We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Experience at Beaconlight Guesthouse in Provincetown”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaconlight Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 13, 2006

The Beaconlight Guesthouse in Provincetown, Massachusetts is an oasis in this alternately sleepy and vibrant Portuguese fishing village at the tip of Cape Cod. The decor of the public rooms are reminiscent of a Victorian era parlor. The rooms and suites, all decorated differently, are stylish and pristine in appearance. The entire establishment is one of the cleanest and tidiest we have ever seen. The continental breakfast served each morning was presented beautifully and was delicious, with abundant scones, fresh bread, fruit loafs, cereal, yogurt, and fresh fruit. The coffee was coffee-house calibre, with fresh water and lemonade served all day. The mood of the house was relaxed and warm, low-key attention to the guests with background 24-hour care to the house and property. We stayed for ten nights and were with our two daughters. We all agreed that the Beaconlight was a place we would return to. The jazz musician with complimentary wine and snacks two nights a week was an added bonus. We highly recommend the Beaconlight to any discriminating traveller.

Stayed: July 2006
2  Thank JohnnyN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (161)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

124 - 130 of 161 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2006

I wish I had read all the current posts (i.e., regarding the new management) before I booked. Unlike many of the other posters who had stayed at the Beaconlight before and enjoyed the place under prior managment, my stay was my first, and last. Never having stayed at the Beaconlight, I relied on their webpage to be accurate and inferred from the nice look of the place that it would be warm and comfortable. Was I wrong!

The Beaconlight has a very upscale decor, which is an initial draw, but once you check in, the lack of attention to detail is appalling for a "high end" establishment. The owners really seem not to care. You might be surprised to stay in one of the "Fireplace" suites, which is billed as having an extra "touch of luxury," then find yourself having to swipe soap from the shared bath down the hall because your room is stocked with only a single hotel-size bar for the whole week. The situation was the same with towels. And, though a Senseo coffee maker is provided, it also was stocked with a used coffee pod that the prior guest had used and the cleaning staff had not removed. Similarly, the cooling element in the in-room refrigerator had iced over so solidly that the refrigerator door would not close. How does the cleaing staff not notice such a thing? WiFi access throughout the house? Only if you are satisfied with exceedingly slow service and being bumped repeatedly. The salt in the wound comes in the form of a note in the room, which states that the suggested gratuity for the cleaing staff is a whopping 10% of your total bill, which would have amounted to more than $200 for a one week stay. Given that the cleaning guy was in and out in 1/2 hour on the day I saw him "clean" the room, that "tip" would have amounted to an wage of $60 an hour -- nice work if you can get it.

By the end of the trip, the decor did not look so much nice as cold and uncomfortable. If you want luxury, or any hint of pampering, look elsewhere.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
15  Thank EAGNYC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2006

There are some great things about the Beaconlight -- it is very clean, is conveniently located, and has a nice deck. If you are just looking for a clean, convenient place to sleep and don't plan to spend much time there otherwise, it may be perfect for you. But if you are looking for a friendly place that feels as comfortable as home and with warm hosts, you may be disappointed. The hosts are nice people and helpful when asked, but their decision to become B&B owners is somewhat surprising. Neither are exactly what you might call "people persons." Mark is very nice, but somewhat shy and reserved. Keith too is nice, but he doesn't seem very comfortable having people in his home. You feel him watching you like a hawk to see whether any sort of mess will be made and you will see him scurrying about fervently cleaning. In a laid-back beach community like Ptown, such behavior is uncommon and it is neither welcoming nor relaxing. You sense that he is tolerating your presence, but can't wait for you to leave so he can clean up behind you. The Beaconlight also does not offer much by way of any special extras. The bathroom amenities are very small, and they are slow to restock them -- your soap will be a thin sliver before it is replaced. There is nothing like cookies or small afternoon snacks, a nightly cocktail, etc. There is a happy hour twice a week though. Breakfast is fairly simple -- very good homemade pastries, cereal and fruit, but no protein, like eggs, sausage or bacon. I agree with other posts that the Victorian style is a bit cold and that the indoor areas are not very conducive to socializing, but that may be a matter of personal taste. I found the place too expensive for what little was offered, and was put-off to see them asking for a 10% tip for the houseboys. At roughly $200 a night, tipping $20 a night for someone who basically only made the bed and brought a fresh towel seems a bit ridiculous, even though those tasks were performed well. I can see why some people may love it while others did not. I was somewhat disappointed, particularly given the price for what I got, but still had a nice time there. I would go back if everything else were booked up, but would definitely try to stay somewhere else.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
17  Thank EastCoastDrifter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 6, 2006

I just got from after a trip to the Beaconlight, and I must say I was disappointed. After clearly reading the reviews, there appears to be a love-hate relationship with the owners. I should have read them a second time!

I have stayed at many guesthouses in Provincetown over the years; I think it is fun to try different places. The better houses that I have stayed at all tried to make their guests holiday relaxing and tension free; something that I cherish. I mean it is Cape Cod, the life style should be slow!

This place is not relaxing at all. The owner Keith has a very hyper personality, and it reflects on the tone of everyone staying there.

This is the ONLY guesthouse where I felt uncomfortable at breakfast. It should be a relaxing event,. but I felt like I was under surveillance. I hate being rushed, and he didn't like that.

The place as a whole lacked warmth. I felt like I was at a hotel, and not a very expensive guesthouse. Perhaps my expectations were unreasonable, and perhaps the owners react differently with different people; that does not excuse the discomfort I was made to feel.

I will not be staying at any property owned by these people in the future. Make sure your personality meshes with theirs before making a booking!

  • Stayed: August 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
14  Thank PTTravelller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2006

Beaconlight Guesthouse is an extremely comfortable and nicely appointed place to stay in P-town. The owners and staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful. We were provided with transportation from the dock, and were given brief tours of the area. There are lots of deck/patio spaces to enjoy without leaving the guesthouse, including a private sunbathing deck on the roof. Baggage, linen, and all other services were top-notch.

The location is excellent, central to all of the shopping and activities of Commercial street. Easy access to bike rentals, etc.

We would have to be convinced that there is a better place to stay in P-town.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank CLBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2006

The Beaconlight is a wonderful guesthouse cetrally located off commercial street. The owners were on site and were friendly and available when needed and left you alone when not. I stayed in a room on the first floor which was quiet and comfortable. A pale green color was soothing with ornate trim and a brass bed. The house is clean and the staff is friendly and helpful. I felt very comfortable during my stay.

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank manhattan66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2006

The Beaconlight Guesthouse is a great place to stay in Provincetown. It clean, has great amenities, a friendly staff and has a great location. Mark and Keith did everything to make our stay a very enjoyable one. I highly recommend a dip in the hot tub. We'll definitely be back!!

Stayed: June 2006
2  Thank NJTraveler521
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
408 reviews
0.0 mi away
Bayberry Accommodations
Bayberry Accommodations
#27 of 62 in Provincetown
77 reviews
0.7 mi away
Snug Cottage
Snug Cottage
#37 of 62 in Provincetown
281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#34 of 62 in Provincetown
103 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
52 reviews
0.1 mi away
Queen Vic Guest House
Queen Vic Guest House
#18 of 62 in Provincetown
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconlight Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconlight Guesthouse

Address: 12 Winthrop St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2108
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $127 - $295 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaconlight Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Accommodations at the Perfect Location. The Beaconlight Guest House is centrally located in the heart of Provincetown and is an easy walk to everything town has to offer. The Guest House boasts the largest roof top sundeck with panoramic views. Every room has air conditioning, refrigerator, free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beaconlight Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaconlight Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing