We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Canteen

Canteen
Ranked #3 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
71 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Excellent!!”
Reviewed May 31, 2014 via mobile

So glad that Canteen is back for another season! Try their lobster rolls hot. They are amazing :-) They have taken the typical cape fare to new heights. When available, you should try the Provincetown oysters. Quite different from the Wellfleets. More briny and a slightly cleaner taste and very delicious. Refresh yourself with homemade sodas and beverages. It's all good here at The Canteen! Not good...Excellent!

Helpful?
Thank Khoolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

570 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    361
    158
    30
    15
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Good lobster rolls, but very expensive”
Reviewed May 23, 2014

I had the famous lobster rolls and they were good, very basic though and I though very expensive, at least not good value in any way. We had a round of fish and chips as well as not even a young kid can get full with this appetizer for almost 20$. Lemonade was good though as well, so it was really just the prices that turned me off.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Salttoft
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lobster Roll”
Reviewed May 13, 2014

Best lobster roll in town served with a smile. Great for lunch whilst in this lovely town. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank LizW463
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Wonderful Newcomer in town”
Reviewed May 8, 2014

Loved, loved the food, location, ambiance and owners/staff. They really seem to be happy to provide a great experience. The atmosphere is relaxed and fun. Every dish we tried was amazing! Everything was fresh and made in-house. I'm getting hungry thinking about it!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank CB_Plimoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairport, NY
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Grilled PB&J with fresh strawberries!”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

We were in Provincetown for the first time in 2 years, and hungry for lunch. Read the menu in the window and saw the grilled PB&J with fresh strawberries as well as the cranberry chicken salad sandwich. PB&J on a ciabata roll was excellent, cranberry chicken salad was kind of bland. Came back on another day for a repeat of the PB&J. It'll serve two if you're saving room for ice cream later. Good basic food redone for adults. I'd love to see what they can do with grilled cheese sandwiches and tomato soup.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MReynoldsFairport_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Canteen also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Canteen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing