We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Still my go to place”
Review of Gifford House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Gifford House Inn
Ranked #48 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
worcester, ma
Level Contributor
46 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Still my go to place”
Reviewed July 22, 2011

I've been in the pricier places right on Commercial st. and while thier rooms have flat screen tv's and new decor, it's just not worth it for the money they want. I want to be able to pay for my room, be close to where I want to go, have adjacent parking and money left in my pocket to spend. The Gifford does exactly that. Sure the rooms have the feel of a college dorm room, but you just can't beat it. I always stay on a weekend during the off season. I've been in room 1 for the past 2 years and it's perfect. Private bath, fridge, ac, tv although the tv was never turned on. If I'm coming to Ptown, it's not to watch tv! Bed is comfortable, room is clean and the breakfast, hard boiled eggs, cereal, raisin toast, regular toast, bagels, muffins, fruit, milk, juice and coffee. Perfect way to start the day and not come out of pocket. After the club closes the place is quiet. I am always happy to get a room there and the staff are very helpful. I think I've started to recommend this too much. lol

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pookaalp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    25
    12
    11
    4
See reviews for
3
24
15
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Dracut, MA
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

Basically a motel with multiple floors. The pictures on the websiite are acurate, yes they were taken decades ago and the decor furniture never changed. Ok place for the bar, but would not recommend to stay. Noise level wasn't bad we stayed in room 26 on the 3rd floor facing the front over the deck. With the ac on couldnt hear a thing. The views were good from our room..could see a little of the ocean. The restaurant never had anyone in it except the waitstaff sitting waiting for guests, not a good sign. Would recommend this place for young party kids who dont care and just need a place to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, less noisey
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RobinWyman75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Provincetown hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2011

I stayed at the Gifford house bad service lots of attitude from Greg at the porch bar yelling at everyone that stayed their a complete waste of money.the staff their are not friendly at all I do not recommend staying their .the day you check in is the only day they will be nice to you

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 6782
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 15, 2010

Bottom line - They perpetuate the bad stereotype about resort towns - they will squeeze you when they have the leverage.

I stayed at the Gifford during a busy weekend in August. The first room (with private bath) I had was fine, but it was available for only one night - so they transferred me to the Annex. The annex room (no private bath and only $15 less than the first room) was dark, cheerless, claustrophobically small and depressing. An air conditioner was promised but there was none. The staff jokingly called it the Anne Frank room (based on the woman who lived in hiding in an attic during the second world war). There were no other rooms available, and I asked the acting manager, Dave, I could get a reduced rate. He gleefully told me that it was a peak weekend and if I didn't like it I was free to go elsewhere. He knew there were no rooms in town, and was apparently pleased about this.

When I returned home in August, I wrote to the owner of the Inn, Mr. Jim Foss (who also owns the Watership Inn). It is now November, and as I haven't heard from Mr. Foss or anyone at the Inn, I decided to post this review. (I wanted to give him the benefit of the doubt, thinking he would respond to my letter).

These appear to be people who don't care about their customers - or know that they will have you by the throat during peak season. Here are two pictures - a standard room, and the Anne Frank room. Please have a look.

Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank SummerTraveller100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston MA
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

This is a lovely old hotel in a great, central location. (Think big wooden turn-of-the-century New England summer hotel.) Rooms are dated but all have modern private baths. Great housekeeping staff. Room, bath very clean. Linens could use an upgrade, but okay. The bad part is if you are expecting some peace and quiet at night-forget it. There is a busy bar located off the large front porch that fills up around 11pm. Soemtimes unsleepably loud, sometimes managable. Worst is they feel the need to make a buck off the lobby space where an amplified, (!!), piano and singer(s) belt out "Oklahoma" and other jewels at dance club volume just a short distance from the rooms. They do mention the sound in the confirmation letter and when making a reservation. They say it's "barely audible" in the rooms. Simply not accurate.
They figure it's Ptown and most people don't go to bed until after the town's 1am closing time anyway, but the blasting music in a small lobby is overkill for the non-partying people.. That's the only big negative.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank goingsolo9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
concord, nh
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2010

i only reserved one night at this hotel, as i had my suspicions and knew from the past that it has a bar in the hotel, meaning loud music and loud drunk people untill early in the morning
i thought this only occured on friday and saturday nights and since i was staying on a sunday night, that i should be ok, especially since the room rate(85 plus tax) was great considering ptown prices,
well there is a party every night at this hotel
the room was tiny, but clean with a very comfortable mattress and pillows had i been able to get more than 3 hours of sleep, the person in the room beside me played loud hip hop music and slammed the room door coming in at 5 am and proceeding to talk loudly on the phone for about an hour
the front desk was closed until 9 am and many (about 5 people ) were waiting to have breakfast and to check out, i couldn't get out of there fast enought

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nostimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 29, 2010

I'm a hotel manager in NYC and I found this to be a well run establishment.

Standard accomodations (the rooms are not fancy)
Amazing housekeeping dept. (They are always cleaning something)
Friendly, professional staff
complimentary continental breakfast
AMAZING LOCATION!
Fun terrace bar, lounge and piano bar

This is a very well priced accomodaton! I will be back next year!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bsd76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Crown and Anchor Inn
Crown and Anchor Inn
#26 of 62 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 109 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 420 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#43 of 62 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Beaconlight Guesthouse
Beaconlight Guesthouse
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 155 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at 7 Central
Inn at 7 Central
#9 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 148 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Wind Inn
White Wind Inn
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
5.0 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gifford House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gifford House Inn

Property: Gifford House Inn
Address: 9 Carver St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2111
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating from the mid-1800s, this casual, gay-friendly bed-and-breakfast is a 9-minute walk from the MacMillan Pier ferry dock, 3.2 miles from Race Point Beach and 18.1 miles from Cape Cod National Seashore. The straightforward rooms and suites (most with air-conditioning) feature free Wi-Fi; some have additional bedrooms, minifridges, TVs, microwaves and/or bay views. Continental breakfast is served. On-site parking are free. Other amenities include a relaxed restaurant, a lounge, a piano bar and a dance club, plus a communal porch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Gifford House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gifford House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing