We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Sandcastle Resort
Nearby Hotels
Surfside Hotel & Suites(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$189
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lotus Guest House(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$110
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$149
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Harbor Hotel Provincetown(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$119
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$269
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Cape Colony Inn(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$109
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Seaglass Inn & Spa(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$160
$155
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Masthead Resort(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$101
$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$219
$175
Official Site
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Brass Key Guesthouse(Provincetown)(Great Value!)
$320
$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (248)
Filter reviews
248 results
Traveler rating
42
77
46
47
36
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
42
77
46
47
36
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsindoor poolsunset roomtennis courtsexercise roomstove topshort walk to the beachcoffee makerlow tideroom was clean and comfortablenational seashoretimesharecooktopcouchbaysummertoasterpans
Filter
Updating list...
150 - 155 of 248 reviews
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We didn't have the best of experiences at Sandcastles at all!
On arrival the woman at the front desk actually rolled her eyes at us (we arrived about 9.30pm so not that late) and looked most displeased to see guests arriving at the hotel! There was no welcome at all we were given a grumpy brief chat on where things were and sent off to our room.
The room was a good size but that was about the only positive, no air-con, tired and stained furniture, filthy around the pull down bed, not cleaned properly (personal notes from the previous guests were still left out on the kitchen worktop), the walls are paper thin so you can hear next doors conversations word for word and they weren't a particularly loud group of people. Also a heating unit had been left pumping out hot air so it room was boiling by the time we got there! The advice in the booklet in the room to cool it down is to leave the door open and let the ocean breeze in, not the most secure! Security obviously isn't their priority though as cleaners left our doors unlocked after cleaning which isn't ideal after we had made the effort to lock up properly before we left.
Location - the hotel is miles from the centre of Provincetown despite how they describe it on their website. We walked it one evening and it took 45 minutes (we are x 2 young fit people who are used to walking too!) there is a bus that comes once every 30 mins but the hotel were unable to confirm the timetable for us which wasn't very helpful. The pool area is nice and the pool itself kept very clean, staff around the pool seemed lovely these people should be on front desk! Beach behind the hotel is quite 'wild', walk through grasses to get there and then you reach the beach which had 2 metres of seaweed before you could reach the seaweed full sea maybe it was the time of year but the beach was not maintained by the hotel at all as far as I could see.

I'd stay somewhere else - this is not a resort as it likes to call itself, its an overpriced motel miles from the centre with shabby rooms, lack of security and terribly rude staff!

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere!
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LucyEmmaB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nevms, Trustee at Sandcastle Resort, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2014

Hmmmm . . . disturbing comments. Our front desk staff is all new this year and I expect nothing less than excellent customer service. I can't do much about noise from next door but cleanliness is something that must happen. Rarely do we get any negative comments about the cleanliness of our property and I will look into this. We did have a problem last year about the time you were there with a handful of thermostats that were stuck in the "on" position and couldn't be turned off. That has been repaired. Since you're stayed here, we're installed brand new kitchens, new bathrooms, new sliding glass door, new exterior doors and many other upgrades and I sincerely hope you'll give us another chance.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

I've stayed at the Sandcastle Resort and Club twice, once in August 2013 and once in July 2011. Both times, I swapped my timeshare week in FL.

The place is obviously a former motel that was turned into a timeshare/resort in the 1980s. The one bedroom suites are laid out well, but EVERYTHING is old...I mean 1970s and 80s old. The refrigerator is the same one I had in my first NYC apartment...in Harlem...circa 1980. The bathroom is almost as old. The rooms have that musty, undefinable smell of cooking and God only knows what else. The curtains, screens and blinds are tattered and falling down. The coin op laundry facility down the hall has two washers and two dryers for the ENTIRE resort.

Nevertheless, the location is choice if you don't want to be in the frenetic center of P'town. The facilities include a beach, two pools (indoor and outdoor), tennis courts, bacci/horse shoe toss, bike racks, etc. There is a public bus right out the front door and it is an easy bike ride into the center of town. Also, the staff is helpful and generally nice...although they must be under a lot of stress given the condition of the rooms and buildings.

Undoubtedly, the entire resort needs a major overhaul. So, adjust your expectations and be forewarned.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NJGAYFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is very family friendly resort with sponsored activity's for the kids. They have sandcastle building contests, movie nights in the playroom, and other activities. For the adults they have a exercise room, tennis courts, badminton, basketball, shuffleboard and a spa. There are two pools, a huge outdoor and good size indoor.

We had a great ocean front studio with a slider to the deck overlooking the ocean. The room was clean nicely decorated and well stocked with mini fridge, small stove, pots, pans, micro wave, mini fridge and food storage. We ate dinner out, had breakfast on the balcony overlooking the ocean, and used the microwave to reheat the previous nights left overs, once again having lunch with an ocean view.

Our room had one pull down bed and a pull out sofa sleeper. The bed was comfortable, didn't use the sleeper. There was no AC in the room, but being right off the ocean the room stayed cool. It was nice to stay someplace that didn't have the sealed windows, you could actually enjoy the deck and ocean view. This may not be for all, but we loved it!

The hotel has a small snack counter by the pool where you can purchase burgers, dogs, wraps. They also have themed dinning nights, but we didn't try. We did there all you can eat breakfast on Thursday, and that was very good.

Plenty of shopping in PTown. We got to town via bike (available at the hotel), bus and car. There is also a winery close by and GREAT restaurants. The sandcastle provides discounts to local restaurants with a card, and every place we tried was very good.

We had a great week at the Sandcastle.

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having AC, get a ocean front if you can.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights - which was enough.
Location is ok, shuttle bus to town relatively often (though nobody really seems to agree on time when asked).
Arrived early, only to be sent away - or rather before being sent away we first had to witness the manager giving 2 employees a verbal reprimand ( in front of us) - after which she left huffing and puffing.. She didn't even notice that she interupted the girl attending us...
The room was promised at 3 pm - but we didn't get it before 5:20 pm.. And only because we repeatedly came asking. Apparently it was a big surprise that the people in the lobby were waiting for keys.. Even though ALL of us were..
Oh, and then there is an activity board. Good. But it kind of looses the meaning when it's updated at the end of the day AFTER the activities are over!!
Other than this, rooms are fine, pool area is fine.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Soren_Odense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

By way of a premium timeshare swap we were given a room with a/c but didnt need to put it on all week. Not their fault. Had nothing but rain from Sunday to Thursday. From there on it continued down hill. Was 2nd floor walkup, no elevator, even for suitcases/bags. Efficiency unit had no counter space. Window screens were missing so mechanic came to put them in. One of the two didnt fit well so bugs were able to get in. Parking lot flooded in rain so were unable to drive in/out thru entrance. Had to use the rear lot, of which our room had a view, to enter the premises. Beach is a long, arduous walk from hotel thru beach grasses, only to find there is no sand. Other Cape beaches faster to get to by car, and swimmable. Resorts' planned activities were shuttered due to weather, like barbeque, pool bar, and some excursions off premises. Probably went on every tour offsite we could find because of the poor weather, ie; wine tasting, orchard & winery tour, lighthouse tour, dune tour, etc. Resort offered a "club discount" book but most of the restaurants in the book were overpriced or under quality and several of them were both.

The resort needs a bit more than a facelift. Room staff was accomodating but front desk staff were difficult to deal with.

Room Tip: Go in August if you want to avoid typical New England coastal weather.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ebagz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews