We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unfriendly owner and unpleasant experience.”
Review of Anchor Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Anchor Inn
Ranked #21 of 64 Provincetown B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here in May for my 40th birthday weekend away. From the moment we arrived it was a bad experience. The room I booked was the best they offer, with a balcony, fireplace, Jacuzzi tub and a great ocean view. The high off season price reflected these amenities. However, the room we were given had hair in the Jacuzzi tub (the bad kind of hair), the fireplace wasn’t operational and the balcony door was broken. All amenities were problematic. When we went to the front desk to inform the owner of the condition of the room, he became immediately defensive and proceeded to inform us that he owned the inn for 5 years and his cleaning staff was great and worked there for over 14 years with no complaints of cleanliness. He made no apology and made it actually feel like he doubted our truthfulness. He went upstairs to check the room and came back to say he was switching us to a new room. His attitude, arrogance, defensiveness and lack of sympathy was actually far worse than the condition of the first room. He made a bad situation worse instead of following the basic rules of customer service by empathizing and apologizing to his guests. He had an opportunity to turn the bad situation around so this review would be a positive one instead of a negative one, but his arrogance prevented that. He has no business being in the hospitality field. The new room was in better condition and was cleaner, but things still got worse. The people who stayed in the room above us walked very loudly and very often with heavy loud shoes on the hard wood floors above. It also sounded like they were arranging furniture. This went on every day from 7am to 11pm. The rooms weren't big enough to do that much walking so I am not sure what they were doing, but it was very rude. This is probably not an ownership problem, but it made an already bad experience even more terrible. The breakfast was barely a breakfast so I suggest checking out a great local restaurant like The Post Office or Café Heaven for real food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
11  Thank virgowolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
candrews1125, General Manager at Anchor Inn, responded to this reviewResponded April 14, 2015

Hi virgowolf,

Thank you for taking the time to give us a review of your experience during your stay with us. First off, sorry for the delay in response to your review and our deepest apologies for your experience not being the best possible one that you could have had, especially celebrating a birthday.

In regards to some of the problems that you encountered while you were here, if our reaction to the cleanliness that you discovered the room came off as attitude, arrogance or defensiveness, please know that was misinterpreted. It would be more of a shock or act of being in awe, as we have never had any of our guests ever complain about our housekeeping staff's ability and way they thoroughly clean all of our guest rooms. In fact, it would be more the opposite in the amount of praise and great compliments that we get of all of our wonderful housekeeping staff.

I'm glad we are able to move you to a different room that met your expectation's at least on the cleanliness factor. Although you did say that it was quite loud and noisy from the guest above you and mentioned that may not have been an ownership issue, in our opinion, that is quite the contrary. That is something that we could have resolved for you and wish that you would have brought that to our attention, in order to make your stay with us as the most enjoyable as possible, ESPECIALLY after you had already encountered the first issue.

Although I have never had breakfast at The Post Office Café, I have enjoyed a few great lunches and some pretty amazing shows upstairs. Café Heaven is one of my favorite places to enjoy a full breakfast, I was just there on opening day last week. However, our breakfast is only a continental breakfast and with the size of our TINY galley kitchen, it's a miracle that we can get the items out that we do put out. Fresh baked muffins or breads, hard boiled eggs, English muffins, yogurt, cereals, an occasional quiche, fresh fruit and coffee, juice and teas.

Again, we truly apologize that your birthday weekend had to have any type of unexpected negativity in it, as that is not out intentions for any of our previous or potential new guests.

Best,

Chris

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (212)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 212 reviews

Reviewed May 11, 2014

From the moment we opened the door to our huge king size room overlooking the ocean, we felt relaxed. Mike and Chris take great care to make the Anchor Inn a wonderful place to vacation. The rooms are immaculate with great care given to even the smallest of details. They have thought of everything, but nothing beats the table and chairs on the balcony that face the ocean. Ask for a room with a balcony and an ocean view if you can; well worth the few extra dollars. We did peek into another room that did not have a balcony view and that room was also beautiful and very cozy. I don't think you can go wrong with this place. The location is ideal, we never bothered to move our car for the week we were there.

The two house dogs are wonderful therapy, as they greet people at the door and love any attention they can get.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janis S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2014

We had an amazing five nights at the Anchor Inn Beach House in late April 2014. Ask for room 122 which is on the top floor with awesome views from the balcony over the bay. The private balcony was small but plenty big enough for sharing a glass of wine and watching the afternoon light change. The room was very clean and the kingsize bed was quite comfortable. The bathroom was also nice with a jacuzzi tub and spacious shower. The staff was ever helpful, down to earth, and fun. The breakfast was served from 7 to 10 and although it was simple, the fair was fine and got us off to a quick start each day. The B and B is located right at the edge of the main shopping district - not too loud and with easy access to many restaurants and shops. Free parking on site and we walked everywhere and enjoyed sunsets on the beach, exploring the bike trails, and watching the whales. Eat at Jimmy's Down Under and the Squealing Pig. Thank you Anchor Inn!

Room Tip: Request room 122 or another bayside upper level. The stairs are a little narrow and steep, especiall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kasey J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2014

We stayed in this gorgeous property last week. I booked two rooms. My husband and I stayed in the ocean view room and my sister and brother in law stayed in the town view room. The ocean view room is huge.It has a King size bed. The room has a living area with a sofa bed, two big chairs. It has a fireplace and this makes a really nice area to lounge at or entertain guests. I also liked the french doors that open to the balcony which has breathtaking ocean views. It was still cold when we were there but we left the doors open at night as the sound of the waves were very relaxing. Town view room is smaller but it also has a balcony that is overlooking commercial street. Bathrooms have jet tubs .Overall, the property looks very clean and homey. Rooms come with continental breakfast. Keepers of the property were very nice and helpful. Location is also very good as it is along commercial street and parking is very convenient at the back.

It was our first time in Ptown. It was not crowded at all when we went there although it was still cold and most of the shops were still closed for the season. But we enjoyed our stay and we were glad that we chose to stay at the Anchor Inn. We will definitely be back!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Kris l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2014 via mobile

We stayed in their king size ocean view room, perfect location, walking distance to all the amenities, room was roomy and clean, excellent job with the decor, great use of space. It was our anniversary weekend and just wanted to relax, had a great time!

Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
2  Thank ilianad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 25, 2014

This is the second year we've stayed at the Anchor Inn Beach House for a quick February get-away. We've stayed both years in one of the Deluxe Captain's Rooms overlooking the water. The room was spotless, well decorated and perfect for what we were looking for -- a long weekend sitting by the fire, reading, soaking in the hot tub and looking out on the water. The owners and their staff are extremely friendly and accommodating. We've also stayed at the White Wind Inn across the street and although we missed the open kitchen and inviting warmth of common area at the White Wind, you really can't beat the view from Anchor Inn if you're on the water side. It's also a terrific bargain in the winter season.

The resident dogs Molly and Ginger are as friendly as the owners and were a lot of fun. They know how to work the guests with their big, sad eyes.

You could probably find a better breakfast at some of P-town's other inns, but it wasn't at all bad and certainly adequate if you're just looking for a simple breakfast -- English muffins, yogurt, fruit, cereal, juice and coffee. Like I said, we did miss the open kitchen and warmth of the eating area you find in some other B&B's, but the Anchor Inn makes up for it in other ways.

Overall, highly recommended.

Room Tip: Choose one of the Deluxe Captain's Rooms. You can't get much closer to the water than that a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank OnlineNewsGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2014

I Just can't begin to say how much my husband and I love It here. The location is great, but the INN is just beautiful.The bed was very comfortable. The music playing when we got to our room was a nice personal touch. Everyone was very kind and helped us change rooms when the fireplace wouldn't work. We can't wait to go back !! Thank You !!!

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 24theroad76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Provincetown hotels
0.1 mi away
Brass Key Guesthouse
Brass Key Guesthouse
#9 of 15 in Provincetown
334 reviews
0.2 mi away
Crowne Pointe Historic Inn & Spa
0.3 mi away
The Provincetown Hotel at Gabriel's
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sage Inn & Lounge
Sage Inn & Lounge
#15 of 64 in Provincetown
411 reviews
0.6 mi away
8 Dyer Hotel
8 Dyer Hotel
#2 of 64 in Provincetown
428 reviews
0.6 mi away
Admiral's Landing
Admiral's Landing
#4 of 64 in Provincetown
537 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Anchor Inn

Address: 175 Commercial St, Provincetown, MA 02657-2125
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Massachusetts > Cape Cod > Provincetown
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 64 B&Bs / Inns in Provincetown
Price Range: $108 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Anchor Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire and Orbitz so you can book your Anchor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Anchor Hotel Provincetown

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing