We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pleased”
Review of Sage Inn & Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sage Inn & Lounge
Ranked #14 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
milford
Level Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“pleased”
Reviewed July 27, 2013

staying at sage as i type. I am very happy with my stay here .Staff is very accimodating
friendly and welcoming.Room clean although somewhat weathered but not as much as other
b and bs in p town. . Breakfast could be betterr even for a continental and had to wait 10 minutes fr coffee as it an out at 9am, but all in all it was the best i have stayed in so far in provincetown and as soon as dates for girl splash 2014 are out im booking
again.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beth s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    276
    86
    21
    6
    2
See reviews for
31
231
28
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Waldorf, MD
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2013

This review is mostly about the "Inn" side of this business. We stayed in room 307 for 5 nights during Bear Week. Good for a 3 night stay. Lack of a lounge area makes a longer stay uncomfortable.

The biggest negative issue is Sage Inns has no place for us to hang out. The entire downstairs is the restaurant, basically. There is no place to just hang out and read, have coffee, etc. On the 2nd floor is a small upstairs lobby area and special function area. This need to be turned into space for paying hotel guests to hang out

We were allowed (and even encouraged) to hang out in the space IF (big "if") no other paying function was scheduled. There were 4 semi-comfortable chairs in the space and 2 user friendly 4 person tables. No place to "lounge"; i.e. put your feet up, relax, read a book. All the chairs on 2nd floor deck are hard and straight back. There is a comfy outdoor lounge area with comfy cushioned furniture on the 1st floor BUT (big "but") you can not take alcoholic drinks out there. (I am betting that is a legal, nonnegotiable, restriction.)

The breakfast is is no protein/high carbohydrate; which is typical inn fare. Coffee also. Only fruit I saw was grapefruit. I need protein to start my day right so that was a none starter for us.

(Mostly) Good stuff:
1. Friendly, helpful staff and owners. Everyone we came in contact with was 100% customer oriented.

2. Location. Location. Location: Set back just enough off Commercial St to dim the noise. You can still people watch from 2nd floor deck. No problem with noise even during Bear Week. It is about as close to the "heart" of the PTown action as you can get. Ideal if you are using the Ferry.

3. Free parking for 3 of our 5 night stay. Moved to Private Parking for 2 night ($26 daily).

4. Pets allowed (apparently). There were a few friendly pets in other rooms.

5. Restaurant: The bartender and drinks are killer good. The food is excellent. We had a SPAM slider (with Kimchi) that was excellent. Yes the portions are small-ish and the prices PTown

6. Free Wi-Fi was fast and never dropped out.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 307 for 5 nights. It has a small refrigerator. There is no microwave or "make...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EzeWaldorf_MD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Acton, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2013

What a wonderful experience I had at the Sage inn last week. They were very accomodating, comfortable, gracious and figured out a way to let me stay an extra night. Great people, food and rooms! Would come back in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christo T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 22, 2013

The general manager Cathy is excellent and very helpful! We had an event at Sage and everything was perfect. The food and decorations for our event exceeded the expectations of both myself and the other coordinators.The bedrooms are very clean and nicely decorated. Every staff member we met was incredibly friendly, helpful and knowledgeable about Provincetown. The Inn is also extremely pet and service animal friendly. Our room came equipped with a water dish for our dog when we checked in. The location is superb and the Inn is also very quiet giving its location on Commercial street. I had an excellent experience and cannot wait to visit again!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Myrnach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

I recently stayed at this hotel. I coudl not fault it for location, comfort and service. Indeed the staff are so extremily nice, consistently, nothing is too much trouble and they are available for anything, no matter how small. The rooms are comfortablre with great AC. Internet is free and also really reliable. A small breakfast of coffee and muffins is served daily which is nice. The location is probably the best in town in my opinion, having been to Ptown a number of times; being slap bang in the middle of the action, but away ever so slightly removed from all the noise of the main road, its literally a few steps back from the road, but that means you are away from the noise and caos which is nice, but can just as easily dive into it in 30 seconds walk! Would not stay anywhere else in Province Town! bThanks again guys for such a great stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Talktodom B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsfield, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 7, 2013

My wife and I had an amazing time. The staff and owners were so friendly and welcoming. We can't wait to visit again for longer and bring our dog. The food was amazing and the atmosphere was low key and relaxed with a classy feel. I truly have no complaints.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Holly G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 1, 2013

I recently stayed at the Sage Inn. It is a very clean hotel with nice sized rooms. The front desk staff couldn't be friendlier or more accommodating. Anthony is the right person for the job! The Inn is conveniently located and not immediately on busy Commercial Street - it sits back from the street which allows it to be a little quieter. A light continental breakfast is included. And for the price - which is much less than many other inns that offer less space and more attitude - I would stay here again. Thanks to the Sage team!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beck312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.3 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
855 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
571 reviews
0.2 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#2 of 62 in Provincetown
405 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Inn & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Inn & Lounge

Property: Sage Inn & Lounge
Address: 336 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sage Inn & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round and just steps away from the excitement and energy of Provincetown's Commercial Street, but set back from the hustle and bustle, Sage Inn & Lounge offers a peaceful setting for a restful and energizing vacation or getaway. Located in the center of the Historic District, you can saunter down a lovely brick walkway onto Commercial Street where you will discover galleries, retail shops, and restaurants or delight in a specialty cocktail and light fare in the Sage Lounge. Our newly renovated 19 room, 3-story green hotel offers three indoor function spaces for up to 100 as well as zen outdoor gardens. A convenient elevator whisks guests up to our relaxing rooms. Each beach chic room is decorated in Cape-light colors, has a private bath, Queen or King-sized bed, air-conditioning, and flat screen televisions with cable. Some adjoining rooms are also available. Light continental breakfast and wireless internet access are included with your stay for your convenience. As an extension of our commitment to being a sustainable hotel that is easy on the environment, we feature farm-to-table cuisine, (3) on-site electric car charging stations and solar-powered electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Hotel.de so you can book your Sage Inn & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay @ The Pilgrim House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing