We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty curry”
Review of Squealing Pig

Squealing Pig
Ranked #7 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast
Southport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Tasty curry”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We took a trip to Provincetown recently, but unfortunately encountered the rain. In deciding where to eat we came across The Squealing Pig. There was a line, but as there was only two of us and we were happy to eat at the bar we were seated fairly quickly. Given the weather we both plumped for the chicken curry. The curry is Nepalese and bursting with flavour. They also had some interesting beers on draft which are worth a try. All in all a good place to stop and have the curry it was delicious.
We decided to give the sister restaurant a try in Boston, but found it hard to find. A shame.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Cathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    253
    242
    68
    13
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Tasty pulled pork at low prices”
Reviewed August 12, 2013

After visiting several places in Provincetown, this is the restaurant I prefered. The pulled pork sandwich was delicious and the french fries were just perfect. The only thing I have to say is that the ambient light was too strong; a subdued atmosphere would be nicer.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank StaxGD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
188 reviews
139 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Rudest and most inconsiderate place in Ptown”
Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Imagine a restaurant empty except it five tables of two. They refused to seat the two of us except at a table of two. They actually expected us to wait half an hour despite having at least 20 other tables. They should learn both how to run a real business and how to be considerate. We were not the only couple turned away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank FromToronto2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
67 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A day trip to P-town”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Late lunch stop with our daughter. She had oysters (app) and salmon burger. My husband had the fried chicken/fries and I had chicken basil toastie. Great place. Will stop again when we get to Ptown on another visit.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank terrypotts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
179 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Consistently good over the years”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're looking for high end or fancy, don't go here.

If you're looking for consistently good comfort food, good service and a local atmosphere, this is your place.

The smoked seafood chowder is unique and delicious - and don't be greedy, wait for it to cool or you'll burn the roof of your mouth off, as I have learned many (many) times.

The curries are Nepalese inspired and flavorful rather than hot. You can't go wrong with the kebabs or the fried chicken and the burger is a reliable go-to.

Great for larger (up to about 8) parties as well, "the Pig" as it's referred to around town is fun for lunch or dinner.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank nomadale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Squealing Pig also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Squealing Pig? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing