We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing stay but”
Review of Sage Inn & Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sage Inn & Lounge
Ranked #15 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing stay but”
Reviewed June 3, 2013

Stayed here for five nights with my girlfriend over the Memorial Day weekend.

Arrived on the Saturday on the ferry from Boston so Provincetown was very busy. Got a cab from the port to the hotel as it was raining but in retrospect we would have walked as it takes less than 10 minutes and the cab cost $16.

The Sage Inn is located off Commercial Street so its in a great location. The staff were very friendly on arrival and gave us helpful information about the hotel facilities.

The room was quite small but more than adequate for our needs. The bathroom was a good size with a shower and toilet but the sink was in the room which I never like.

Breakfast was standard with bagels, coffee and juice. Annoyingly we only received breakfast on the first three mornings. When we asked why there was no breakfast on the last two days we were told they only offer it at weekends. Which was strange as we got it on the Monday and Tuesday. I think the real reason was because we were the only people staying in the hotel on those two days so they couldn't be bothered catering for us. It would have been nice to have been informed that breakfast was not complimentary every morning when I booked or when checking in.

On check in we were told the hotel closes at 11pm so you need to use the upstairs door to gain entry after this time. The hotel reception, including bar and restaurant, closed around half 11 on the Saturday and Sunday but it closed at 6-7pm on the other days of our stay. Because of that I cannot comment on the food or drink but it did look good from what I saw.

I would stay here again but not during off-season weekdays as the hotel is dead so I feel like I did not get the full Sage Inn experience.

Good: Great location, comfortable bed, friendly staff
Bad: Breakfast only at weekends (or when there are more than 2 people staying), Sink in bedroom, Room not serviced on the last day, Small TV

Green Features: Room had two bins; one for rubbish and one for plastic, glass bottles and cardboard
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean_No1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    89
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
234
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
1 review
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We got married here May 4, 2013, and I absolutely cannot say enough positive things about our experience. Cathy, Sheri and Chef Lucio were beyond spectacular. Cathy began organizing and preparing our event MONTHS in advance, and her expertise and attention to detail were demonstrated in our seamless event. We utilized their large event space, which seated our 85 guests perfectly, and also had our cocktail hour in their modern lounge. The food was unreal, all of our guests (who mostly work in the restaurant industry in NYC and Boston) were so impressed. If we were to do it over again I would not change a single thing, and any future event I may have in P-town will most definitely be at Sage. SPECTACULAR!!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Poodlepie1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Collins, Colorado
2 reviews
Reviewed May 15, 2013

We had a wonderful experience at the Sage Inn. They did everything possible to make us feel welcome. The food they provided for the Friday evening reception was delicious, as was the food for the cocktail party and wedding dinner. Everything was done in a timely way....they were on top of it. The continental breakfast they provided in the morning was perfect and a great setting to talk with other guests staying at the Inn. The location of the Inn made it easy to experience Provincetown. I highly recommend the Sage Inn.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
combopack
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Close friends of mine were married in P-town on the weekend of May 4. Their family and friends (including my husband and I) stayed at the Sage Inn. The rehearsal event and wedding reception was held there as well. The hotel rooms were very cute and clean. The staff were very nice and accommodating - the hotel manager immediately helped me figure out the heating/ac system when I commented that our room was very cold. The reception was fantastic - the staff at Sage managed the transitions from dining to dance set-up well and service was seamless. The food was excellent and the staff was very friendly. Overall, a fantastic wedding weekend. Would definitely recommend Sage as a reception venue.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank combopack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larkspur, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed May 14, 2013

And my son was married in P-town on May 4... Our group took over all the rooms at the Sage Inn, and we had the welcome party and reception there. Even before we arrived John and Cathy helped find a hair appointment, sitter, and gluten-free food for my friends. My elderly Mom got sick while there, and they found the right medical help and provided the dry crackers and ginger ale, inquiring about what else they could do to assist. I was not involved in arrangements being the MOG, but I surely was impressed with the clean, modern, sophisticated atmosphere of this newly transformed inn, the creative food -- and I am picky -- and the delightful service we experienced at every turn. John and Cathy's pride in this charming place was evident and well-placed. Best of all, I could tell my son and his bride knew they had found just the right venue from the beginning. They were relaxed and confident before, during and after knowing that Cathy and John and the all-important chef had it nailed. It doesn't get any better than that.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MileHighMama09876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren, PA
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 8, 2013

My daughter was married on May 4 in P-town, with the welcome party on Friday evening and the wedding reception on Saturday evening. The food was fabulous...everything tasted delicious and was presented in an attractive and elegant way. The out-of-town guests stayed at the inn, with many positive comments about the comfort and attractiveness of the rooms. The reception area was beautiful and tastefully decorated to coordinate with a variety of decorating styles. The lounge was cozy and made a nice area to mingle when not dancing.
The staff was friendly and sooo helpful. Cathy seemed omnipresent...always willing to help. John even called ahead to say that road construction was going on around the inn.
We were thoroughly impressed and enjoyed our visit immensely.

Green Features: There was a sign in the room explaining that guests could receive full service every day, but need not, in order to conserve energy.
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jo H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Cod, MA
Level 6 Contributor
199 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2013

We stayed at Sage Inn again this past weekend. Everything was perfection. From the warm welcome from front desk lady Sewall to our spotless, crisp and comfortable room, we enjoyed every minute. Our bed was incredibly comfortable and we really loved the soft, white linens and double-sheeting. The bathroom was large enough not to feel crowded and the thirsty towels were welcome after a sumptuous hot shower. The Inn is very eco-friendly, we like that, too.

The handsome and spacious Lounge is very nicely decorated with generous cocktails. The eponymous sage green walls, carpet and furniture worked well together and provided a great environment for catching up with friends without feeling crowded.

In the morning, the coffee was robust, perfect for waking you up after a deep and refreshing night's rest in one of the most comfortable beds we've ever slept in. There was absolutely no noise, although the hotel was full, which we also appreciated.

This is one of our favorite places to stay in town. It has all the amenities, great staff, reasonable rates and ideal location (set back off, but convenient to, Commercial Street but no street noise) which make this a great recommendation and personal refuge!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wpdesousa-mauk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,001 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#8 of 15 in Provincetown
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Inn & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Inn & Lounge

Property: Sage Inn & Lounge
Address: 336 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sage Inn & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round and just steps away from the excitement and energy of Provincetown's Commercial Street, but set back from the hustle and bustle, Sage Inn & Lounge offers a peaceful setting for a restful and energizing vacation or getaway. Located in the center of the Historic District, you can saunter down a lovely brick walkway onto Commercial Street where you will discover galleries, retail shops, and restaurants or delight in a specialty cocktail and light fare in the Sage Lounge. Our newly renovated 19 room, 3-story green hotel offers three indoor function spaces for up to 100 as well as zen outdoor gardens. A convenient elevator whisks guests up to our relaxing rooms. Each beach chic room is decorated in Cape-light colors, has a private bath, Queen or King-sized bed, air-conditioning, and flat screen televisions with cable. Some adjoining rooms are also available. Light continental breakfast and wireless internet access are included with your stay for your convenience. As an extension of our commitment to being a sustainable hotel that is easy on the environment, we feature farm-to-table cuisine, (3) on-site electric car charging stations and solar-powered electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia and Hotwire so you can book your Sage Inn & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay @ The Pilgrim House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing