We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“New England quaint cottage with lovely surroundings”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Snug Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snug Cottage
Ranked #35 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, Massachusetts
1 review
“New England quaint cottage with lovely surroundings”
Reviewed September 26, 2010

Our vist to Snug Cottage was a very delighful experience. Our hosts could not have been more pleasant. The room was very clean and had lots of extras, such as bathrobes and toilitries. We loved the breadfasts which usually included homemade muffins, bread and the granola was to die for. The location of Snug Cottage was such that we were able to walk to most of he shops, galleries and restaurants. We would highly recommend this to a friend.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YPS123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

272 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    217
    43
    8
    2
    2
See reviews for
17
184
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (43)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2010

Based on friends' experiences and online reviews, we had high expectations for Snug Cottage. They were exceeded. The cottage was quiet, the rooms bigger than they appeared online, and breakfast was substantial and delicious. We were busy seeing the sights in P-town, but some of our fellow guests were hunkered down with armfuls of DVDs, and I can't blame them-the rooms are very comfortable.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank angrygordon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folkestone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2010

We only stayed for one night but the room was excellent (ground floor at the front) and the service was also excellent. We had flowers and champagne (the special celebration on their online booking form) which were great but very expensive.

There was little hot water for a shower which was apprently down to a boiler fault for which they apologised but didn't offer any type of refund.

Breakfast is minimal and very communal.

I would stay there again and would recommend but am sure it is not the best place or indeed the cheapest in Provincetown.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2RTR_FearNaught
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

This was our first trip ever to a B&B and our first trip to the cape. It was an extremely memorable experience, as the crowds were gone after labour day, the weather was fantastic - and the atmosphere at the snug cottage was great. Met some very friendly other guests, along with the innkeepers were very friendly and accomodating. The location is not on the water, but a short walk from the beach, and the busy shopping district! We brought our 2 month old and it worked out great.. provincetown isnt very "stroller friendly" so we used the snugli most of the time.
Since this stay, we will definately return to the cape, and stay at a B&B. Probably one closer to the ocean, but we would stay at the snug again in the future for sure.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bucatime23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
Level Contributor
54 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2010

This inn is a block off the hustle and bustle of commercial st and what a difference a block makes. Snug cottage has quaint quiet room with outdoor seating in the garden and a large sitting room and diningroom. When we arrived the smell of cinnamon was in the air and one hour later baked cookies appeared for their afternoon treat of lemonade or wine in the siting room.
The breakfast has freshly baked bread, muffins, we had an apple walnut crumbe fresh out of the oven. Coffee or espresso with juices are avaiable. Fresh fruit salad and yoghurts with homemade granola. We were so impressed having eaten factory danishes and weak coffee at other inns on our trip that we lingered over breakfast with the other guests to enjoy their company.
The food in P'town was subpar in restaurants so we found a good deli "Angels" a couple of blocks away and were able to have our meal at the breakfast table. They shut the doors to the breakfast area at 8:00pm but let us know ahead of time.
Other ammentities included a terrific movie selection at no charge, really good soaps in the rooms, bathrobes, fireplaces (not for use in summer), umbrellas at the door, complimentary computer use, three daily papers, a good selection of books in the sitting room.
Would I recommend P'town for a restful holiday? Maybe not. If you are coming anyway I would absolutely book this inn. They seemed to be one of the first in town to have a no vacancy sign up so book ahead.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skookum1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beaver Falls, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2010

i work with the public, as a physical therapist in longterm care. I look forward to this vacation so much each year, because it is quiet, peaceful, and a great way to get recharged for the next year. Brian and Bill are the new owners, very kind and helpful. Look forward to seeing what changes/ideas they bring to Snug Cottage. It a peaceful cottage home, clean rooms, outdoor sitting area with fountain, continental breakfast, snacks/ wine/ lemonade at 4:30 pm....soft classical music. And some great sailing with Captain Bob and Kate on the Bay Lady II

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mali9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
46 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed September 8, 2010

P'town is a madhouse at the height of summer. Finding accomodation is challenging. I'll admit that Snug was my fourth choice. It's a short walk from the town centre on Bradford Street, but that's not a bad thing as it's so peaceful compared with the bustle and noise in the town centre.
Had a large room on the second floor (the Windsor) with a separate seating area and windows to the side and front of the house. Downside was not much closet space, though hardly a complaint.
The bed and furniture was chintzy but comfortable. Bathroom a bit dated but functional.
Breakfast was a communal affair round a big dining table, with a wide selection, and sometimes specials like cherry cobbler on a flan laid on. Coffee was especially good.
All in all it's a nice place to stay but expensive. Next time I think I'd find a rental property.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kenneth M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#12 of 63 in Provincetown
162 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterford
The Waterford
#31 of 63 in Provincetown
25 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 63 in Provincetown
418 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Salt House Inn
Salt House Inn
#11 of 63 in Provincetown
240 reviews
0.5 mi away
Eben House
Eben House
#17 of 63 in Provincetown
139 reviews
0.3 mi away
John Randall House
John Randall House
#25 of 63 in Provincetown
136 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Cottage

Property: Snug Cottage
Address: 178 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snug Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1825, Snug Cottage surrounds you with history. We've preserved the best of the early 19th century and added all the comfort and luxury you expect of first class accommodations. Set amidst tranquil gardens, Snug Cottage offers eight luxurious guest rooms featuring wood burning fireplaces, private baths, TV/DVD, complimentary high speed wireless internet access, telephones w/voicemail, fluffy robes, and AVEDA amenities. Our sumptuous continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments help make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Snug Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Cottage Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing