We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice lamb curry but not enough meat for my taste” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Karoo Kafe - CLOSED

Karoo Kafe
Price range: $0 - $16
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Seating
Description: This is a SOUTH African restaurant. It is Zagat rated.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice lamb curry but not enough meat for my taste”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

First time trying this cafe. Had the lamb curry which was very flavorful and it had assorted veggies and rice. Personally I'd like a bit more meat in the portion. Very friendly staff.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank cuteasianjock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

228 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    53
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
boston
1 review
“Easy and delicious”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our no-fuss dining at Karoo. You order yourself, and the friendly and prompt wait staff bring your meal to your table. We ate outside at this pet-friendly spot. The vegetable samosas were flavorful with a delicate crust and had more vegetables than the Indian-mainly-potatoe style. Our curried cole-slaw added a sweet and refreshing accompanyment to the meal. The tofu "meatloaf" was an outstanding mix of flavor and texture. Highly recommend this establishment!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank katwomanBoston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
4 reviews
“Excellent vegetarian food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Always stop here when in Provincetown and we are never disappointed. The food is great and the people friwndly.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Miltoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enschede, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Cool and different”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

Me and my girlfriend had a day to P-town and had dinner here. Finally a place where you order something else than burgers and fries. Not a lot of S-African food actually, mainly Moroccan/north-Africa, but well prepared.
Order at the counter and they will serve it at your table. Price is OK.
The place is a little small, so it can be a little crowded.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Stobbemans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
42 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Go here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2013 via mobile

My wife and I took a day trip to PTown and were looking for a place to grab lunch. Karoo Kafe had a great selection of South African food in meat, seafood, vegetarian, vegan and even gluten free.

I had the Mediterranean Wrap and my wife had the gluten free falafel wrap. Both were full of flavor and just the right size for lunch.

This is an order at the counter and then they deliver the food type place. So don't go for the ambiance - go for the amazing food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank eschuetz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Karoo Kafe also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing