We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best chowder ever and beer discovery adventure”

Nor'East Beer Garden
Ranked #52 of 142 Restaurants in Provincetown
Cuisines: American
Dining options: Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“best chowder ever and beer discovery adventure”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

pub food -- duckfat fries worth the calories, creative and tasty salads, and a big surprise, chowder that was full of flavor and perfectly cooked clams, light on the cream, heavy on flavor. a new favorite. Fun fun fun staff, sometimes can get a little busy, but who's in a hurry in PTown?

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TA_Brian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    55
    16
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level 6 Contributor
155 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
“Great for beer - not sure about food”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

I was attracted to this restaurant because of it's lovely outdoor patio seating, so my wife and I decided to give it a shot. Service was excellent and friendly and the menu and beer list both looked interesting. I tried two different offbeat micro beers and both were delicious and reasonably priced. The food was a somewhat different story. My wife was presented with what looked like a huge plate of fish and chips, but she said there was only a very small amount of fish beneath the mounds of batter. My pulled pork was just ok, with a relatively small portion, but the fries were completely overcooked and I only ate less than a third of them.
Would we return? Definitely to have a drink at the bar which has a really cool vibe, but proably not for lunch, though perhaps an appetizer at the bar.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank DuncanH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vail, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food and beer”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stop in here often for a just a beer or when I am hungry for the delicious fish tacos. It is all outdoor seating so it closes when the weather is bad. The service is sometimes great and other times not so friendly. I have sat at the bar for several minutes without anyone asking if I want a drink or offering a menu.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Travel8150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
miami
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“WORST RESTAURANT IN PTOWN”
Reviewed September 14, 2012

Unquestionably the worst spot in Provincetown, nasty blond (male) bartender. nasty waiter named Will. inconsistent food quality and unbearably long wait times for food. I have lived in town for 31 years and have never had so many awful experiences in one place before. Yes I'm an idiot for returning after 3!! yes 3 bad experiences but the setting is so nice. it's a shame the food and service is so bad. MAJOR thumbs down! Can't say enough to dissuade everyone from going here....

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great spot!”
Reviewed September 11, 2012

We loved this place! We just sat at the bar and ordered drinks & food and were completely satisfied. The beer was local as were the oysters and mussels! The staff was efficent and friendly.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle1009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nor'East Beer Garden also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Nor'East Beer Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing