We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Home away from Home”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Windsor, CT
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home away from Home”
Reviewed January 27, 2007

We visited Gabriels for the 4th time this past January and as always we were treated with great hospitality. The roomd are everything that we expected them to be.

My partner and I celebrated our 10th year anniversary January 18th. We decided that we wanted to go somewhere we could be alone, yet at the same time have the oppurtunity to socialize with other people if we so decided. At Gabriel's we're always happy to be there...we never want to leave. The rooms are perfect...with all the ammentities that we need....and then some. Breakfast at Gabriels was not the typical breakfast of a complimentary breakfast that you find at hotels, but a breakfasat that makes anyone feel complete to start out the day. There are so many choices to choose from. In the afternoons when we would stroll back through the "breakfast//family room" we smelled fresh apple cider and cinnamon danishes. It was a nice afternon break. Both of the owners were very easy to strike up a conversation with. We also had the great pleasure of meeting Charlene who greeted us with open arms. She was great!! She was very personable and lots of fun. As a whole package, we can't say enough about this place. We would recommend it to anyone that wants a chance to have a nice relaxing vacation at the same time have plenty of things to see and do. We are planning on returning in March and then again for family week. Gabriels...thank you for making our stay......Home away from Home.

Stayed January 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank ChrisKev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
While the accommodations rent out at a market price for the season, location and quality, we offer an unbeatable tranquility of the garden in the very heart of Provincetown, welcoming staff and comforting made-to-order breakfasts - all you need to just let go of the routine on your vacation. Susan is a great room for a stay, especially if you are bringing a child of a four-legged friend.
We hope you will pay us a visit again at Gabriel's - you might want to travel around the apartment that we have and pick something new next time - make it an adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

542 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    454
    54
    21
    4
    9
See reviews for
76
348
19
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (118)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
west warwick
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2007

My girlfriend and I just spent New Years weekend at this bed and breakfast and I have to say it was a wonderful stay ! We had trouble finding a room with such short notice but was lucky enough that the woman at Gabriels were willing to put us up in one of, as they described, " their over flow rooms" We had no idea what to expect but when we got there, we were very pleasantly suprised ! They described this room as not such a pretty room but a comfortable room and I have to say, I thought the room was wonderful. It was in an older building in the back, but we felt right at home as soon as we walked into it.I also know that they were planning on renovating the back house this spring and personally i think the place was fine, but im sure that what ever they do ,it will be nice as well. Elizabeth could not have been any nicer or more helpful. They made us feel right at home, they offered to make New Years eve reservations for us, and the snacks and things left out over night for us to munch on were a delight. Breakfast was always served and if you were'nt able to make that , then there was always other things left out if you wanted to make them yourselves. I personally recommend this bed and breakfast and I cant wait to stay there again next year!

  • Liked — The privacy
  • Disliked — the back stairs
  • Tips/Secrets — bring your pet....they are very welcome here
  • Stayed December 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ruadiver2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
We are excited to learn you had a wonderful time in Provincetown with us! Do come back this summer season - this time will leave you even more in awe of Provincetown and Gabriel's.
With the beautiful garden with the fire and the fish pond, wonderful breakfasts in the morning with our cook Jean, you will definitely get the Best of Provincetown in the summertime.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2006

My girlfriend and I were looking forward to a romantic, enjoyable time in P-Town and were excited to get a room at Gabriel's after some positive feedback from friends. We rented the Olivia room and were told that it was so newly redone that pictures are not yet posted on the website. We were excited due to the information on the website that our room would have a jacuzzi tub and fireplace as well.

We were horrified upon entering our room. The room seems to be converted staff quarters. It was not newly redone at all- the walls were a terrible toothpaste green (subjective, I know) and nothing about the decor matched. It looked as if someone had moved out two days before and paint from an old hosptial had been slapped up on the walls. Upon entering, I put my wallet down on a shelf and the shelf fell off of the wall. The jacuzzi and fireplace were nowhere to be found. We were also excited about the outdoor hot tub, which had been discussed over the phone. Upon our arrival, we learned that it had been out of commission for 6 months- something about needing to be certified to maintain it - and the owners then asked US to write a letter to the powers that be to complain about the regulation.

Each time we returned to our room, we placed bets to which standard amenity (i.e. towels, pillows, coffee mugs for coffee maker) would be missing from the room after housekeeping- on several occasions we had to ask to have our towels returned after the towel service.

The bathroom and shower were tiny, and it took at least five minutes for the shower to get hot. The "amenity basket" was minimially stocked with no-name bath products- Holiday Inn has better shampoo than what was provided!


We did complain to the owners he first morning and we were given the equivalent of a free night. At the time we appreciated this gesture, however, in retrospect this was still a great deal for them. Had the room been billed as an economy room, and charged for accoringly, it would have been only slightly appalling to find the room in poor shape. However, we paid a premium for the room that was well above many of the other accomodations in town (had the wireless internet touted actually worked, we would have found other accomodations and checked out).

Location is good, however it does not make up for the poor room and misleading advertising.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Poor room for any price, poor room service
  • Tips/Secrets — Make sure you know exactly what are getting before committing to anything!
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank NCTravelingWoman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
We are very sorry for this guests experience. The room (and building) in question was completely demolished and rebuilt in the spring of 2007. This guest was right to complain. We are happy to say that the new Olivia room is immaculate and beautiful. To this guest: Please look at our web site and if you would ever consider giving us another chance, we would like to offer you a complimentary two night stay any time you would like. Just let us know who you are when booking your reservation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lindesberg, Sweden
1 review
Reviewed September 3, 2006

The best place to stay when your'e in Provincetown! Excellent service from the wonderful staff! Especially the great service at breakfasttime, personally made omelletes any way you like them. We just love it! The rooms are each different from the others, so each time you stay at Gabriels, it's a new experience! And we really did use those bikes they lent us!

  • Liked — The whole place!
  • Disliked — nothing at all!
  • Stayed September 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MsArtic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is great to know you felt at home on your New England getaway. We promise to exceed your expectations next time. Our centrally-located hotel with warm fireplaces and family atmosphere is looking forward to welcoming you back again! Hopefully, you will be able to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
metro Boston area
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 19, 2005

Wife and I had been to Gabriel's a number of times in the past (most recently in Nov 2003) and generally enjoyed it. I noticed the mix of reviews it has received and hesitated a bit before making reservations again, but I'm glad we decided to return. The staff we dealt with, both on the phone and at the inn, were uniformly friendly and helpful. The room was great -- it included a mini-kitchen, TV with videocassette player, and a bathtub with jacuzzi. We paid $125, which I consider to be quite reasonable value for the money. Breakfast was excellent, with enough variety to suit anyone's tastes. Gabriel's seems to have a mostly lesbian clientele, but I'm glad to say that they do not discriminate against straight couples :-)

The only negatives that I can think of are the lack of on-premises parking (though off season this is not really an issue, since there is plenty of street parking nearby) and the loud hourly chimes from the town hall clock (which Gabriel's has no control over and which obviously is also an issue for other inns in the area).

We would not hesitate to return to Gabriel's on our next visit to Provincetown.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
While the accommodations rent out at a market price for the season, location and quality, we offer an unbeatable tranquility of the garden in the very heart of Provincetown, welcoming staff and comforting made-to-order breakfasts - all you need to just let go of the routine on your vacation. Susan is a great room for a stay, especially if you are bringing a child of a four-legged friend.
We hope you will pay us a visit again at Gabriel's - you might want to travel around the apartment that we have and pick something new next time - make it an adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed October 16, 2004

My husband and I visited Provincetown, Cape Cod as a plan b honeymoon the first week of October. We got a strong recommendation to check out Gabriel's B n B and after looking at their website we went for it. We were impressed with the amenities - free bike rental, hot tubs, gardens- there was alot packed in for the price. We chose the least expensive room (called the Billie Holiday) as we are not laoded yet and found it to be small but very lovely. There were a couple of bummers, one was that it was chilly in the room and there was no acess to heat the other was that we arrived in the eve. and couldn't find the hottub that was listed in the map as right outside our door. The next day I inquired at the desk and found that the hot tub was broken. We were very disappointed and the sweet receptionist could see. She chased after me and said to pack our bags, we were getting an upgrade. Fwoot fwooo! She called the owner, Gabriel, and they set us up in a suite w/ a private 2 person hot tub and fireplace at no extra charge. We were so elated. We were impressed with the integrity to customer satisfaction and the level of professionality with which this place was run. It is also so beautiful and inviting, incorporation nature in at every turn. The breakfast was prepared by Cat (I think that's her name). She was wonderful, very cool and easy to talk to and a really sweet person not to mention a very skilled cook. She set out quite a delectable and filling spread every morning and it was well stocked. Gabriel's really was excellent and we hope to return next summer.

  • Stayed September 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
Thank you for such a wonderful review! It is great to know you felt at home on your New England getaway. We promise to exceed your expectations next time. Our centrally-located hotel with warm fireplaces and family atmosphere is looking forward to welcoming you back again! Hopefully, you will be able to stay longer next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 30, 2004

We were nervous to stay at Gabriel's after reading some of the negative reviews posted here, especially since the very room we were booked in was mentioned by name, but now we can see that we had absolutely nothing to worry about. The room was small, but very nice for the price. Who stays in their room the whole trip anyway? The staff was friendly and helpful and the grounds were immaculate, not to mention the location was perfect. The breakfasts that are included would rival any restaurant cooking and the complimentary wine and cheese each day was a welcome treat. We even met the owner, Gabriel, without knowing who she was at first, and she couldn't have been a nicer person! I guess everything is subjective, but in our opinion, this place was excellent. We plan on staying there on each trip to Provincetown that we take. Absolutely no problems here and we would recommend Gabriel’s to anyone who asks!

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elizabeth B, Public Relations Manager at The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's, responded to this review, May 13, 2016
While the accommodations rent out at a market price for the season, location and quality, we offer an unbeatable tranquility of the garden in the very heart of Provincetown, welcoming staff and comforting made-to-order breakfasts - all you need to just let go of the routine on your vacation. Susan is a great room for a stay, especially if you are bringing a child of a four-legged friend.
We hope you will pay us a visit again at Gabriel's - you might want to travel around the apartment that we have and pick something new next time - make it an adventure!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.5 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.9 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
855 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
627 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
317 reviews
1.0 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's

Property: The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Address: 102 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1427
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Green Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#3 Family Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Open since 1979 and ideally located in the heart of beautiful Provincetown. Our historic hotel features 7 luxurious rooms, 1 suite and 8 spacious apartment units. In-room amenities include tempurpedic mattresses, private balconies, fireplaces, jacuzzi tubs, steam baths, free Wi-Fi, TV's, DVD players, wet bar, and Keurig coffee makers.Guests delight in our complimentary made to order breakfast, served daily in the Great Room or our lush garden courtyard patio. Enjoy homemade cookies and refreshments every afternoon. Children and pets are always welcome for an additional charge. Private nearby parking is available for $10 daily and we offer a free shuttle service from the Provincetown Airport or the Pier.Come experience our first class property and service today! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gabriel`s At The Ashbrooke Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing