We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ciro and Sal's is good Cape Food”
Review of Ciro & Sal's

Ciro & Sal's
Ranked #62 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Price range: $0 - $25
Cuisines: French, Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Description: Taste the best that Italy has to offer in our cozy wine cellar that has radiated charm and atmosphere for decades. At Ciro & Sal's, inspiration is born from the simple homegrown flavors and traditions of the Northern Italian cuisine. Enjoy the aroma of garlic and herbs, combined with the freshest local ingredients while dining in our dimly lit brick wine cellar. Be seated at an intimate table and settle in for an evening of extraordinary taste sensations.
CT
Level 6 Contributor
110 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Ciro and Sal's is good Cape Food”
Reviewed March 30, 2014

Been coming to the Cape every year for 35 years- Provincetown restaurant eating is a must during our week stay in Wellfleet- The last time we visited Ciro and Sal's was almost 8 summers ago so we were due a visit-and it did not disappoint, It is a P-Town institution and should not be passed up-

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank andreatCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    126
    72
    28
    31
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Clifton, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed March 9, 2014

I enjoy going to Ciro and Sal's for good italian food. I will say the quality varies. It seems every other year it is exceptional. The other year it is great. Not a bad gamble wither way in P'town.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michele O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Schenectady, New York
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
90 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Won't Skip Ciro & Sal's Again!”
Reviewed February 17, 2014

I've been to P-town lots of times and knew something about the history and import of C&S's to the artists' colony and history of the place - but never eaten there. So we visited on a Sunday night in February. VERY QUIET! Only a few other tables seated during our meal. Service was attentive and I thought the food was great! Roasted artichoke app was good. Caesar salad was decent. But the stars were the entrees: the pork & prosciutto special was heaven and the pasta and pesto was GREAT! Tiramisu was yum-yum-yum! It's not a cheap meal, but the history and vibe and feel of the place is value added. I was not cold in the place, but I wish the bar upstairs had been open. It was the coolest looking retro bar I've seen in a long while. I'll go back for sure. It's one of my new favorites in P-town.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kaelap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, RI
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Betty, the bartender made my night!”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A packed January Saturday night, and even though we had reservations, there was a snafu, and we ended up seated with another couple. But had a great time meeting these folks. Food was fabulous. Betty at the bar upstairs was a hoot!!

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ocean558
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cape cod
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Not All It's Cracked Up To Be”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

I was so excited to bring my date to Ciro's. I made an on-line reservation a few days ahead and planned an early meal, so we could go to movie or theater. I went for the ambiance and that is what I would give the highest rating, although in the winter, unless you're in front of the fireplace...it can be chilly in this basement dining room.

I was disappointed with the service...we were seated next to the only other couple in the first dining room, rather than any of the other tables. I wasn't there for the early bird and we didn't choose to order from that menu, but I definitely felt like we were given the two women out to eat seat them next to the door treatment. That said, we were moved when asked for a different table.

Meal was good, but when I asked if the ravioli was served with a tomato or a cream base sauce, I was assured it wasn't cream and the waiter described a tomatoe sauce. Well, it was a stronganoff type cream sauce. The bread at the table wasn't anything special and it was served with pats of butter, not olive oil. Description of sauce on the special was also off: scallions, not shallots...so maybe our waiter was new or just beginning his evening.

Long and short of it is: I'll wait until Front Street opens if I really want to treat myself or a friend. Maybe January just isn't the time to eat there...don't know, but going forward, I plan to skip this option.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ManitoMarsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ciro & Sal's also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Ciro & Sal's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing