We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“September Night!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Westerly, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“September Night!”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

We had a king suite, room was clean and bed was really comfortable. Nice size TV, my complaints were bathroom was so small, and the curtains allowed way too much light in the room. Overall nice for the price! Location was great, walk to everything.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rshafer79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 18, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm delighted you found your room clean and comfortable, our staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us as comfortable and pleasant as possible. I'm sorry about the light coming into your room, however, there are three sets of curtains in these rooms, the room darkener is nearest the window in front of the sheer. I wish you would have called us so that we could of shown you the insulated darkening drapes. However, it is a pleasure to have had you with us and I am pleased we met your expectations, we hope to see you again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    411
    244
    102
    35
    21
See reviews for
207
359
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (290)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at Surfside since no other hotels allowed kids during the time we were in Ptown. Room was big enough for our family (2 adults, 1 infant). The staff was really friendly and rooms were cleaned quickly each day. Since most of time was spent outdoors, the room was mainly for sleeping.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Chris P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 10, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased that we met with your needs and our staff was able to provide you with great service and we hope that you will stay with us again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
The Rock Inn Yelverton
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We were disappointed with our room although a double it was small, the balcony was shared and the staircase for the floor above went right over the seating area. The noisy fridge woke us every time it switched on. The bathroom was dated and VERY tired, but clean. Our breakfast was minimalistic and basic.

Room Tip: Don't stay here.
See more room tips
Green Features: I didn't notice any, what practices, I think they may have asked us to only ask for sheets to be changed if necessary.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank landlady13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 7, 2013
I want to thank you for your review. Unfortunately with the late booking you booked the last room in our waterfront building with one double bed, I believe you were told this is a small room, our other rooms on the waterfront have one king bed or two double beds and are very large, we are sorry you were not able to book one of these rooms, I'm certain you would have been happy with them. I'm pleased that our housekeepers kept your room clean. Our breakfast, waffles, assorted bagles, assorted breads, yogurt, fresh fruit, hot and cold cereals, assorted juices, coffee, assorted teas and a hot dish which changes four times a week, most of our guests are pleased to start the day with such an assortment, if there is something you would like to see on the menu please let us know and we will do our best to add it. In Provincetown, we cannot have private balconies it is a shared balcony as stated on our website with comfortable chairs and a great view of Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My family of 4 and a large dog spent 2 nights at the Surfside Inn over Labor Day. We were in a beach front room with 2 double beds on the 4th floor (403).

My favorite part of the hotel was the fact we could leave the sliding door open, lock the screen door and sleep with the ocean breezes and sounds. We definitely heard people on occasion on the beach but it didn't happen enough that it bothered me.

What I liked least about the hotel was the size of the room. I would have had a hard time spending more than 2 nights in this room with 4 people. It was very tight. It's not really a complaint, but more like an observation.

The staff was all incredibly friendly. We chatted with a few. One of the staff brought us a snack and a bottle of water out to the pool after he had to turn her down for a beer because she hadn't carried her license. We totally understood the rule and it was very sweet of him to bring the snack.

The pool is nicer than I expected and the kids loved the floats they had. It's heated unlike the Provincetown Inn pool. They have pool towels for guests.

Breakfast was better than the Harbor Hotel but there are really wonderful places to have breakfast in town. They had two kinds of bagels, light yogurt, eggs on occasion, and a waffle machine. Also, apples and oranges at the front desk.

The room was clean and had a minifridge, iron and board, hairdryer and flat screen tv. Wifi was free but very slow where we were. It was better closer to the lobby.

The other guests were all very nice as well. There were a lot of families with kids and there were a number of people who engaged us in friendly conversation.

On the list of other amenities: a place to lock your bikes, a beach with lounge chairs, beach umbrellas you could sign out and borrow, and a place to rinse off your sandy feet or sandy dog.

If I am traveling with my dog and kids, I would definitely stay here again over the Harbor Hotel (which is about a 10 minute walk farther out of town), particularly if it is for 2 nights. If the Surfside has a longer minimum, I'd consider the Harbor Hotel again, which allows for one night stays.

Room Tip: Pay for a beach front room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadie_NB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review, we appreciate you comments on the staff and the hotel and look forward to seeing you again when you are in Provincetown. My staff will be pleased to see you review posted on our boards, again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WIchita, k
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Over all the hotel is way overpriced for the quality level. Be warned that the rooms pictured on the website are the exception, not the norm. By Balcony they mean to say exterior hallway. I had the bad luck of being placed in an end room so was woke by people climbing the unreasonably loud staircase throughout the night. The room was other wise cramped, mildewy and dated. A motel style breakfast was included. Having not stayed anywhere else in P’town I can’t say it is overpriced comparatively and maybe this is the Value Inn of P’town but I will not be dropping a grand for a long weekend in this motel on my next visit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wdarrah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Thank you for your review. I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Regarding the cramped rooms, this hotel has some of the largest rooms in Provincetown. As for the breakfast, we feel we have a very good complimentary breakfast to start your day, waffles, fresh fruit, assorted bagels, assorted breads, hot and cold cereals, 4 rotating hot items (eggs, french toast, corned beef hash, sausage gravy and biscuits and sausage) I'm not sure what other items you would like on a complimentary breakfast most hotels in Provincetown do not offer complimentary breakfast. Unfortunately in our courtside building we have no elevator, but in our waterfront building there is an elevator, therefore you would not have to deal with the staircases.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
1 review
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We had a wonderful time! Our room was on the beachfront. It doesn't get much better...You can't beat falling asleep to the sound of real waves! Very clean and comfortable bed! The staff were extremely helpful. The fire pit is a highlight as is the nice and warm salt water pool and tasty breakfasts. Parking convenient especially for unloading and loading. We really look forward to our monthly weekend getaways here!

Room Tip: Call way in advance! Beachfront is ideal. End rooms away from the stairs get less traffic if you wan...
See more room tips
Green Features: Recycle bins readily available and emptied regularly. Dog friendly poop scooper bags are also provided.
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank J12C99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 3, 2013
Thank you for your great review, we always look forward to Carnival Week and see all the familiar guests return year after year and get together by the pool and the fire pit. Our guests start parade day off the breakfast, a little swimming, the BBQ, a few Margaritas, watch the parade, dinner out and then get together by the fire pit - we look forward to your visit with us again next season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampstead, London
Level Contributor
34 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2013

This is a good option in P-Town. The staff were friendly and helpful and the room and bed were great with a nice terrace (not private). The room was fresh and clean and looked newly decorated. Room was serviced and cleaned really well each day and there is a car park, which is great in P-Town as Commercial Street is very difficult to park. It is quite a long walk from the centre of town (about 20 minutes) but along a pleasant street, past galleries and shops, this also meant it was quieter than some of the places nearer the centre, so not really a bad thing. The place has a nice, laid back, relaxed, beachy feel - just what you want on holiday. There's also a great little store (Angel Food) very close for all necessities. I would definitely stay here again although it was a little expensive.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hayse01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 2, 2013
Thank you for your review, we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed you stay with us and we were able to meet all your expectations. We hope to see you again when you are in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
853 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#1 of 14 in Provincetown
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing