We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice clean place with very nice hosts.”
Review of Snug Cottage

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Snug Cottage
Ranked #35 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Nice clean place with very nice hosts.”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

Room was very nice and the owners were pleasant and accommodating. Property is beautiful - we had breakfast outside and enjoyed the morning sun. Food was delicious. The owner allowed us to park the car there until 3:00pm even though we checked out at noon. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DPC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    44
    9
    2
    2
See reviews for
18
187
13
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
boston,ma
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed for just one night and can't wait to go back! We are very particular about B and B's, usually opting for Select Registry or that caliber-this one was right up there! Owner was great, breakfast beautifully served and inn very charming and welcoming-great location for walking or biking around P-Town.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mom747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
89 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I showed up on a rainy Friday morning and as soon as I parked my car, the rain stopped. When I made the reservation, I sent an inquiry to the Innkeepers asking if I could possibly park my car in their lot and wander around town until check-in time. I immediately received a reply email saying "Yes - absolutely you may use our lot if your room isn't ready when you arrive".

So I arrived - stupid early - and by chance, my room was ready. Bill/Brian (I can't remember which one I spoke with) was great. Friendly, helpful, easy to talk to. He showed me around the house (charming), and gave me the lay of the land - coffee maker, movies, ice machine, breakfast, etc.

The entrance to Snug Cottage is warm and inviting. A sprawling brick patio, well planted with clusters of seating and tables greets you as you walk up to the front door (after parking your car in their ample lot). The tones of Snug Cottage are dark - masculine, warm, historic. Dark wood, dark upholstery, but it doesn't feel heavy. Everything is period, a bit worn (in a lovely way), and has character. You'd imagine that this was the Provincetown vacation home of a well to do and well heeled 60 year old bachelor in the 1920's.

Small engraved brass plaques quietly announce everything - which closet has the icemaker, which closet is for housekeeping, which room or suite you're standing in front of. Walking through Snug Cottage is a study in creaks and groans in the old floorboards. Not in an annoying way - in the sort of way that you loved your grandparents house and made a game of avoiding or stepping on specific floorboards when you wanted to alternately be quiet, or a nuisance.

I stayed in the York Suite. Bright - whites and blues, splashes of yellow, spacious, nooks to nap and read a book, a fireplace if the season is appropriate, plenty of appropriate lighting, WATER VIEWS (from one of the nooks). It was comfortable, charming (I'm using that word a lot and it's absolutely appropriate), and felt open and breezy. With the windows open, the air was constantly moving through the room keeping everything fresh and cool.

Breakfast was lovely. Bill/Brian made a great egg casserole, the blueberry muffins were delicious, cereals, yogurt, lots of fresh fruit, oatmeal, granola (homemade - I think), breads, english muffins, hard boiled eggs, preserves, juice, coffee - best B&B breakfast I've had in a while.

Afternoon refreshments featured: lemonade, white wine, and homemade oatmeal cookies. All were delightful.

Coffee seemed to be available 24/7 from the Keurig in the Living Room.

The grounds were lush: overplanted in a wonderful "wilderness meets gay" sort of way.

I would definitely stay here again. And again =)

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dansoleau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ithaca, New York, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 4, 2013

My husband and I have stayed with Brian and Bill three times over 3 years, and continue to be very pleased with Snug Cottage. The beds are comfy, the decorating is charming, old fashioned and quaint, and breakfasts have all been delicious. We even enjoyed home made bread!
Our innkeepers are welcoming, very helpful and informative about what is going on in town. We travelled with old friends this year and were delighted by late afternoon cookies, lemonade, coffee and wine in the downstairs parlor, and beautiful candle-lit ambiance when we returned in the evening. This inn is walkable to downtown, a big plus in my mind. We will return again next year.

Room Tip: I like the airy, large rooms on the second floor the best, but all of them are very nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lowell, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

We have stayed here twice and both times the bed and breakfast was very welcoming. We also stayed in the Royal Scot room and it was very cozy. The place definitely has an homey feeling to it. Bill, one of the owners, welcomed us with opened arms, always ready to recommend a place to go in Provincetown. We were kind of surprised that he remembered us from the first visit. These people really do care about their guests. It seems every room had a nice view to it. From the Royal Scot, you can see Bradford Street and the side yard. The room itself is a bit different from the picture provided by the site in that there is carpet rather than hardwood floors but the room always has a pleasant smell to it. Everything is vintage and we've enjoyed that the past couple of years.

For the outside, there is a magnificent view from the "porch" area and parking lot. Taking a picture of the water and beach area doesn't to it justice. There are plenty of seating areas around the property also so you can relax and enjoy a cup of coffee on the colder days. Very relaxing

The only problem we've ever had here was the parking. It's a small parking lot that isn't so bad when there's a few cars but if it gets full, it becomes a bit more of a challenge for large SUVs. However, there's really not much you can do because space in Provincetown is limited but it wasn't a huge negative for us.

Overall, we'll continue to come here in the future if we ever end up in Provincetown again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonn
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed April 1, 2013

We were here in End April 2012, it was cold and the tourist season was not yet opened. So it wasn't too busy. We drove straight from NYC and stayed two nights - we originally had only one night planned, but snug cottage was such a wonderful and relaxing place after busy NYC and before going to Boston, that we stayed longer. We felt very comfortable in the house, great rooms, beds, so so friendly service and nice conversations with other guests, quite a few german speaking guests as well.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squatter2109
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed December 4, 2012

elegant, but simple - very well done and cozy with fantastic working fireplaces. owner is extremely accommodating...breakfast is substantial and delicious.
would recommend for anyone wanting to stay of commercial street but still remain close to the life of ptown.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelermks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.5 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.1 mi away
Atlantic Light Inn
Atlantic Light Inn
#11 of 62 in Provincetown
177 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Waterford
The Waterford
#29 of 62 in Provincetown
30 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 62 in Provincetown
422 reviews
0.1 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
406 reviews
0.1 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#3 of 62 in Provincetown
510 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Snug Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Snug Cottage

Property: Snug Cottage
Address: 178 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2423
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #35 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Snug Cottage 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1825, Snug Cottage surrounds you with history. We've preserved the best of the early 19th century and added all the comfort and luxury you expect of first class accommodations. Set amidst tranquil gardens, Snug Cottage offers eight luxurious guest rooms featuring wood burning fireplaces, private baths, TV/DVD, complimentary high speed wireless internet access, telephones w/voicemail, fluffy robes, and AVEDA amenities. Our sumptuous continental breakfast and afternoon refreshments help make your stay memorable. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and Priceline so you can book your Snug Cottage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Snug Cottage Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing