We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“GF”
Review of Karoo Kafe - CLOSED

Karoo Kafe
Price range: $0 - $16
Cuisines: African, Middle Eastern
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night
Description: This is a SOUTH African restaurant. It is Zagat rated.
Bakersfield, California
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“GF”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

They have gluten free options here. The food was delicious. we ordered inside and sat outside. Inside seating was available.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank CinAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    53
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
PA
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“We were not impressed”
Reviewed July 26, 2013

I have heard many good things about Karoo Kafe over the years, last season we gave it a try for lunch early, shortly after they opened. We were genial and eager to try Karoo Kafe, and after we ordered our food a man (owner's husband, it appeared?) directed us to sit at a table awaiting our food. After a few minutes he came back and brusquely told us to move, he had some regulars coming soon who wanted that table he had just pointed us to, which I thought rude and unpleasant. We moved, and our food soon arrived. It was okay, the flavors nothing special, and my falafel was sauced with a rather unpleasant, tangy sauce. Later that afternoon I became sick, and think that the sauce was the likely culprit, it may have been spoiled.

Between the less than pleasant service, the merely adequate chicken curry dish, and the bad sauce leading to food-related illness, we were not at all impressed with Karoo Kafe, and will not be trying it again.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Good food fast”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

A small indoor/outdoor dining cafe with vegetarian options emphasizing an African influence with spicy sauces, curries, seafood; moderately priced with self clean up and quick service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Festival G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great food & service. Cool and quiet location.”
Reviewed July 25, 2013 via mobile

We are vacationing in Provincetown and stopped here after reading other reviews. The food was excellent with a large selection on the menu. The service was friendly and efficient. On a hot day it was really nice to sit in a cool spot to enjoy our meal. This one is a must.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank elemprin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
165 reviews
120 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
“A "Go-To" Place Every Year Now”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Been coming to Provincetown for Bear Week years now, and always manage to sneak a lunch in at Karoo Kafe. Basically South African cuisine, it is a great choice for vegetarians as there are many dishes available - all wonderfully spiced and beautifully prepared. A standout this year was a tofu pot pie - more like a calzone than a pie, but delicious nonetheless. A bottomless glass of ice tea was immensely welcome on the sweltering day we ate here, but the inside seating is nicely air-conditioned. Very reasonably priced as well. Worth looking for the place just to the East End of town and up a small alley.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank beardocnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo Kafe also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing