We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Expierence!”
Review of Somerset House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Somerset House Inn
Ranked #30 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
90 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Expierence!”
Reviewed October 1, 2012

My wife and I stayed at the Somerset House this past weekend. What a great experience! We arrived around 8:00 PM Friday nite and Bob was there waiting for us. He got us checked in and helped carry our bags up to our room (top floor) We had to park the car in the off site parking lot which is about a 5 min walk from the Inn not a bad walk but wasn't to fun in the pouring rain. We stayed in room #5. What a great room, beautiful views of the harbor and monument. Nice size jacuzzi tub. (loved the view from the tub of the harbor great way to start a day!) Our bed was very comfortable we had a great nights rest every nite. Bobs breakfast in the morning is AMAZING!!! With fresh muffins (different flavor every day), eggs, coffee etc.... his breakfast gets your day going in the right direction! I would highly recommend this Inn to travelers and we will be back!

Room Tip: Room # 5 was GREAT!! Recommend staying off of the bottom floor due to noise from the breakfast crowd...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

263 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    247
    9
    5
    0
    2
See reviews for
12
170
17
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wallingford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2012

Although we have stayed at the Cape on and off for over 20 years, this was our first staying at Somerset House and certainly not our last if we can help it! We had always stayed in a "brand name" hotel outside of town until it was sold off to developers who quickly demolished it. Neighbors of ours introduced us to Somerset House and for the first time in 20 years we felt welcomed, pampered, appreciated and as though we had been long-time friends with the owners and guests alike. Somerset House standards for hospitality are set high and never miss the mark, and for this reason they will have our reservation for the next 20 years, God willing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathryn M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We have visited every year for 8 years and Bob and Dan continue to deliver a superb experience. Great accommodations, friendly but not intrusive, lovely mix of guests, amazing location and of course.....breakfast by Bob is outstanding. Perfect off season get away.

Room Tip: Room 8, first floor, nice sitting area to people watch from. Very comfortable king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ebclaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Recently returned from our annual trip to Provincetown and to the Somerset House Inn. Our stay, as usual, was wonderful. The owner, Bob, always makes us feel welcome and comfortable. Our room towards the back of the house was peaceful and quiet. Each morning Bob prepares a gourmet breakfast. The Bobuffins are legendary, but each day is something new and delicious! He is also very helpful with restaurant recommendations or telling us what's new in town. We're always excited to stay at the Somerset House Inn and always sad to leave! Thanks for another great year!

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColumbusJewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Our 6th annual trip to Provincetown was made complete by staying at our favorite B&B on the Cape. The breakfast is better than many of local restaurants, the service is impeccable and the staff are so friendly, helpful and accommodating. Is is so close to everything in town, but nice and quiet as well. We alway end up booking for the following year when we check out. We are looking forward to 2013!

Room Tip: We've stayed in two different rooms over the years: #9 located on the first floor, is very larg...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngieInChicago
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

My partner and I have been staying here for Carnival (1 week in August) for the past few years.
We love the place. The rooms are comfortable, location ideal and breakfast great. The best attraction though is the warm service and Bob who is a wonderful host and a pleasure to chat with. He is very warm and knowledgeable. We have developed a friendship with him and a group of guests that come yearly that week.
Again, a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amer_K_215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Let me start by saying this is long overdue as I've stayed at Somerset several times; it's my only choice for Provincetown. Always welcoming, "my" room is comfy (love the slate bath) and Bob's breakfasts are over the top! Hi, My name is Allspice and I'm a carboholic and I'm addicted to Bob's chocolate chip banana muffins and pistachio bread.
This year I went with Cinnamon and we surprised Mrs Dash, who I've not seen in 30 years! We had many a coffee in Somerset's garden area along with ice cream (right across the street!)

Room Tip: i usually either get room 1 (great view of passerby, spacious feel) but my fav is 6, which has a coc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank virtualjeg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.2 mi away
Secret Garden Inn
Secret Garden Inn
#12 of 62 in Provincetown
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
Carpe Diem Guesthouse & Spa
#6 of 62 in Provincetown
1,048 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Waterford
The Waterford
#29 of 62 in Provincetown
29 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#3 of 62 in Provincetown
510 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#7 of 62 in Provincetown
604 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Somerset House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Somerset House Inn

Property: Somerset House Inn
Address: 378 Commercial St, Provincetown, Provincetown, MA 02657-2319
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #30 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Somerset House Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Somerset House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Somerset House Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing