We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beach hotel princetown,cape cod.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Surfside Hotel & Suites

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Surfside Hotel & Suites
Ranked #3 of 14 Hotels in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“beach hotel princetown,cape cod.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2011

Nice hotel with clean pleasant room, decor a bit dated.Tea and coffee making facility,microwave and fridge in room.Drinks also available in lounge.We had an ocean view room with a terrace to sit on and beach chairs available.Rest of hotel is across the street with a good size pool.Continental Breakfast was included,very good.
Bit of a walk into main area and harbour,we had bikes which was a bonus.
Provincetown is fun and lively.
Not sure about dogs allowed at hotel,could be a bit noisy at times.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bentleybelle0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
Thank you for your Trip Advisor comments, we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will be redecorating the rooms in our waterfront building over the winter months, I'm sure you will be pleased with the new decor should you stay with us again next season. We do allow dogs in our hotel, however, have never had noise complaints, if there is any barking we have all dog owner's cell phone number and they are called immediately to return to the hotel and take care of their dog.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    408
    240
    102
    35
    21
See reviews for
203
357
28
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (289)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Menominee, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2011

This property is rundown. The location is great, but the room was bad. Even the balcony was in poor condition. The room felt dirty. We will noy stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank JGB62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We appreciate you Trip Advisor comments, however, I'm not certain you have the right property. All of our decks were completely repaired and have Deck Teck Decking on them, they are in very good condition.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainsboro, New Jersey
Level Contributor
32 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 7, 2011

Went 2 weeks ago for a friends wedding. Got into the room -- it reeked. Hideously decorated. Sliding glass door only secured with a small pin. Holes in the drapes. Tried to call the front desk to request a different room -- the phone didn't work. No pillowcases on the "decorative" pillows. In the middle of thr night, my wife tried to get an extra blanket, only to find an empty grape juice bottle in the bag with the extra pillows (no blanket). When we complained about it in the morning, the manager said, while apologizing, never sent anyone up to take it away. We almost left to go to another hotel, but everything else was booked. Under no circumstances will we be going back, I advise everyone else to stay away!!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Orren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 17, 2011
We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. We have checked the phone in this room and found nothing wrong with it, not sure why you were not able to use it. The decorative pillows in the room do not have pillow cases as they are just there for decoration and for use when sitting up in bed reading or watching television. When you let us know that the juice bottle had been put into the storage bag for extra pillows I did apoligize to you and my executive housekeeper went in to take the bottle out of the room and make sure the rest of the room was up to our standards. I'm sorry there was not another room to move you to, however, the house was full, all other guests from the four wedding groups we had in house seemed to have enjoyed their stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Latham, New York, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2011

The staff at the Surfside Hotel made our first trip to Provincetown a charming and carefree one! Stayed in Pilgrim's Landing -2bedrm Apt with the balcony that stretches across the whole apt. Magnificent beach front, yummy continental breakfast, clean-well attended pool. Easy to keep our bikes with us. Can't wait to go back next year!!

Room Tip: Try to get on the water front locations.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, October 3, 2011
Thank you for your Trip Advisor review. We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to having you with us again, hopefully in 2012. You certainly cannot beat the view of Cape Cod Bay, Provincetown Harbor and our private beach. This review will be posted for our employees, they love to see these great reviews, they take great pride in preparing the property for all of our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2011

We were looking for a room close to the center (we were able to walk to the harbor and leave our car at the hotel) and reasonbly priced. Surfside exceeded our expectations. We were given a room on the Bradford Street side of the building (no water view) The outside of the building and the hallways aren't the most modern looking. However, the room itself was updated, had a cozy feel to it and looked similar to what you see and get at a Sheraton or Hyatt. The bed was extremely comfortable (a big plus) . The room also had a refrigerator and a microwave; both are benefit when traveling with a young child because, in the case of my son, he doesn't always eat when the adults eat and having the ability to store and heat up food at a later time worked in our favor. The owner was friendly and helpful. I don't know when we will be back to Provincetown, but would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank europecf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 28, 2011
We are so glad you found us and we look forward to your next visit with us. The East end of town is quite, just a short walk to the center of town and all the shows, shopping, restaurants and the pier. Our outdoor heated pool and private beach are here for when you return from a day out and want to relax! Hope to see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hartford, Connecticut
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2011

We always book a waterfront room. The views are fantastic the water is just steps away. We were there this past time to celebrate our marriage. The one thing we really appreciate is that the hotel is truly smoke free. Besides not being able to smoke in the rooms, smoking is not allowed on the balconies. We've stayed at other "smoke free" hotels and gotten totally smoked out by balcony smokers.
The rooms are small but well done. May need some updating here and there but we were there for the location. We're already planning an anniversary trip next year! It's about a mile walk into town to eat or shop. Later on at night you can always get a pedicab to come back. Our car only left their parking lot one time while we were there!
The continental breakfast is good to get going in the morning but we often went out for breakfast in town.
The staff is always friendly and helpful too. Try this one for a relaxing Provincetown experience, We've only stayed on the waterfront side though and have never seen the courtyard rooms.

Room Tip: The waterfront rooms are right on the beach!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2011

We have stayed here for at least 6 years, same fours days every year..this year the room on the beach ( beside our normal beach side room ) was available..a bit larger were told....meaning a king sized bed and not the queen sized we have had the last five years....the bed was so uncomfortable that we actually checked out TWO nights earlier then our stay was
Aid for....at 229.00 p,us 20.00 per night for our pet....we left a pleasant note to explain why they would or had not seen us, and nicely explained our reasons for leaving at 10 pm two night earlier....after not hearing from them for at least two plus months I saw the, online and decided to message them to address it..all I got was call our office to discuss....seriously the note didnt explain it...I am now re ting a condo closer into town a full one bedroom with full kitchen saving us over 200 on the four day three night stay...I loved surf side beach side....my pet moved it...but after getting no response i
am done... And if that wasnt bad enough...we went to their bar in the resort lobby and order 2 glasses of chardonany..they only had enough to fill one glass and a to y bit k. Theother...the g charges us and them told us to co e back I an hour or so so he could get more..he would owe it to me..Seriously.........I feel that after six hrs of being a good quiet paying customer they should have contacted us..... Never again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank suiki22016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surfside543, General Manager at Surfside Hotel & Suites, responded to this review, September 21, 2011
Regarding your Trip Advisor comments, unfortunately I never received the note you had left in your room, that is the reason I asked that you call me. The IMs you sent me did not have your name only your email address so I had not idea which room, when and what your issues were. I tried many times to asked you to call, left time and number but you never called me. I want to address the bed issue, we do not and have never had queen size beds, all of our beds are the same in each room, rooms with one bed have a king bed, rooms with two beds have two double beds. I have no idea what happened in the bar, however, I do know that it is always well stocked, therefore I have no idea what the comments was about the wine, I did not understand what you were writing. I'm sorry you feel that I did not try to resolve whatever issues you had but I did try, but you never called.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Provincetown
0.7 mi away
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
Harbor Hotel Provincetown
#4 of 14 in Provincetown
4.0 of 5 bubbles 850 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
1.0 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Provincetown Inn Resort & Conference Center
20.7 mi away
The Mansion at Ocean Edge Resort & Golf Club
0.2 mi away
Cape Colony Inn
Cape Colony Inn
#1 of 14 in Provincetown
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Surfside Hotel & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Surfside Hotel & Suites

Property: Surfside Hotel & Suites
Address: 543 Commercial Street, Provincetown, MA 02657-1724
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Family Hotel in Provincetown
#4 Business Hotel in Provincetown
#5 Romantic Hotel in Provincetown
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Surfside Hotel & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 88
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking Cape Cod Bay and Provincetown Harbor. Private beach, outdoor heated saline pool, complimentary breakfast, free WIFI, free parking. Courtyard with fire pit, bar service from our Lighthouse Bar. Easy walk to town, 3/4 of a mile through the art district. Pets welcome, pet treats, pet station and pet shower. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Surfside Hotel & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Surfside Hotel And Suites
Surfside Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing