nice and down-to-Earth and had good recommendations for our table.

Two days after our initial dinner, we started craving a Tea-Tini. We took a pedal cab out to the Red Inn, just to have one on the deck. Bartender Bob from Minnesota made our drinks quickly even though the bar was packed for Happy Hour. After two Tea-Tini's apiece, we thought 'why do we want to go back into town if we could snag a table here?' We were fortunate to have one of the nicest hostesses put us on a list for a high-top table in the bar area (can't remember her name, but she was wearing a gorgeous peach-colored dress that evening). At 5:40, we were a bit concerned because we had to get to a show at 8:00.

Five minutes later, we were sitting at our high-top with Raquel (another wonderful server) enjoying our view and eating some wonderful panko shrimp as an appetizer. We ordered the filet and the scallops and then split them both for surf and turf. The scallops were massive and perfectly cooked...our medium rare filet was truly one of the best we have had. Their steaks are obviously high quality and they know how to cook them. We had told Raquel about our concern of making the show in town and she was right on it and nothing was delayed.

This is a well-run restaurant in four major areas: Food, Service, Cleanliness and Charm. Put it on your list...just make sure you heed the warning on the website to get your reservations in well in advance (they will take reservations up to six weeks in advance).

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank glenellynguy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saratoga Springs, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Good food but pricey!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to the Inn for dinner because we had a gift certificate for $50.00. We ended up spending another $50 without drinks or dessert. Salads were al-carte and each meal was around $25. It was good food but there are other restaurants in Provincetown that are equally as good for half the price. Wouldn't go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anne D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best meal of our trip”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Service was top notch and the food was excellent. Our best meal of the trip, without a doubt. (Make reservations as this is a very popular spot.)

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Red Inn Restaurant also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Red Inn Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing