We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We love this place!”
Review of Benchmark Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Benchmark Inn
Ranked #5 of 62 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“We love this place!”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

Benchmark is a beautiful B&B in Provincetown. The owners are delightful and helpful. They helped us get to know the town and where to eat. Their recommendations were spot on to suit our tastes.
The room was tasteful and very clean. We were very comfortable there.
The homemade breads and pastries in the morning were delicious.
We cannot wait to return!
We love this place!
K&B from Atlanta

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BenchmarkInn, Owner at Benchmark Inn, responded to this review, July 29, 2013
Thank you for your lovely review! In fact we are very proud of our home made pastries and especially the Swiss Sunday Bread (Zopf) that Daniel makes every sunday.
We are happy to read that you will soon come back and join our ever growing list of happy returning guests!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

527 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    497
    29
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
39
377
30
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2013

This was my first stay at the Benchmark Inn and I will never stay anywhere else in Provincetown. The Inn is immaculate and elegant. My room was absolutely lovely with a private entrance and small deck with table and chairs. Dan and Daniel are charming and helpful with that delightful European flair. I cannot wait to return!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed July 10, 2013

Spent a week at the Benchmark inn during Fourth of July week and was so sad to leave. The beautiful colonial house, restored to perfection by the innkeepers, was a quiet island from the hustle and bustle of Commercial street. Dan and Daniel raise inn keeping to the level of art: they are attentive but never intrusive, and they attend to every detail with a sense of perfection. I am missing their homemade breads and preserves every morning since my return.

I would like to keep this place a secret so that I will always be able to get a room, but I can't do that in good conscience. It is too wonderful.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elwood H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013 via mobile

Travelling a lot in the States I've never been in any place of this quality. The house is beautiful, 1 minute away from Commercial Street yet very quiet at night. Dan and Daniel go above and beyond to give you the best stay. From delicious homemade breakfast to the little terrace at your disposal for a nice book read after a long day, from reserving tables in the best local restaurants to give you si chairs and umbrellas for the beach. I wish I could visit them more often!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laurinfunzik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 9, 2013

This property was awesome. Dan and Daniel are very nice. They are the perfect Bed and Breakfast owners--very accomodating and yet not too intrusive. One other place i stayed at P-town, the owners made you feel very uncomfortable, as if you are encroaching on their home. Dan and Daniel did not and were very cordial and businesslike at the same time.

The positives:
They pick you up and give you a ride back to the airport.
The rooms are super clean and spacious--i was in room 3.
The location is amazing. Its close to everything, yet quiet, if you want to relax and read.
Cute little courtyard.
The crew who cleans does a very good job.
You can tell its very efficiently run.
Internet access.
High quality Bose system and the TV was great.
Safe in the room for my passport.


I hate to say this is a negative because its not: the breakfast was good, although it could use a bit more options. Not as great as some other B&B places I've stayed. What was there was very good, but it was rather simple.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DCLoganres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

Great B&B on the west end of Ptown. The rooms and the amenities surpass the usual B&B's Very luxurious and comfortable. Great location close but not too close to the hustle and bustle. Great hosts who are helpful and friendly and Handsome!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duke1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, Pennsylvania
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 8, 2013

My partner and I stayed for five nights at the Benchmark Inn over the 4th of July and had a terrific time. Daniel, one of the Innkeepers, is a real gem. He told us about the "must see" places to visit as well as "the ones" to skip. He was funny and charming and his recommendations for restaurants were equally as helpful. The rooms were well equipped and very clean. The breakfasts/homemade pastries were yummy and their European coffee was an added treat.

I highly recommend the Benchmark Inn and plan to visit again in the fall. Linda

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindasteelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
1.2 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#7 of 15 in Provincetown
1,002 reviews
0.5 mi away
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Surfside Hotel & Suites
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
894 reviews
0.5 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
324 reviews
0.0 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#1 of 62 in Provincetown
413 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#7 of 62 in Provincetown
614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Benchmark Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Benchmark Inn

Property: Benchmark Inn
Address: 6 Dyer St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2340
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 62 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Benchmark Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Willkommen, Bienvenue, Welcome!You found your home away from home.Come relax in one of our superb accommodations, many of which feature breathtaking views. Enjoy the friendly atmosphere at our centrally-located guesthouse and our multilingual service in English, French, German and Swiss-German.Seven sunlit guest rooms plus penthouse, many with water views, feature fireplaces, wet bars, marble-tiled baths, dual entrance and every amenity. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Benchmark Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing