We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great food, quiet bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Jimmy's HideAway

Jimmy's HideAway
Ranked #1 of 136 Restaurants in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $35
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Description: Cozy, friendly, upscale casual 50 seat restaurant with a water view and fireplace where friends meet and laughter flows.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Great food, quiet bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

It's still off-season, but we were so happy to see how quiet Jimmy's was for dinner. We sat at the bar and received quick, friendly service from the bartender. Fish and chips was fantastic -- light tasty batter and a malt vinegar aioli that was so yum. Husband reported his burger was great as well.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cs79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

631 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    484
    94
    32
    13
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Hidden Gem in Ptown”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Provincetown MANY times and had not known about Jimmy's. Very good friends told us to go and how to find it. It is a sign at the road and a path down to the door in the lower level of the building next to Bubala's. What a Gem! Inside is cozy and welcoming. The staff is wonderful and the food divine. A good wine list along with the beautiful view out the back of the beach is perfect. Definitely a must do every year when we return.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Buckhill2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“We Love This Place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Absolutely the best. The food is excellent, the service always great and the owners are very friendly. We tend to go during the off season and love the Thursday and Sunday night specials. My favorite is the citrus seafood dish. Glad they're open again! We're on our way.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ned B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Old Style Pub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2013

Jimmy's is a Pub Like setting with good quality and quantity food. Menu selections have many standards like Fish & Chips or specials that always sould and taste great!

Helpful?
1 Thank RichardA14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
1,352 reviews
934 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 722 helpful votes
“What a Great FInd!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

We come to Provincetown for two weeks each summer for Family Week. We have done this for years and got into a little bit of a rut, eating at the same old favorites year after year. This year we decided we wanted to try some new places.
Friends had told us about Jimmy Hideaway and we never got there. So we called to make reservations and were told they were full for the whole night, unless we cared to sit at the bar. We took the bar seat and were happy we did!
First off sitting at the bar was great! It was fun and local. The bartender was really sweet and it didn't take long for everyone having dinner at the bar to be old friends. I was happy a table wasn't open as the bar seat was really fun.
The service here is super. The staff and owners really care that each patron has a good meal and good experience.
I had local fish and it was cooked perfectly and was fresh and delicious. My husband had a steak and again, perfectly done.
We really enjoyed our meal here and it's now on the list of new favorites!
We liked it so much I brought my daughter in later in the week for an early dinner (this time we got a table with a nice garden view).
The place is a little small and it's very popular. It's popular with both locals and tourists in the know - so book a seat early. Also if they tell you only bar seating is open - grab it - it's a fun experience, with great drinks and great food.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jimmy's HideAway also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
 

Been to Jimmy's HideAway? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing