We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Poor service and poor food” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Governor Bradford Restaurant

Governor Bradford Restaurant
Ranked #89 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Drinks, Dinner, Late Night, Lunch, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kernersville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
101 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Poor service and poor food”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 13, 2014

We stopped here because the greeter out front was advertising the 1/2 price meals until 6:00 p.m. The service was slow and poor. The seafood was mediocre and the steak was terrible. The only nice part of our meal was the outdoor seating.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    62
    82
    35
    57
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Don't bother”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2014 via mobile

Coming to the Cape for many years my parents used to take us here and I always remember the food being good. We stopped in for a late lunch and boy was it a bummer. The margaritas were poorly made and overpriced. We ordered the NE clam chowder which was good. The calamari was so-so. We ordered the lobster wontons which were in one word, GROSS!! The filling was NOT lobster and the taste was very fishy. When the waitress saw we weren't eating them, she came over and asked if we had a problem. After telling her they were not good and tasted funny she picked up the wonton off the plate and smelled it and then put it back down. They did not take them off our bill and the entire lunch cost us about $60.00 which was 59.99 more then we should have paid for this meal. The other issue we had was the staff was outside near the bar laughing and being loud all hanging around the tables due to lack of customers. In my mind it came off as unprofessional. A lot has changed since 6 years ago and it's a shame that it went so bad.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tasha9914
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danbury, Connecticut
Level Contributor
68 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“NOT A PLACE TO TRY”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

VERY POOR SERVICE. Help needs to learn how to handle each part of the mean. Drinks took over 20 minutes to come. Appetizers were ordered but never came. An when the dinner person came to take out order, we just walked out.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Royland L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level Contributor
102 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Pet Friendly. Nice outdoor patio”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Right in the heart of Commercial St. We had eaten there serveral times. We go as a family of 5. I found the menu typical with it's offering but that's what my family wants. Order lobster. I've always had a good lobster roll. The hostess and servers are very pleasant. The only thing I can say and it's not a negative but just a circumstance of it's local, in the restrooms there are "machines" hat dispense adult items for after a "date" . It may catch your children off guard and cause you to answer some questions.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Momto3boyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
55 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“The 56th anniversary couple being greeted by the 83-year old hostess!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2014

Traveling into Provincetown from Hyannis was an enjoyable sight-seeing journey. Arriving near 9 a.m. we decided our first course of action should be to have a great breakfastg. Being totally unfamiliar with the area, we parked the car and walked the main street --and came upon the Governor Bradford Restaurant--with seating both inside and outside. Entering the restaurant, we were greeted by "Bubbles" (the nickname of this 83-year old hostess who had spent 40+ years working at the Gov. Bradford restaurant. Her advice and counsel for a delicious breakfast resulted in my wife of 56 years having a great omlette; while I enjoyed the Bradford Benedict.
Great service; delicious food; "on the street" viewing. Go Bubbles!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank dariatv1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Governor Bradford Restaurant also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Governor Bradford Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing