We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfast spot”
Review of Hot L Bar & Grille - CLOSED

Hot L Bar & Grille
Price range: $7 - $26
Cuisines: Barbecue, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Dinner, Reservations
Description: Formerly Michael Shay's
White Plains, New York
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
Reviewed August 13, 2013

We only went here for breakfast on 2 occasions. This place has changed hand 3 times in the last 10 years. The new owners did a nice job of cleaning the place up.
The food and service was overall pretty good.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

67 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    33
    11
    5
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Northern Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
71 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“A Pleasant Place for Seafood”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

This was the closest restaurant to our hotel. My wife enjoyed her baked cod. The pan-seared scallops I had were tasty but not especially large and there were only 4 of them in a dish that cost about $24. The place was pleasant and the service good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jeff25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“good food at the Hot L”
Reviewed July 30, 2013

wedding reception was here, in a private room with it's own bar, and we had sunday brunch--- food/service was great; drinks overpriced.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank kathy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rindge, New Hampshire
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“YUM!”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

The Lobster Cod Cakes are out of this world. Had them with a side of fries. Would suggest going for lunch as the items are virtually the same on the dinner menu and much more expensive.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Michelle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best breakfast value”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

My friends and I kicked ourselves for not knowing this little gem was just a mile down the street from our hotel on the East End of Provincetown until our last day there. After complaining of spending too much on meals all week and not finding simple, cheap breakfasts we landed here just hours before our ferry departed for Boston. Great, friendly staff and reasonably-priced 2-egg breakfasts and hearty lunches.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TBCaldwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hot L Bar & Grille also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing