We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Staff!”
Review of Sage Inn & Lounge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sage Inn & Lounge
Ranked #15 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great Staff!”
Reviewed January 2, 2013 via mobile

If you are looking for a place with authentically caring staff-this is it. We came here for New Year's Eve, and were able to bool spur-of-the-moment only because someone had cancelled. The parking was a little tight and we had a noisy "neighbor" that woke my partner(probably more because of the New Years festivities than the environment itself). That said, I would highly recommend the Sage for great service, friendly staff, pleasant ambiance, tasteful decor, and excellent location. All smiles!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SMCCG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    282
    89
    21
    6
    3
See reviews for
34
234
28
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
1 review
Reviewed December 29, 2012

We have stayed several times at the Sage Inn and have truly enjoyed our stay. The lounge has a great vibe and the cocktails are yummy. The rooms are clean and confortable and you can't beat the in town location. Warm and friendly service makes the Sage Inn a perfect get away destination.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank blakaero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This was the second time we stayed there. Once in season for a wedding and then we went back for a larger room for a weekend stay in the off season. A really nice place, centrally located, with a nice bar and a restaurant of their own. Sage will likely be our regular place when we go to Provincetown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CliffWoodPVD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 5 Contributor
95 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Arrived in P-town Thanksgiving day, Sage was open for delicious drinks and and tasty treats. Our server made us feel so welcome we came back every evening! I recommend the Naughty Toddy, although everyone enjoyed absolutely eevrything. Cozy couches and inviting fireplaces, can't wait to return to this special place.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Captamerica911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Paltz, New York
Level 6 Contributor
131 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

A four night Thanksgiving away from home brought us here for a first-time try with friends. Many old time Ptowner's will remember this place as a women's bar off of Commercial, but it is transformed! The new owners Diane & Jeanne are creating a whole new concept, and so far, it is really nice -- for everyone is welcome here.

The downstairs Lounge is cozy, a great place for a nightcap and easy conversation; and we used the upstairs lounge as well.

Room-wise, I'd say this is a continuing work in progress, as we had a couple of issues, that were handled promptly, but will be even better addressed as the rooms are upgraded. You will not find rooms with baths in Ptown as large as they are here.

We didn't have the opportunity to try the kitchen, though the menu looked great for light hot and cold snacks and light fare.

From flawless, easy, friendly booking; to arrival and greeting; throughout the stay; and final checkout - a friendly, attentive, and extremely helpful staff all at an exceptional value. Because we stayed off-season, they included parking without charge -- you simply can't beat their rates (even with a stick).

We think this place is gonna be jamming this summer; and it's already a fantastic place in the year since they started the renovation. Take advantage while it's an unknown.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SteveMHV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed November 26, 2012

We enjoyed our brief stay at Sage. The staff were welcoming and warm...the decor is lovely. The rooms are basic, but comfortable. The location can't be beat, and the restaurant offers excellent, excellent small plates and cocktails. However, I agree with Sluggo65's observations. A public space for guests to read, relax, and stretch out would add a lot to the experience. And the continental breakfast could be improved...the same thing every day...not the best coffee or bagels. Some muffins, a bowl of hard boiled eggs, some change up each day would go a long way. That said, I'd return in a heart beat.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MassZoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2012

I really liked the Sage Inn. It's the old Pilgrim House, refreshed, repainted and re-imagined, and it pretty much works.

The rooms are above the loungey small plates and events space with access through there until 1am, or at all hours from outside overnight via an elevated walkway from Commercial Street.

The rooms are small, tidy and clean, and a nice bathroom. All more than adequate if not spacious or exactly luxurious. For the money, it's perfectly nice.

I don't love the bath products in pumps, as much as a laud the environmentally friendly nature of it, there is too much risk of someone tampering with the products, and who doesn't like itty bitty shampoos to take home? :)

My biggest issue about the place is the lack of a public area for guests to hang out in. Since he entire downstairs is given over to a lounge and public spaces, there is no place to just hang out and read, have coffee, etc. There is a small upstairs lobby area and smaller function / overflow bar. Those need to be turned into space for paying hotel guests to hang out, with 24 hour coffee service (and an ice machine -- as nice as they are about getting you ice, it needs to be available around the clock.)

So that's why the 1 star off perfect -- invest in some public space for the guests and you'd be a 5 star place.

++
Quality towels
Comfy bed and pillows
Clean modern rooms
iPod clock radio
Tv with cable

--
Lack of individual bath products, no mouthwash or lotion
No fridge
Skimpy bfast
No DVD player
No common area for guests

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sluggo65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cathy N, General Manager at Sage Inn & Lounge, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review our Inn via TripAdvisor. We were particularly interested in your comments about the public space for inn guests and we too have acknowledged this as an area of improvement. We have contacted a local designer and have started brainstorming ideas for the former wine bar space on the second floor. With an appropriate re-design, we think this space could offer exactly what you and others are describing- an area to watch TV, enjoy a magazine, and just relax. We hope you will visit again and have a chance to experience the transformation first hand. Again, we thank you for your comments and feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sage.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.4 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,004 reviews
0.7 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
895 reviews
0.3 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
324 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Masthead Resort
Masthead Resort
#8 of 15 in Provincetown
247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sage Inn & Lounge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sage Inn & Lounge

Property: Sage Inn & Lounge
Address: 336 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2335
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sage Inn & Lounge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open year round and just steps away from the excitement and energy of Provincetown's Commercial Street, but set back from the hustle and bustle, Sage Inn & Lounge offers a peaceful setting for a restful and energizing vacation or getaway. Located in the center of the Historic District, you can saunter down a lovely brick walkway onto Commercial Street where you will discover galleries, retail shops, and restaurants or delight in a specialty cocktail and light fare in the Sage Lounge. Our newly renovated 19 room, 3-story green hotel offers three indoor function spaces for up to 100 as well as zen outdoor gardens. A convenient elevator whisks guests up to our relaxing rooms. Each beach chic room is decorated in Cape-light colors, has a private bath, Queen or King-sized bed, air-conditioning, and flat screen televisions with cable. Some adjoining rooms are also available. Light continental breakfast and wireless internet access are included with your stay for your convenience. As an extension of our commitment to being a sustainable hotel that is easy on the environment, we feature farm-to-table cuisine, (3) on-site electric car charging stations and solar-powered electricity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sage Inn & Lounge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Stay @ The Pilgrim House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing