We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never again”
Review of Boatslip Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Boatslip Resort
Ranked #12 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Reviewed August 10, 2008

Stayed at the Boatslip during Bearweek 2008. The Boatslip has a perfect location right on the bay and is convenient to restaurants and bars in Provincetown. But unfortunately the property is poorly managed. The bathroom was filthy and had not been properly cleaned for some time. The sheets and blankets smelled, probably since there is no airconditioning in the room.
Every morning at 6:45 a.m. a recycling truck pulled up to the property and loaded empty glass bottles in bulk from the teadance party the night before; so much for sleeping in.
I paid $225 per night for the room which is way too much for the quality of service. Thanks though to the property management for the free can of Lysol; I really needed it.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
6  Thank TX1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Boatslip Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

115 - 121 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 21, 2008

This property does not have air conditioning in the rooms!?!?!

Other than that it was a bit run down but It was clean and the staff were friendly. However we had no idea that they did not have air conditioning. The temp during our stay was in the mid 90's. So we paid $235 per night to sleep in a room that was steaming hot. There are other better choices in p-town. Also if you stay on the street side and it's warm you will proably leave your windows open. Big mistake.. Around 5am the street cleaner comes by at 6am the trash pickup at 7am the hotel recycling picks up the empty bottles from the tea dance the night before. So don't plan on sleeping much past 5am.

  • Stayed: July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank tusselman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2007

Our second 4th of July week stay.

It REALLY is clear this is where the party is at.

Even when the storms hit - the guys kept having fun under the party tent. The crew that works the deck is great - hot men from all over Europe and the mid-west. Bulgaria supplies most of the Summer help.

So much fun when the whistle blows and hundreds of men in unison move their lounge chairs to face the sun.

The music is great. Free admission to T-Dance. You can go up and down to your room with friends.

Pool is wonderful - and the men could not be hotter.
Even the porn stars - yes it draws the finest men - lounging by the pool are friendly.

Women and straights are welcome at T-Dance this is a mixed fun crowd.

If your idea of fun is lounging in the sun with all your friends, with drink service to your chairs, light food available all day and amazing nightlife right down the street.

This still is the place.

No the rooms are not fancy - but it is Cape Cod.
It is NOT supposed to be fancy. It also is not cheap but the views are a gift from God - sunsets and sunrise. Just beautiful.

  • Stayed: July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RJP3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2007

The rooms are in dire need of upgrades, which we could have overlooked, but were also in need of a very thorough cleaning. The door to our room was broken and would randomly open throughout the night. The woman at the front desk was less than friendly, as if we were bothering her by checking in to the hotel. As previous posts have pointed out, the music from the tea dance is very loud so if you don't plan to attend, you will likely need to leave the hotel from 4-7pm every night. I would recommend this hotel for those who want to attend the tea dance or gay singles just looking for a place to crash for the night. You will be disappointed if you are expecting any type of a "resort".

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank Jaquianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2007

The hotel is very convenient since it's right on Commercial St. I imagine the afternoon tea dance is a great thing but the weather was only iffy while I was there.
The room I had was very simple. The decor was nothing to write home about but I just needed to sleep there. I am hard-of-hearing but my partner complained that the walls are too thin and could hear the activities of people in other rooms and, as we were overlooking the deck, he could hear the workers preparing the deck each morning after 8am.
The coffee and juice were excellent in the continental breakfast.
Was I impressed? No. Would I stay there again? Possibly but there are a lot of options available to those who plan ahead. I don't plan ahead and I certainly do not regret having stayed there.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Simon-Vongvilay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
USA
121
Reviewed July 11, 2006

I'm not usually a picky travelor who complains and this is my first time I have been driven to write a review because this place was so awful.My wife and I returned from an overnight stay at the Boatslip.First off we get there,get into our room and for over $200 dollars a night I expected something at least decent.The decor and condition of the room was very poor ,very old not updated anytime in the past few decades.But this I could have overlooked. The room was like an oven,the heat and humidity hit you right in the face the second you walk in.Theres no AC.That just blew my mind.This is not cleary advertised anywhere on the website that I can see otherwise I would never have stayed there.We had an oceanview room so I figured well if theres no AC,we can sleep with the door open.Nope.There are no screens on the balcony,just a sliding door.So if you have to sleep with the door open,you will be eaten alive by bugs and in the middle of the summer,you pretty much have no choice.I have never stayed in a hotel that had no AC.especially a place charging as much as they charge claiming to be a resort! Instead of AC,There was an old dirty fan covered with dust and if you use that forget about hearing the ocean outside.Then there was what looked like half eaten peanuts by the bed,so they didnt vacumm very well,and there was some very disturbing ,disgusting lets just call them tell tale stains on the headboard.Immediately I called the front desk to see if it were possible to get a refund and find another place to stay.I was told the manager was "around" and the person at the desk would find him and call back.Finally after waiting in the hot room for over an hour I called again,then I was told a supervisor would be in in another couple of hours and the desk person couldnt tell me if I could get a refund and the manager could not be found.So now a couple of hours pass by and our trip is already off to a bad start just because of this place.At 4,the tea dance starts.Which I knew they had there but I had no idea of that the music would make the walls in your room shake.I call the front desk,still no sign of the manager so a refund at this point I figured is just not going to happen.I mentioned the noise which if not for everything else I really wouldnt have cared.So he nicely finds a "quieter" room for us.We switch rooms and needless to say it was right over the pool and deck,so it seemed even louder then the first.After three hours we decide we have no choice but to stay and deal with heat and another dirty ,old room.At least the headboard in this room seemed cleaner.The whole day went by and we never heard from a manager or supervisor despite the desk person trying to find someone to talk to me a few times.Later at night,my wife went to get a soda from the machine.The coke costs $3.00 ,normally $1.25 at most coke machines.Another rip off.And you can hear Everything in the hallways all night.Every foot step.Anyway, we finally go to check out the next day and the manager is all of a sudden at the desk to ask how our stay was.We told them about the ac and the dirty rooms and the deskperson said I called you and told you but you were "resting" and the manager just smirked and said "oh yeah".So it seems to me this place way over charges for everything and doesnt put any money back into the hotel at least for some air conditioning for its guests and a manager who gets to play around and "rest" (um,yeah)and mingle all day with the guests and not pay attention to actually running a hotel.Must be a great job!And I mean absolutely no money is put into making the amenities better for their guests.And I forgot to mention that continental breakfast for them consists of a basket of blueberry muffins and apples and coffee.For over $200 a night you get no ac,the cheapest breakfast imaginable,8 dollar drinks,3 dollar sodas and dirty rooms that were last updated by the looks of it in the 60's.Not worth it for the whole tea dance.The tea dance is cool and everything,but much more worth it to stay at a nicely decorated ,comfortable,updated hotel or B&B that actually gives you your moneys worth and pay admission to go to the tea dance.Plus you can leave it whenever you want and not feel like theres a club inside your room..I have been to P town hundreds of times and paid as much for a beautiful room,airconditioning ,water view and a full,fresh continental breakfast in the morning with the works and above all,clean rooms!Never again!Trust me,stay somewhere else and just go the tea dance if thats your thing.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boatslip, General Manager at Boatslip Resort, responded to this reviewResponded August 6, 2006

I first want to apologize for all the inconveniences that you encountered during your stay. Our number one priority is guest service. We want everyone who stays here to have a memorable experience. It seems that we did not handle your situation appropriately. If a guest has a concern the guest service agents are instructed to contact the Manager on Duty, who is available 24 hours a day; this did not happen. I believe this is a training issue, and I have already addressed this with the Front Desk Manager to insure this does not happen in the future. We should never take a guest concern lightly. I agree that the guest rooms are in need of renovation. But, our housekeeping staff is very dedicated to keeping the rooms clean. It seems that the housekeeper who cleaned your room did not do a respectable job. I have talked to the Housekeeping Manager to insure that all details in in the guest rooms are not overlooked. Our room and liquor prices are in line with other establishments in the area, however if we do not fulfill our obligation to great guest service, clean rooms and a fun environment, we have failed. I believe in your situation we did just that. Again, I am sorry. If you would please contact me at the Boatslip, so that I could follow-up with you, I would appreciate it.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Elgin, IL
121
Reviewed July 13, 2005

I just spent 2 nights at the Boatslip. I am a frequent traveler, experienced with many different types of hotels, and to call this place a 'resort' is a real stretch. I would class it as a sea side Days Inn with a pool. To be fair, Cape Cod hotel standards are really hit and miss anyway, most of the owners seem to take the attitude that the marks will keep coming no matter what. They may be right, but for well over 200/night I expect a bit more.

On the plus side, the place is relatively clean and they seem to try to keep it that way, the room was tidy but a bit worn. The shower/tub surround was newly installed, but the fixtures were old and very rusty, they could use replacing. We arrived on a 94 degree day, and the room was unbearably hot. There is NO air conditioning anywhere in the place except the owner's suite. There is a nice ceiling fan to blow the hot air from the uninsulated roof right down onto you, but little else. Mercifully the weather broke and after about midnight on night one it was much better.

The hotel's claim to fame is the daily 'Tea Dance', which draws a large local crowd. This event seems to be the entire reason for the hotel's existence, everything else STOPS when Tea Dance is going on. The pool closes at 4 to accomadate the dance, and many of the hotel entrances and stairways are blocked off so that the guests cannot escape the cover charge. As a hotel guest, you don't have to pay the cover, but with drink prices at $7-8 it won't really matter that much. Now unless you're up for loud dance music (and I mean your floor will be vibrating), you will have to escape somewhere from 4-7 each day. There's no afternoon napping at the Boatslip. I like going to clubs and all, but I don't want them brought to my door every day. There is no choice here, the entire place rocks for those 3 hours. Speaking of rocking, did I mention that you'll hear (and feel) every footfall in the corridor outside your room as well?? There was one occasion where we actually thought someone was IN our room when they were walking around in the next room.

Bottom line, if you're a single gay guy looking to hook up, then this might be the place for you. If you're a couple wanting a nice place to relax, this is probably NOT your hotel. If you're looking for 3+ star comfort, this is not probably not your place either. There is clearly a reason why they had the Vacancy sign out during Bear Week when most other places were full.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
21  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.8 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,060 reviews
1.2 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
0.7 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.6 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
659 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Boatslip Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Boatslip Resort

Address: 161 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range: $194 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Boatslip Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Boatslip, the legendary waterfront landmark and home of the World Famous Tea Dance is located on Commercial Street steps away from historic Provincetown's retail shops, galleries, restaurants and nightlife. Situated in the West End on Provincetown Harbor, the Boatslip offers guests air-conditioned waterfront rooms with private remodeled baths, some with private balconies, limited on-site parking, continental breakfast, a heated pool and sundeck and of course, complimentary admission to Tea Dance! With more than 10 different bars on site, we are an over 21 years of age destination resort. Our wonderfully diverse clientele enjoy an open and inclusive atmosphere making the Boatslip Resort the number one Provincetown destination for the GLBT community and their friends. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Boatslip Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Boatslip Resort Provincetown
Boatslip Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing