We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Slooooooow”
Review of Hot L Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Hot L Bar & Grille
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Formerly Michael Shay's
Newington, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Slooooooow”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Stopped for a late breakfast as soon as we arrived on Cape, around 11 a.m. 30 minute wait to be seated. The menu looked delectable: lobster eggs benedict, Portugues omelets, yum. After ordering, however, we noticed our kids were getting antsy. I looked at my watch and discovered we had been sitting there for 40 minutes! So over an hour at this place and still no food in our growling bellies. We notified a server and was told there was a 25 minute wait for the food, as if this were normal and which, mind you, had already been exceeded by almost double that time. Finally got our breakfast which was okay - smallish but tasty omelet and pancakes as good as anywhere else. Nearly an hour for that? I could have whipped up omelets and pancakes at home in less than half the time. After eating, we waited another 15-20 minutes just for our bill. In total, we spent two hours at this restaurant (11 a.m. - 1 p.m.) for an average, everyday breakfast. I hate giving negative reviews, but just thought folks should be aware, especially those with young children who have a time limit on how long they can sit quietly in a booth coloring on placemats. Sorry...

Oh, and the bill came out to $80 for four adults and two children (ages 2 and 4) who shared a plate. $80. For breakfast. Omelets and pancakes. $80.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newburgh, New York
Level 6 Contributor
349 reviews
242 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“Great find for breakfast and dinner”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Enjoyed and excellent breakfast here and liked it so much we went back for dinner that night.
Food was well prepared and tasty. The bartender knows how to mix a good drink and prices are reasonable. The lobster claw "corn dogs" were a treat for an appetizer. 3 claws on a skewer dipped in a light tempura-style batter were crispy and delicious. (although seasoned curly fries for the chips was a bit odd). The fish and chips was too much for my wife to finish and my scallops were also great. Cooked just right. Would have liked to go back to try the barbecue but we ran out of time. Good excuse to come back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank atima
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only went here for breakfast on 2 occasions. This place has changed hand 3 times in the last 10 years. The new owners did a nice job of cleaning the place up.
The food and service was overall pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place for Seafood”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the closest restaurant to our hotel. My wife enjoyed her baked cod. The pan-seared scallops I had were tasty but not especially large and there were only 4 of them in a dish that cost about $24. The place was pleasant and the service good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food at the Hot L”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

wedding reception was here, in a private room with it's own bar, and we had sunday brunch--- food/service was great; drinks overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot L Bar & Grille also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing