We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Strictly Pizza”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of John Dough

John Dough
Ranked #100 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pizza, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Lunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
57 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Strictly Pizza”
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This is the second year in a row that we have been to JD's, and we were quite lucky this time, as they were closing for the season. I cannot comment on the fare other than the pizza, but it was the pizza that we came back for. If you like exceptionally thin-crust, wood-fired pizza that has a char on the edges, this is the place to go in P-Town. If you prefer a more typical thicker, cheesier pizza by the slice, there are other places in town for that. In season it can be a bit loud around the bar and main dining area, but the deck is perfect on a seasonable evening. Price for the various personal 12-inch pizzas average about $15. With so many restaurants in the area, this is still the place we will always go back to for an inexpensive and casual meal that has excellent, and different from the horde, pizza.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sweeney221b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    10
    11
    6
    6
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Westbrook, Connecticut
Level Contributor
89 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great location”
Reviewed October 15, 2013

JD's is located right in the heart of commercial st. This is a great place to stop in for a drink and sit on the deck over looking Commercial St. I have never eaten here but I have herd good things. If they have the special with the giant margarita with the two coronas inside you must get it!!! Definitely worth stopping in.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leigh-on Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Be VERY careful if paying by card”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

After arriving from a long drive to Provincetown on the 23rd September we were looking for an easy dining experience and the menu at the bottom of the stairs looked just right and the prices seemed reasonable. We were seated by Justin, the restaurant was quiet with only one other table so our drinks arrived quickly, followed by the salad promptly and shortly after the burgers. The salad was delicious, the burgers were ok, can't say I haven't had better, we asked for medium and they were well done but we were hungry and it was not a bother.
We paid on a Travelex Mastercard, which is actually a pre loaded debit card with the MasterCard logo. As we'd discovered from our week and a half already spent in the States they bring the bill which you sign with a space for a tip if you choose to write one in. The bill was $50.29 for 2 drinks, salad and 2 burgers. We didn't put a tip on the card as we were leaving a cash tip. My partner signed the receipt, we had our copy of the $50.29 receipt and we left cash for the tip as we had been doing for the last 10 days in many restaurants.
Imagine our surprise when 2 days later we checked the Travelex account to find that the restaurant had taken $70.29. We were leaving the States that morning, the restaurant was closed!! As we now know the screen stays open for the restaurant to add a tip amount to the original receipt amount if you've written one in. Obviously we hadn't but someone, we can only assume Justin who according to the receipt served us, had.
There's a restaurant experience to leave a bad taste in this case in your bank balance. A 40% tip which we had no knowledge of on top of the 12% cash tip we chose to leave. Needless to say should we ever return to Provincetown we won't be dining there.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Elaine D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“central location for great people watching”
Reviewed September 11, 2013

We stopped here for lunch and had a variety of food styles, from wood fired hand crafted pizza to
artfully prepared sushi, made from scratch by the Japanese sushi chef of Saki, the restaurant that adjoins this outdoor patio spot, and is owned by the same person. It was fun to watch the throngs walk by Town Hall and this restaurant which is located in the very center of Provincetown. Good food and friendly service by the young staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Santamonicatea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, KY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Great burger!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013 via mobile

Place called JD's. You see mock up of food on the street. Go up steps overlooking Commercial Street. Pizza good. Burger great. Cheapest meal we had in Ptown.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank bravojackie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed John Dough also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to John Dough? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing