We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attention to detail...”
Review of Salt House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Salt House Inn
Ranked #13 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2014 via mobile

Just returned from an amazing stay at the Salt House Inn. The attention to detail by the owner Kevin is absolute perfection. The rooms were light and airy and the bed was heaven. The breakfast alone is worth the stay, we had ours on the patio. We will definitely be returning! Thumbs way up :)

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
Thank VgsTrvlrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

We appreciate your recognition of our the quality of our complimentary breakfast and our guest rooms. We had our custom mattresses made with the goal of offering an extremely comfortable bed - I agree, they are "heaven!" Thank you for your positive feedback - we look forward to hosting you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (260)
There are newer reviews for Salt House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

169 - 175 of 260 reviews

Reviewed May 22, 2014

The room was small but was fresh, clean, and beautifully and simply decorated. There was a nice informal feel about the place. The host Kevin was helpful and charming throughout our stay, and he produced an excellent breakfast with tasty options (and good English tea!). There was some traffic noise in our ground floor bedroom, and the morning light was disturbing. A suggestion therefore would be blackout curtains for the bedroom window. Overall, a great find - can recommend.

Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Europamonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded May 31, 2014

It is great to hear you appreciated the "informal feel" of our inn. David and Kevin began Salt House Inn with the mission to operate outside the normal restrictive rules that bed and breakfasts typically have. For example, we do not have a specific check-in time - we instead cater to each guest's predicted arrival time. As a Brit, David picked the English tea himself - we are thrilled to hear you enjoyed it!

We appreciate your thoughtful feedback on how we can improve our guest experience and will certainly use it in our considerations for future changes. We look forward to your return for your next visit to Provincetown!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2014

This Inn is adorable. I booked an overnight stay for my boyfriend's birthday (no minimum 2-night stay required). Kevin was responsive and welcoming, and left a complimentary bottle of Rose and a card in our room for the special occasion. Our room was one of the smaller options, but it somehow didn't feel cramped at all. The bathroom was very spacious and had a huge shower. The bed was extremely comfortable and everything was spotless.

Overall decor of the inn was like something you'd see in a magazine (in fact, I think it has been featured many times). The details and small accents really made it wonderful. Breakfast was an awesome spread of pastries, cereal, toast, coffee, juice, fruit and a frittata. Loved sitting out on the patio and deck.

Definitely recommend this inn for a charming getaway.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paige9310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

I surprised my boyfriend with a short getaway trip to Provincetown for his birthday. This was my first B&B experience ever, and it was amazing! I booked a Standard King room and contacted Kevin about 2 months before our stay. He is extremely responsive and provided great recommendations for things to do around the town. Kevin (along with the fabulous housekeeper) even helped us out with a small surprise on my boyfriend's actual birthday in the room! Loved every bit of it.

Room Details: AMAZING bed - probably one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept on. AMAZING shower as well with ample space; just be careful when getting in/out of the shower because it can get slippery! Decor is absolutely lovely and simplistic; we personally loved all of the light fixtures and lightbulbs used in the room!! The walls are thin and you can hear your neighbors talking, but this didn't really bother us since we are late sleepers.

Breakfast Details: Nothing more needs to be said besides the fact that breakfast is DELICIOUS! It is so wonderful to sit outside and enjoy it on the patio or upstairs on the balcony!

Anyway, if you are looking for a nice stay in Provincetown, SALT HOUSE INN is the place!! It was such a short walk to the town center and we loved every moment of our trip!! Thank you Kevin for making our stay so wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank asd1125
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 15, 2014

Everything about Salt House Inn was perfect. The rooms are super clean, stylish and chic, and the beds are crazy comfortable! Plenty of outdoor terrace seating for pre dinner cocktails, and the breakfasts were top notch. Who needs to leave? but the best part is it's close to everything - walking distance to all the shops and restaurants. The personal touches and staff made our stay even more memorable. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tracy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

I agree, Tracy - our outdoor terrace seating is a great place to relax and enjoy a cocktail! I am so thrilled to hear that you thought our custom-made mattresses were "crazy comfortable," and appreciate your recognition of our incredible staff. We can't wait for you to come back, either!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2014

It was a very nice place to stay! The room was charming, with a white by the sea shore feel! The breakfast in the morning was delicious! Walking distance to everything! Our only complaint was that the AC was not working properly... other than that, nothing. We can't wait to go back!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nunesy711
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I have just returned from a wonderful stay at the Salt House Inn. The accommodation was perfect - everything was so fresh and clean. Kevin is a great host - he is very friendly and welcoming, and the breakfast was out of this world! All freshly baked and beautifully presented - and a great variety of items each morning.
Thank you for a great stay - I cant wait to come back,

Stayed: May 2014, traveled with friends
1  Thank lovemiami33140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julia H, Manager at Salt House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 18, 2014

Thank you for your kind review - I am elated to hear that you enjoyed our "fresh and clean" accommodations. Our breakfast is made each morning and the menu changes daily - this allows us to offer a great variety of savory and sweet treats with many healthy options. Our chef also puts a focus on using fresh and local ingredients. We are looking forward to making your next stay with us wonderful, too.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.3 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,059 reviews
0.5 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
331 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
913 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.3 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#14 of 62 in Provincetown
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salt House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salt House Inn

Address: 6 Conwell St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1597
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $194 - $296 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Salt House Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Redefining bed and breakfast in Provincetown, Salt House Inn offers a chic modern retreat in the center of Provincetown. Fully renovated the inn features 15 guestrooms, all with private bathrooms, beautiful gardens and our lavish Sun Terrace perfect for soaking in the warm Cape Cod sun. Each morning guests are treated to our signature house made rustic breakfast in the beautiful breakfast room. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Salt House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dexter`s Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing