We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Happy Surprise!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“A Happy Surprise!”
Reviewed August 6, 2010

We needed a hotel for just one night in P-town and got an amazing deal through Priceline. Because we got the room for less than half the normal price, I was expecting the worst. Was I ever surprised!! Here's an example of the management style of the hotel - when we arrived at the hotel, the driver behind us let me know that my brake lights were out. It was about 4:30, and I knew that I would need to get the lights fixed right away. When we checked in, I mentioned my problem to the managers (a wonderful couple). They immediately looked up the number of their mechanic and dialed the phone for me. Within a half hour, I had my brake lights fixed. I was so impressed with the kindness of the managers and how they took the time to help me. They were wonderful and helpful in every way, and they make a mean pina colada, which you can sip by the pool. Our room was clean and comfortable and had a refrigerator. We were able to walk into Provincetown, though it would be challenging for anyone who isn't able to walk the 10 minute walk. I also noticed that this is an amazingly pet-friendly hotel. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stargreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 8, 2010
Thank you for your review, happy our mechanic could help you and that you enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to see you again soon. Our employees work very hard to make your stay with us a comfortable and pleasant one, again thank you so much for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

857 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    440
    257
    102
    35
    23
See reviews for
214
385
29
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (302)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Rockford, Illinois
1 review
Reviewed August 3, 2010

At the last minute we decided to take a trip to Provincetown. Most of the hotels were book because of a festival being held. It was our lucky day when we made our reservations at Surfside! From the moment we arrived we were greeted by polite and helpful staff. Surfside is located about 1 mile from the area.
The rooms are a little dated but quite clean. The beds were comfortable and we enjoyed some quite, restful sleep, exhausted from the nightlife.
What made this trip so enjoyable was the staff. They were outstanding. Enjoy the poolside bar service and order a Miami.....you'll love it. Great pool and beach area too!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coachs71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 5, 2010
Thank you for your review. We are always happy to hear our customers enjoyed their stay with us. Our guests enjoy poolside service and yes those Miami Vice are a great seller. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NH
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2010

We have stayed at the hotel several times and we think it just keeps getting better. If you want to be on a private beach; sleep in a clean, comfortable bed in a nice room; have spectacular views and bring your pet on vacation with you then this is a great hotel. It is a perfect combination for us. We find the staff and management to be friendly, efficient and helpful. We got married here on the beach and the staff helped us make it a very special occasion.

We love the quiet location but if you want to stay in the middle of town this place may not be for you even though it is only a short pleasant walk to anything. There are guests from all over the world which makes it very interesting.

The hotel offers a very simple breakfast. This is not gourmet, but it is convenient to have coffee and continental fare on the premises. There is a nice restaurant nearby for lunch and/or dinner and there are several places within walking distance.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonNh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, August 10, 2010
Love seeing our return guests each year and again we had surprises for them. The new decks and railings on the beach and courtyard buildings. Winters are long here in Provincetown, however, the memories of our return guests stay with us through the winter. Can't wait to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edison, New Jersey
1 review
Reviewed July 26, 2010

The Surfside Inn & Suites is just simply THE BEST place to stay in P-town! This was the 3rd year my partner and I stayed there. We look forward to going back next year, and the year after, etc. I would HIGHLY recommend this hotel for the following reasons:
1.) Value - You get a great room & more for a decent price. Price includes Continental Breakfast (which is very convenient...no need to head into town for your morning meal). Cable TV, private bath, and mini-fridge and microwave. Lots of storage space too! Plus free parking on site!! And this is hard to find in P-town.
2.) Use of PRIVATE BEACH and PRIVATE POOL - If you don't want to go to the beach you can hang out poolside. Nice to have the choice of the 2.
3.) Views - Get a waterfront room if you can - GREAT/SPECTACULAR views of Provincetown Harbor and Cape Cod Bay.
4.) Location - Not quite in the center of town, but close enough. You are on the east end among the quiet of the gallery district of P-Town, away from the hustle and bustle of the town center, but close enough to walk (about 15 mins.) and close enough to bike (about 5-7 mins.)
5.) Friendliness and Caring - The staff and management are by far some of the kindest and nicest people to the guests that I have encountered in hotel stays. They welcome you with open arms and are very accommodating to requests and needs. Most importantly they are kind and friendly to ALL WALKS OF LIFE no mater what, race, creed, religion or sexual orientation.

I cannot wait 'till summer of 2011!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MetroMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you for your review, our staff works very hard to make everyones stay with us comfortable and enjoyable. I will pass your comments on to my staff, they love hearing the wonderful reviews. We hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2010

We loved this hotel. Went down with a group of friends and stayed on the beach side standard rooms. Beautiful view of beach from back sliding door/balcony area. The hotel offered complimentary full breakfast. It was great! Waffles, eggs, french toast etc. Also a great salt water pool complete with rafts. Free parking for guests. Which is great in on that street because its super tiny and not much parking if you have been up and down commercial st before. The beach was just a step away and nice and peaceful and private. The hotel has chairs out for guests as well. No need to lug your beach chairs on vacation with you (didn't know this! We brought ours, woops)
The staff was super friendly and the hotel is located with in a short walk to pretty much anything on commercial st (maybe .7 miles down the street). Also if you have a dog they are all over. So cute. They have a little pet shower for them and watering areas. Very accomidating. Loved this place & loved the atmosphere. Definitely recommend.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherBHG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 27, 2010
Thank you for your review, always happy to hear from satisfied guests, we hope to see you again soon. Remember GREAT values in September. Have a great summer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
utica, ny
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2010

We recently returned from 6 wonderful days at the Surfside! The setting is beautiful and our hosts and staff couldn't have been more accomodating. The hotel is constantly being updated and the most recent renovations are casual yet elegant. Everything you need(refrig,microwave,coffee maker and iron) for a carefree stay is provided. There is even a bountiful complimentary breakfast. We stayed in the waterfront rooms and enjoyed the beautiful bay views. Once you arrive, you don't have to leave to find spectacular sandy beaches. It's all right there at the Surfside! The hotel has a diverse clientel enhanced by all the friendly dogs they bring with them. We had such a great time that we can't wait until August when we will return for 6 more days!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelbugutica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dutchnala, Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, July 26, 2010
Always a pleasure seeing repeat guests and meeting new ones. We are pleased to hear you had another wonderful stay and look forward to having you with us again in August.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pawtucket, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed July 11, 2010

Our stay at The Surfside started off unpleasant, but got better as we stayed. My wife made a reservation for a poolside room on 7/5/10, and spoke with a man who even gave her a confirmation number after he took her credit card reservation. They never sent an e-mail confirmation or reciept, but we didn't think much of it since we got a confirmation number.
When we got there on 7/9/10, our reservation was lost: no name, no confirmation number. The desk clerk Liz asked if we perhaps made the reservation at the Surfside in Falmouth, but my wife told her that it was for the Provincetown location because we wanted a pet-friendly hotel for our pup. Luckily there was a room available, but we had to pay 16.00 more per night and ended up with a third floor room facing the parking lot. Also, after a gaffe like that, you would think that the owners would call and apologize and perhaps offer us an upgrade, but that never happened.
Also, the maid service may need a refresher course on making beds: the fitted sheet on the bed....didn't fit. After normal tossing & turning on the bed, it came loose very easily & I was sleeping directly on the mattress. Also, the parking was a little tight & was a little difficult to negotiate.
Other than these inconveniences, our first stay at The Surfside was actually pretty nice! The continental breakfast was delicious, the lobby wi-fi actually reached our room so we had free wi-fi and didn't have to pay the subscription fee. The saltwater pool was warm & relaxing, with noodles and beach floats available for the guests and the lounge chairs were very comfortable, not to mention the very generous & tasty margaritas available in the afternoon! The hotel was a short walk into town, and had a nice little beach for relaxing in the sun & had a nice outside shower to rinse off the salt & sand.
All in all, a bad start, but a nice finish; hopefully we may get an apology or a comp of some sort so we can return again.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxJovi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#6 of 15 in Provincetown
910 reviews
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
1.3 mi away
Sandcastle Resort
Sandcastle Resort
#14 of 15 in Provincetown
233 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing