We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful shops and restaurants!”
Review of Commercial Street

Commercial Street
Book In Advance
More Info
$57.00*
and up
Go Boston Card
Certificate of Excellence
Portsmouth, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Wonderful shops and restaurants!”
Reviewed January 24, 2013

Fun to walk and shop and just enjoy the ocean air. Everyone is friendly and there are some very cool shops!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pete G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,065
    440
    88
    23
    15
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Good People Watching and Strolling”
Reviewed January 11, 2013

It was nice to walk around and people watch. There are a lot of performers on the street. A lot of the shops sold the same type of touristy things. There are a lot of restaurants that were pretty good.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank EAWilhelm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level Contributor
215 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Nothing was Open”
Reviewed January 6, 2013

We stopped in PT after the New Year and nothing was open...even worse Commercial Street was under construction...limited parking...difficult driving...maybe something was open between Christmans and New Years but otherwise this is a just another local attraction until the beach opens in the summer.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Kurt5280
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
323 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Colorful, fascinating, fun, and sometimes shocking shopping experience”
Reviewed December 30, 2012

Walking the shops of PTown is always fun and interesting. There is more variety here than in most towns because of the mixed fishing & art colony heritage. Somewhat like San Francisco, on a smaller scale, PTown also has it's share of sensationalism, and a few shops cater to sensual tastes. If you can look past those, this is a great place to buy art, watch interesting people, and have a fine meal or two while enjoying a stroll in the salt air. I go every year !

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank docbruce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saddle River, New Jersey
Level Contributor
164 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Great in Winter”
Reviewed December 28, 2012

I know most people visit PTown in Summer. Not me! I love it in winter, when I can calmly walk up and down Commercial Street, and enjoy all the lovely stores and art galleries. I find the homes on the East end charming and so cosy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Henri C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Commercial Street also viewed

 

Been to Commercial Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing