We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow, what a fabulous place”
Review of 8 Dyer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
8 Dyer Hotel
Ranked #2 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed August 8, 2012

We were there for the August Canadian long weekend and had a fabulous time. The owners go way out of their way to make sure that you have a great time when staying with them. We have booked for next year already and can't wait. The owners are in the right business. I would recommend this place to anyone.
Thanks for the wonderful time boys.

Michael and Richard

Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
1  Thank Michael M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (423)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

337 - 343 of 423 reviews

Reviewed August 5, 2012

This is a really nice place and just over a year ago, new owners took over and apparently have made some really nice improvements. The hotel has a very nice pool and many comfortable places to sit both inside and outside. Everything is maintained meticulously. The breakfast served is quite ample in that it consists of cereals, breads, muffins, cheeses and more (a great Nespresso coffee maker).

Overall, our room was nice but it is quite unfortunate how small the bathroom is in PH3. The sink is so small that it consists of a small triangle. The toilet flushes quite loudly and in order to get into the shower (a nice marble walk in), you need step around the toilet to do so.

I was a little taken back with the size of our room. The website is accurate in that it shows the square feet of each room but I did not realize that when you remove the square feet from our second level (which consists of a large Jacuzzi and otherwise unusable space), the main room becomes quite tight, especially for two people. Also, there is no dresser or usable furniture and therefore no drawer space. Good room for one person, very tight for two.

The owners go out of their way to be accommodating. They are relatively new at this however are are still learning the ropes. On arriving, I realized that there were not enough hangers in the closet for two people and when I inquired, I was told that in the entire hotel there was only one extra hanger.

In short, a very nice place, perfect if you are looking for a pool and you are a solo traveler.

Room Tip: Most rooms on second level of house and are quiet. Two rooms on main level. Room 8 on main level is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kenbob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2012

Frank, Tim and Emma run the most awesome Inn in Provincetown. We got to spend about 5 nights there and everything was impeccable. From awesome breakfasts and cool refreshing drinks by the pool in the afternoon to the treats layed out at night, everything was a great 5 star experience. We have stayed at the Brass Key and Crown Pointe before and their service is very lackluster compared to Frank's hospitality. But I have to say one of favorite parts were the kisses from Emma.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bradhoehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2012

My partner and I stayed for a 3 night visit last week at 8 Dyer, which was recommended by friends who have a house nearby. What a wonderful surprise, a beautiful Inn, incredibly well run. We arrived and after getting a tour and settling in were treated to a glass of wine. Our host Frank could not have been more helpful, offering suggestions and making arrangements throughout the stay when appropriate, an incredibly gracious host. Breakfast was wonderful (piping hot coffee, selection of teas, fresh juice, espresso, local baked goods, hard boiled eggs, fresh fruit, yoghurt, granola, cereals, smoked salmon, ham, cheeses, etc - a great spread), and Frank apologized that we were missing the really great weekend breakfasts when his partner Tim is on the premises and cooks. Beds were super, rooms and bathrooms spotless, and all the small things thought of - a generous supply of towels by the pool and Jacuzzi, basket of sunscreen products by the pool, bicycles to borrow, umbrellas if needed, etc. My favorite part - a late night treat (different each night) waiting for you upon return. Who doesn't love a mini cupcake at midnight? We have already booked a fall weekend return visit. I almost hate to add to the good reviews, worried this Inn will be too booked up for me to enjoy.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rob06525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

I've stayed at 8 Dyer twice now, and it's just my favorite place. Provincetown has a lot going on, and 8 Dyer provides the perfect counterpoint. There are only a few rooms, so it's quiet. The pool and deck are perfect for relaxation. The rooms are incredibly comfortable (fantastic bed).
And Frank and Tim couldn't be more welcoming. They bent over backwards to make the guests happy. There's all sorts of little touches - sometimes they bake cookies and leave them for you when you get in at the end of the night. I look forward to going back next year.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GuyOlivieri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderful space, wonderful hosts, wonderful service.

Some highlights: The breakfast buffet, the pool, drinks in the afternoon, bicycles available, comfortable bed, Frank, Tim, housekeeping... I could go on. Most importantly you feel as if you're being made welcome by a lovely relative who has your best interests at heart, is very good at anticipating your needs and desires, yet knows when to give you space.

Highly recommended to all -- and we'll definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alderking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2012

Within 24 hours of leaving 8 Dyer, I've suggested it to two people already! Frank, Tim, and Emma went above and beyond during our stay - and we only stayed there one night ! Upon check in, Frank made us feel at home with his friendly smile. He showed us around the entire property which includes a nice size pool, hot tub, sauna, free bike rentals and tastefully decorated rooms. The following morning, my boyfriend and I woke up to the smell of bacon :) Now...i don't eat bacon but this morning I did. That's because the breakfast spread was home cooked by Tim, Frank's partner, and everything was amazing. The poached eggs, granola, scones, coffee, fresh fruit, homemade honey, I could go on and on...Even though we weren't staying at the inn the next day, they let us use their bikes for 6 hours! Looking back, I realize the reason why our stay was so nice was because Tim and Frank care about the details at 8 Dyer. The details in the rooms, bathrooms, food, amenities, and customer service. Hands down the best B&B in PTown. I can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nyskinnycow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,099 reviews
1.2 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
668 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
918 reviews
0.6 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
333 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 8 Dyer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 8 Dyer Hotel

Address: 8 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2302
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $152 - $399 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — 8 Dyer Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 Dyer is a traveler’s ideal: a haven of serenity for body and mind, only steps from the city’s best shopping, bustling sights and lively night life. A sophisticated boutique hotel, we offer refined and mindful personalized service. Conveniently situated near Provincetown’s renowned gallery district just off historic Commercial Street, 8 Dyer is a new, chic fixture on the Provincetown scene. 8 Dyer offers genuine and unrivaled comfort without fuss or pretense. Fall in love with our glass-walled great room; guests can soak up the sun and relax in comfort, listen to music, or get lost in a new book. It’s a great place to socialize and meet others, or just sit by the fire and keep warm on our crisp fall days. Indulge in our expanded complimentary breakfast by the heated swimming pool in the morning, then revive in our large Jacuzzi spa and Finnish sauna before you go out at night. Our accommodations are as modern as they are versatile. All rooms and suites are outfitted with King or Queen beds, luxurious bedding and linens, plush towels, our signature bath amenities, and complimentary internet access. Most of our rooms also have fireplaces, for those romantic afternoons. 8 Dyer: a hotel where you can be comfortable and relaxed. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your 8 Dyer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing