We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Can't beat the view, accomadations and staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #4 of 15 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Can't beat the view, accomadations and staff”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

Elaine and Dave go out of their way to be accomadating. The rooms are newly remodeled and clean with killer views on the oceanside. The firepit is a great new addition and a wonderful gathering spot where we have always met friendly guests. It has a nice pool area and they serve a complimentary breakfast that is very good. The hotel is also pet friendly. We look forward to our stay every year.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Pavallon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your review. Our guests certainly do enjoy our new firepit, they make new friends in evening enjoying the fire and cocktails from our Lighthouse Bar. We work very hard to make everyone's stay with us an enjoyable one. Always so happy to see returned guests and their pets. We can't wait for you to see the new ocean room sliders this season, one of our many remodels this winter. Surprises every year for new and returning guests. We'll be seeing you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

835 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    426
    250
    102
    35
    22
See reviews for
210
372
29
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (296)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The surfside is the only place to stay in Provincetown . The staff are wonderful, the accommodations are comfortable and beautiful, and the location is ideal.we have been staying here for 13 years.love it! Since the renovation of the patio and the rooms and the apartments, I don't think you could ask for anything else.it is our home away from home!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gnosilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Thank you for your reveiw. It is a pleasure to have guests return year after year, they are like family. My staff works very hard to make everyone's stay a pleasant stay for everyone, but they certainly enjoy seeing the guests return year after year. The location of the hotel is just 3/4 of a mile from the center of town so a quite location but not far if you enjoy the night life. Our guests certainly did enjoy the new firepit this past season and everyone made new friends, what a pleasant way to spend the end of the day, an Irish Coffee by the fire everyone's pleasure. We look forward to seeing you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Massachusetts
2 reviews
Reviewed March 1, 2013

We have been coming to Surfside several times a time a year for many years usually in the spring and fall as P-town is much quieter then. We have stayed in the summer but we are not fans of all the hustle and bustle of the summer season.

Elaine and her husband David are like family now. Their smiles and welcome when we arrive with the dog are a wonderful way to start our vacations with them. The staff is always available if we need something. The rooms are spacious, always clean and so comfortable. We have upgraded from staying in a waterfront king room to one of the suites they have there. It is like being at home without having to do all the stuff you do at home. There is nothing like falling asleep and waking to the sound of the surf and being able to just walk out the sliding glass door and onto the beach with the dog. By the way the Willow knows where we are going when we come over the crest of the hill on RT 6 in North Truro and as we get closer she gets more and more excited til we reach hotel. She can't wait to get out and greet Elaine and then off to the beach to see what other dogs are there and ready to play. If you have pets-any size- they are as welcome as us humans.

We have stayed in all kinds of weather-sunny, cloudy, windy, rainy and thru 3 different hurricanes-now that is an awesome time to be there with the surf and wind! We loved the last one this past Oct during Halloween week! If you are a true fan of mother nature you will understand....:-)

I have stayed at other places in P-town prior to finding Surfside and there is no comparisons. The B+Bs are much smaller and more expensive with a lot less privacy. And most do not allow pets so...

Room Tip: Always ask for a waterfront room if available. Or consider one of the suites or apartments if you w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank M L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, March 3, 2013
Thank you for your Trip Advisor Review, it's always a pleasure to see the two of you and Willow. We are pleased that you enjoy your stay with us no matter the weather. Our staff works very hard to make everyone's stay with us pleasant and enjoyable. We have so many return guests each year and everyone is very special and important to us. My staff and I look forward to seeing you again this season.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
1 review
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We went in late September and although the price and the location were good, I was not happy with the cleanliness of the room. The bathroom was old and not super clean, the drain in the shower backed up, and there was a very musty smell in the room, even with the air on. We spent the majority of our time walking around, but were never really excited to go back to our room to relax, mainly due to the smell.
The front desk people were great, as was the breakfast. We don't regret our stay, but will probably look elsewhere in the future.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank s m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review - I am sorry for the problems you had during your stay with us. We are closed from Nov. to March 30th and are addressing the problems you encounted. We are working to be sure that all problems are taken care of before reopening for the 2013 season. We hope that you will give us another chance to make your stay with us a pleasant and comfortable one.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeenshire, Scotland
Level Contributor
136 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

We stayed in the 2nd half of October when things were quite quiet. This was good because this end of Cape Cod really is very nice and worth the drive to get there - "out of season" is probably a better bet.

We had a room "across the road" which did give us a view of the sea, but the view was shared with the shared balcony for all the rooms on that floor.

However it was good enough and still a bit pricey even although it included breakfast. The rooms are clean and the staff welcoming, although while checking in we did have to listen to a somewhat terse conversation the owner(?) was having with a previous guest about payment following an early departure. Surely that could have been done in an office rather than at the front desk!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WBT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Thank you for your review we are happy you enjoyed your stay with us - we hope that perhaps you will take advantage of our Spring BOGO special or perhaps our Fall BOGO - great rates for both ocean front and courtside rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
52 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2012

We stayed in one of the King rooms overlooking the beach. The room was well equipped, decorated and furnished for what is essentially a motel, but the noise was horrific. I left this place more in need of a holiday than when I arrived.

Our room seemed to have no soundproofing. When the next room/upstairs had a shower, it sounded as though they were showering in our room. If the people upstairs walked across their room, we heard every thunderous footstep. The occupants of the upstairs room also had a dog, which woke us up by barking at 6.50am every day. Every day we complained, every day we were told the manager would be informed and get back to us, but we heard nothing. One day the dog was obviously left alone and barked constantly for ages. Staff said they'd contact the owners, but nothing solved the immediate problem, and we never received an apology, nor an offer to move somewhere quieter.

On one day, there were a large party of very drunk people gathering outside one of the ground floor rooms. There was shouting, singing, guitar playing - you couldn't sit outside your room as they were too noisy, and sometimes verbally abusive. We asked reception if anything could be done, and they said they'd ask them to be quiet at 10pm.

My advice - book a different hotel. This hotel is expensive and noisy, and I didn't feel well cared for or respected as a guest.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank SJ13London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear of the noise problems you had when you stayed with us. It was a very noisey weekend, we had a large wedding party of 65 rooms of our 88 rooms staying here at the hotel celebrating the event. Although we did try to keep the noise down it was very difficult. I really thought that after 10:00 PM it was pretty quite when I went through, however, perhaps after we closed the office at midnight the noise may have started again, however, we were not notified until the next morning, we do leave a phone number on the room phones in case of noise or emergency during the night which contacts the GM immediately, however, no calls regarding noise were ever received, again I am sorry you did not enjoy your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2012 via mobile

We only picked this hotel because of the reviews. After reading all these positive statements we expected something else.

We stayed in a room at the street building.
Positiv: the room was clean
Negativ:
- room and building seemed to be very old
- soft mattress (got the feeling that I'll kiss the floor). If you like super soft mattress its positiv
- noise!!! You could hear everything! If someone next door or in your radius took a shower, flushing the toilette, talk to each other etc. you could here it. We were not the only one who mentioned that but the guy from the front desk wasn't interested at all. I know that he couldn't change it himself but he was absolutely disinterested.
- too expensive for what we get
- unfriendly staff (e.g. We checked in and got the room keys and a parking ticket. That was all. W didn't get any information like, where can we park, what about breakfast (like where and when), what about the pool, beach, bikes, whatever. That was so strange.

I wouldn't choose this hotel again. Maybe the waterfront rooms are awesome but I can't say it about the street rooms.

Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 19, 2012
Thank you for your review. I was happy to hear that your room was clean, however, not happy that you were not welcomed to the hotel properly. Our guest service representatives are trained to inform check ins of all hotel amenities, I will certainly address this with them at our next meeting. The hotel is an older hotel, sometimes not as quite as we would like, as for the rooms and mattresses, I am surprised you did not find the bed comfortable, these rooms were newly remodeled with new matrresses just two years ago. We will address all your issues and hopefully have a way of resolving the noise problem.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#5 of 15 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 876 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#3 of 15 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,035 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets and Hotel.de so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing