We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A quiet place during the storm..”
Review of 8 Dyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
8 Dyer Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Midwest, Nebraska, USA
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“A quiet place during the storm..”
Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed here for two nights in April 2013. We left Boston looking for some quiet time after we'd spent two three days in Boston Copley Place during and after the marathon bombings. We had such a heavy, sad feeling as we left Boston and just wanted to decompress and process the emotions we were feeling. We luckily ended up at 8 Dyer for two nights and it was just what we needed. Frank was a wonderful host and we enjoyed our conversations with him. Rooms were spotless and decorated very nicely. Breakfasts were wonderful. We didn't use the hot tub or bicycles but they were there and available.

We woke up on Friday ready to return to Logan to fly out, and Frank worked to find us possible alternatives to flying out since Boston was in lock-down. I guess Frank made us feel cared for and since we were feeling fragile, that's just what we needed. We will return to Boston, to Provincetown, and to 8 Dyer next year!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichelleKaye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

405 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    394
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
13
289
23
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (130)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2013

Four of us stayed here for first time and we could not have been happier. The hosts are great - the rooms are spotless and the location can't be beat! They put out a great breakfast with home made items, including honey made from their own beehive. We will be back to 8 Dyer.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Patricia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

My gf and I stayed there last year for a romantic getaway for 2 nights! it was amazing super clean the hot tub is wonderful! i cant recommend it enough! the breakfast was delicious and the b&b is centrally located but away from the loud crowd of ptown

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laurie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8Dyer, Manager at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
So glad you enjoyed it.....Come back! The right whales are looking to meet new guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bollington
Level Contributor
56 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2013 via mobile

We loved 8 Dyer. Frank was an excellent host with lots of great advice on places to eat etc. He helped us sort our ferry to MV and made an absolutely amazing breakfast. The hotel is beautiful, every room gorgeous. We stayed in room 3 (I think), the one with the whirlpool bath and fireplace, perfect after a winters walk on the beach. I find it hard to believe there's a nicer hotel or host in Provincetown.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsBollington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8Dyer, Manager at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
Thanks so much for coming! Always a pleasure to help folks exploring the Cape and Islands.
Stay well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlestown, Rhode Island, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

I will keep it simple...any time of year, any day or days, it's the best place to stay in Provincetown. Frank and Tim don't just wait on you, or serve you, provide great customer service, or beautiful pristine accomodations...they make you feel like you're staying with friends that you haven't seen in years. Frank and Tim ARE part of the Provincetown experience. If you stay at 8 Dyer you'll never stay anywhere else in PTown.

Room Tip: All the rooms are clean. Obviously the larger rooms are best. Great linens, gas fireplace options...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Benz1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
8Dyer, Manager at 8 Dyer Hotel, responded to this review, March 30, 2013
SO great to see our repeat guests ..Thank you Ben and Jenn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 3, 2013

My wife and I stayed at 8 Dyer Hotel over a February weekend. We were looking for a quiet getaway and decided to check out the off season in Cape Cod. This hotel really made the experience. It's beautiful, and the owners are very kind. Our room had a gas fireplace, a whirlpool tub, and one of the most comfortable beds I've slept in. The hot tub and common areas are immaculate and warm. It's clear this hotel was designed from scratch to be perfect -- and Tim and Frank make sure it lives up to that promise. In the morning, Tim made a wonderful breakfast for us, and we took a walk on the beach, which was covered in a thin layer of snow. We'll definitely come back here in the summer as well, but I highly recommend the 8 Dyer for couples looking for a quiet, cozy retreat in the winter.

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Jolion
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

My partner and I stayed there with another couple for three nights during the MLK holiday weekend. Our friends had traveled to Provincetown multiple times in the past, but neither of us had ever stayed at the 8 Dyer Hotel. It was easily one of the best decisions we've made.

The hotel rooms were reasonably and competitively priced for the season and very comfortable. It was clear that the owners were invested in ensuring that each guest has a great nights sleep as demonstrated by the luxury linens and mattress. Additionally, the rooms were organized well and all of the items in the room including the shower, high definition television, and chairs were in impeccable condition.

Breakfast was amazing each morning! The spread was plentiful and included all local food and rare items such as honey from the owner's private bee hives. We enjoyed spending time in the common space on the first floor and all the natural light from the floor to ceiling windows along the far wall.

We all agreed that the best part of the experience was the service from the owners, Frank and Tim. They are two very sweet men who went out of their way to ensure that we felt welcomed and at home during our stay. Frank provided great recommendations for dining as well as other useful information about things to see and do throughout the town.

We highly recommend staying at the 8 Dyer Hotel and will definitely return in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JPete01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
1.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
626 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at Cook Street
The Inn at Cook Street
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Dyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Dyer Hotel

Property: 8 Dyer Hotel
Address: 8 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 Dyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Dyer is a traveler’s ideal: a haven of serenity for body and mind, only steps from the city’s best shopping, bustling sights and lively night life. A sophisticated boutique hotel, we offer refined and mindful personalized service. Conveniently situated near Provincetown’s renowned gallery district just off historic Commercial Street, 8 Dyer is a new, chic fixture on the Provincetown scene. 8 Dyer offers genuine and unrivaled comfort without fuss or pretense. Fall in love with our glass-walled great room; guests can soak up the sun and relax in comfort, listen to music, or get lost in a new book. It’s a great place to socialize and meet others, or just sit by the fire and keep warm on our crisp fall days. Indulge in our expanded complimentary breakfast by the heated swimming pool in the morning, then revive in our large Jacuzzi spa and Finnish sauna before you go out at night. Our accommodations are as modern as they are versatile. All rooms and suites are outfitted with King or Queen beds, luxurious bedding and linens, plush towels, our signature bath amenities, and complimentary internet access. Most of our rooms also have fireplaces, for those romantic afternoons. 8 Dyer: a hotel where you can be comfortable and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your 8 Dyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing