We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More like a second home than a B and B”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #16 of 63 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 1, 2011

For my first trip to P-Town, I could not have chosen a better place. Stan and Lenny have transformed a 160-year old house into a warm and colorful home. I felt more like a member of a large family than a weekend traveler. The house man Danny is a genuine individual with an intelligent wit that should never be undervalued or underestimated. Although there was Hurricane Irene to threaten the tranquility of the Cape, it never disrupted the sense of friendship and down-home hospitality. I give Rome's five stars, but if I could, I would give it a constellation in the P-Town night sky.

Room Tip: Book in advance and online. Then call.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank DavidDRSlemp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (440)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 440 reviews

Reviewed August 27, 2011

The hosts, Lenny and Stan, and the 'house boy' Danny, were very friendly and helpful. The guest house was clean and well maintained and well located in town. I would gladly stay there again.

Room Tip: Ask for a back room, off Bradford
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2011

Wonderful old Victorian house. We had a one bedroom with private bath. The room was small but clean and functional. Lenny, Stan and Danny made us feel welcome and answered our questions about restaurants and other places to go and things to do. There was a nice continental breakfast with some home baked muffins in the mornings. The clothing optional backyard had a hot tub and was very relaxing in its own right. We would stay here again. Near all the action, yet quiet and peaceful at night.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms were closer to the hot tub and breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank dmarty51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2011

The location, excellent!
The service, excellent!
Stan, Lenny, and Danny are great host. Danny is a 4-1/2 star chef and makes the best, FRESH daily breakfast treats.
The rooms are clean, beds comfy, AC works well. Can't ask for much more.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Matt10001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2011

The owners, Stan and Lenny, go out of their way to make folks feel at home and their assistant, Dan, creates all the magic around the edges to make one realize one is on vacation. He is the one who secretly straightens your room, makes the bed and changes the towels while you are having breakfast on the back deck with the other guests. He's on the deck explaining how to best order and eat a lobster one minute and mysteriously disappears for a moment to do his work on the guest's rooms and then he's back advising you where to eat or find the best deal on something in town. Stan and Lenny also seem to know everyone in town and are great at filling in the blanks if one has any questions on P'town. It was our third stay in six years and we always say it's like coming home because they are like family and with the convenient location we know how to get to and from everything in town. I think it's a best kept secret. There are much "grander" guest houses, but they can't compete with the price and intimacy of Romeo's and the wonderful staff.

Room Tip: Honeymoon suite is a hoot. An explosion of the after-Valentines sale at Walgreen's/grandma's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SandyK52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2011

Stan and Lenny really know how to take care of their guests and we watched them not only take care of us, but take care of the other guests as well. Sometimes that meant leaving them alone... which they are good at too, if that is what you want. Very comfortable and relaxing environment. Everything was clean and nice. Their location was perfect, a quiet street just 1 block off the main drag right in the middle of everything. Perfect. We will come back!

Room Tip: We stayed on the 3rd floor, stairs - but it was very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David34698
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2011

My partner and I were staying on the Cape for a week with family and decided we wanted a night just to ourselves so we looked for a room in Provincetown. When we called Romeo's we were immediately greeted warmly and they graciously booked us a room for the night. When we arrived at the inn we were met at the door by Stan (one of the owners) and he welcomed us and arranged for our car to be parked just down the block in a lot. We were shown around the inn and then given lots and lots of information about what was going on in town. We eventually met Lenny (the other owner) and again were given a very warm welcome. While we only stayed one night we will definitely go back. The inn is charming and the hosts are absolutely lovely. We highly recommend it.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sandiegotraveler01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.8 mi away
Land's End Inn
Land's End Inn
#1 of 15 in Provincetown
700 reviews
0.8 mi away
Roux
Roux
#3 of 63 in Provincetown
285 reviews
0.2 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#15 of 63 in Provincetown
414 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Admiral's Landing
Admiral's Landing
#4 of 63 in Provincetown
537 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Porch Inn
White Porch Inn
#7 of 63 in Provincetown
641 reviews
0.4 mi away
Benchmark Inn
Benchmark Inn
#5 of 63 in Provincetown
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast

Address: 97 Bradford St, Provincetown, MA 02657-1308 (Formerly Romeo's Holiday & Spa)
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 63 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $96 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast 2*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian-style, boutique bed and breakfast located in the heart of Provincetown, Cape Cod. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Gaslamp Bed & Breakfast reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing