We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Inn”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Beaconlight Guesthouse
Ranked #41 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Poughkeepsie, New York
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Beautiful Inn”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

The Beaconlight Guesthouse is beautifully furnished and the rooms are fabulous. The location is very convenient to downtown Provincetown. We found the owners, Keith and Mark, not to be very helpful or friendly. We were also disappointed in the breakfast we were provided. I expect more than a Continental Breakfast to be provided when I stay at a Bed and Breakfast. If you are looking for a friendly place to stay and a true New England B&B experience this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank susiecreamcheese44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

161 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    34
    14
    22
    16
See reviews for
13
86
12
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I came to Ptown after a trip the New York; my plan was to have a week of relaxation before heading home. It certainly worked for me.

While the town itself wasn’t exactly what I was expecting, the Beacon Light lived up to my expectations. It was beautifully decorated, comfortable, clean and friendly. Loved the different decks to sit and relax on. Free WiFi was good.

Breakfasts are the best, Keith was on hand with a quiet charm and a good sense of humour – a really lovely man who was able to give advice, tips, information about the town, all you need to do is ask. I much prefer this gentle approach than the pushy approach that always makes me feel that there’s an ulterior motive. The food is great as well!

Breakfast can be taken in your room, in one of the outside spaces of in the kitchen. I picked the kitchen each day as it was a good way for a lone traveller to meet up with others and swap stories.

In short – if you want to come to Ptown – come to the Beacon Light.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MrMan123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alpharetta, GA
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2012

Beaconlight Hotel Provincetown MA. This is a very lovely bed & breakfast. The rooms are impeccably clean and decorated. The beds are very comfortable, towels think and large and soups and hair products very good. The professional pictures are a true representation of the facilities. What the pictures do not show is the cleanliness and wonderful hospitality of the owners, Mark and Keith. The breakfast was very good, the best granola I have ever had, fruit, yogurt, homemade cinnamon rolls, coffeecakes, just delicious, juice and coffee. The location is right in the mists of Provincetown and you can walk to any of the restaurants or tours and beach. I would recommend this for any traveler, a very delightful, comfortable and warm and inviting experience.

Room Tip: We stayed in the luxury king on the first floor and it was very nice
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Snowmisty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

This is our second trip to the Beaconlight. The first thing you notice about this place is that it is spotless. Although the rooms are quite small, they are well decorated, comfortable, quiet, cozy, and well maintained. There are two common outdoor areas, and a trip to the upper roof deck provides wonderful views of Provincetown. Coffee is available at 7:30 and the homemade breakfast buffet starts at 8:30. There is parking on site and a bicycle rack.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BostonK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dublin, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 13, 2012

1st the Location, just perfect, 2 mins from centre of the main drag (never a more appropriate term than in this case). The house is beautiful and the facilities in terms of decks, terraces etc are great. Also the heated jacuzzi is great though underused and closes after dusk which I felt was a pain.

The Beaconlight was busy and a wee bit expensive but as this was the last 3 days of our trip we decided to go for it. We would have expected a bigger room for the money and iit was quite noisy from early morning underneath the stairs.

What really pi***8d me off was opening the 'welcome letter' to discover that it wasn't a welcome letter at all but was pointing out to us that a gratuity in a suggested amount was expected. Well I'm sorry, I don't mind the tipping culture in the USA which many of us Europeans find difficult but in an Inn, in a 'welcome letter' from a private owner who had just got many hundreds of Euro off my card for the 3 day stay and before any services whatsoever had been provided was just...........well RUDE!

so despite the good bits we won't return, sorry......................

Room Tip: you don't want the one under the stairs on ground floor!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank TheGreenTravelogue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 12, 2012

We stayed at the Beaconlight for three days during the week in August. The location is perfect - right in the middle of all the action, but quiet and peaceful at the same time. It's a very nice property and has very clean rooms. We had the second lowest priced room, which was $180 per night for Tuesday through Thursday nights. The room was smaller than expected, but adequate for two people. One surprise was how many children were staying at the property. From reading other reviews, I imagined a mostly adult clientele, but our week was half families half couples.

Mark (one of the owners) was very pleasant and put us at ease. However, Keith (the other owner) made us feel nervous, like we were kids living in our overly-protective dad's house. He is constantly running around the property pushing in chairs, watching what people are doing, wiping things off, going in and out the front door, and up and down the stairs. It stressed us out. The breakfast is fine as far as food items, but it was stressful as well. There are too many people eating for the number of seats they have available to sit in. You didn't know where to sit, and you just wanted it to be over with as soon as possible. There is a dining room table right next to the kitchen that we thought was extra breakfast space. But, when we sat there we were told to go elsewhere. For the price we paid, we expected to feel at home, not like houseguests who have overstayed their welcome. We didn't have a bad time on our trip because P-town is amazing, but we just tried to spend as little as possible at the Beaconlight because we were trying to relax on our trip not worry about if Keith was going to bite our heads off or not. It was 3 days of walking on eggshells.

Room Tip: Try to avoid the stairwell, as it was full of loud children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012 via mobile

Mark & Keith really go out of their way to make you fell comfortable at their oasis of calm just off the hustle & bustle of Commercial St in eclectic PTown. A highly recommended place to stay whilst visiting full on PTown.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank xjsracer44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.4 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#14 of 62 in Provincetown
397 reviews
0.1 mi away
Crew's Quarters
Crew's Quarters
#42 of 62 in Provincetown
50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Lotus Guest House
Lotus Guest House
#25 of 62 in Provincetown
110 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Bradford - Carver House
Bradford - Carver House
#30 of 62 in Provincetown
101 reviews
0.5 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#6 of 62 in Provincetown
612 reviews
0.6 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#3 of 62 in Provincetown
519 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Beaconlight Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Beaconlight Guesthouse

Property: Beaconlight Guesthouse
Address: 12 Winthrop St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2108
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Beaconlight Guesthouse 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superior Accommodations at the Perfect Location. The Beaconlight Guest House is centrally located in the heart of Provincetown and is an easy walk to everything town has to offer. The Guest House boasts the largest roof top sundeck with panoramic views. Every room has air conditioning, refrigerator, free wifi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Beaconlight Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Beaconlight Guesthouse Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing