We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice atmosphere for a drink but wouldn't go back for food”

Sage Inn and Lounge
Ranked #16 of 139 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Description: Sage Lounge offers herb-infused, creative cocktails showcasing herbs from our garden as well as a careful selection of fine wines and craft beer. Their inventive cocktails have continually been called Cape Cod's best! A food menu of small plates, appetizers and desserts feature Cape Cod's finest ingredients sourced from local farms and other food producers created by our acclaimed Chef Lucio Garnica and team. The Saturday night Chef's Table dinners are not to be missed! Noted Interior Designer Nicole Carroll, has created an amazing Lounge atmosphere that is comfortable, cozy and conducive to conversation and good times, the Sage Lounge is THE place to meet friends, co-workers, neighbors and the local arts community.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
59 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Nice atmosphere for a drink but wouldn't go back for food”
Reviewed March 4, 2013

An ideal concept but they should've thought more of the furniture and the food. The menu is mostly breaded and fried foods (lobster fritters, fish and chips) with a smattering of hamburger sliders, pork, deviled eggs. Everything seems to be resting on a bed of some kind of mayonaise based sauce. Very rich, heavy and too much breading. While the server was very attentive, he didn't think to suggest the items we ordered to come out of the kitchen, paced, so that we could enjoy them while they were hot and fit on the tiny tables. I would not go back to eat, but to lounge it's lovely.

    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ptowngirl1616
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn and Lounge, responded to this review, March 8, 2013
Thanks for taking the time to write a Trip Advisor review following your recent dining experience in our Lounge. We value our guests, particularly those who visit us in quieter times, and we take all feedback very seriously. In early May we will roll out our summer menu and you will be sure to find lighter offerings. We are also in the process of upgrading the seating we offer our guests with a new renovation to the space on the second floor called "Upstairs" at Sage. The new space will feature larger, regular height tables and comfortable leather chairs. We encourage you to visit us again for an opportunity to exceed your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

233 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    39
    8
    8
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swanton, Vermont
Level Contributor
29 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Very good food, service is average.”
Reviewed February 27, 2013 via mobile

My partner and I dined here over Valentine's day weekend. Even with quite a few people in town, Sage was nearly empty. It was a shame because the food was very good, beautifully presented, and of exceptional value. I had a trio of offerings for $20.13. It included heirloom tomato and cucumber salad, lobster fritters, and burger sliders that were to die for. The sliders could have been a meal on there own. The maple and bacon spread on the burgers was heaven. My partner had a pulled pork entree that was also very good.
My only complaint is that the service, while adequate, was lacking something special. The servers were very nice but didn't wow. Regardless, we will be dining at Sage again this summer.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank JSchuler82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
95 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“enjoyed what we had”
Reviewed November 12, 2012

a quick visit for cocktails. had a flatbread pizza and a porkshank. cocktails were good, food was good, bartender was very good but the place was deserted on a Saturday night albeit it was November. We would certainly return if we are in town.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WBRED
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn and Lounge, responded to this review, December 27, 2012
Glad you enjoyed everything- come see us again soon! We will be open year round!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“great little spot for an elegant post dinner cocktail”
Reviewed November 5, 2012

What a beautiful renovation job the new owners have done to the place! The small bites menu is interesting - I've only tried the flat bread pizza, but it was very fresh and had a great balance of flavors. They also offer an interesting wine list, great champagne by the glass and offer unusual mixed drinks as well. Plus the setting is very nice - I'd call it upscale casual - you don't need to wear a little black dress to go, but you won't feel overdressed if you do . Fun spot to stop on the way home from dinner for a nightcap !

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank notsowearytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn and Lounge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your feedback and thank you for taking the time to review your experience in our Lounge. We are glad to hear you had an enjoyable time. Be sure to come visit us again next time you are visiting Provincetown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CT
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“In need of experienced staff”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

Stopped by for an after dinner drink and it took almost 20 minutes to get served. The order couldn't have been more simple grand mariner straight up & frangelico on the rocks. The bar was not packed and the tables not full. The server was nice but just seemed clueless. The owner stood at the front but should probably pay more attention to the staff and the service. the decor was very nice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LoveToDineCt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn and Lounge, responded to this review, November 6, 2012
Thank you for your candid feedback. As a new establishment, it is important for our management and ownership to acknowledge all of our guests' experiences and constantly monitor our staff on both busy nights and quieter nights. We are sorry our service did not meet your expectations. When you return to Provincetown, we would love an opportunity to show you the guest experience we strive for.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sage Inn and Lounge also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Sage Inn and Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing