We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent, fresh and delicious, great service! Best lobster roll on the Cape!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Lucky Dog Ptown - CLOSED

Lucky Dog Ptown
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Lucky Dog Ptown serves Premium all beef hot dogs, veggie dogs, lobster rolls, fresh sausages, homemade cookies, homemade Boston Baked Beans, Chili, Potato Salad, Coleslaw, toppings and more. We source locally, serve only the freshest stuff made on site.. we don't fry or freeze. Lucky Dog Ptown is family owned and operated. Open from end of April through October 31st
Flemington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Excellent, fresh and delicious, great service! Best lobster roll on the Cape!”
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We visited Lucky Dog and it was just amazing! The place is small but clean and organized. The food was amazing -- I had a lobster roll with avocado and bacon and it was to die for, the best I had on the Cape. The roll was fresh and delicious, the bacon was thick and well cooked. Just yum! Two people in my party had the pulled pork sandwich and it was huge and delicious. One had the chili cheese dog which was amazing. And on top of the great food, the service was outstanding. Everyone was very friendly and on top of that, we had someone in our party with a peanut allergy and the people at Lucky Dog were very understanding and gave us all the information we needed, including options for rolls and personal information about where the rolls come from (they are baked in a nearby Portuguese bakery, yum) or the alternative packaged rolls. All in all, the best meal we had and a great experience. Thanks guys!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NJMom2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
781 reviews
330 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 309 helpful votes
“Good hotdogs”
Reviewed August 24, 2013

Great quick food and good seating not far from Macmillan Pier. Try the New York hotdog or the one with sauerkraut. Yummy.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aburel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plattsburgh, NY
Level Contributor
43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Good Food - Overpriced”
Reviewed August 18, 2013

Suprised this place is ranked as highly as it is. Food is good, don't get me wrong, but it's overpriced, even for P-town. My Nor'Easter Lobster Roll was very good, the cook asked me how much mayo and Old Bay I wanted, which was nice. I don't like lobster rolls that have a ton of mayo. I want to taste the lobster! However, it wasn't worth $16!! I've had lobster rolls just as good, with more meat, for substantially less. My girlfriend had a turkey and avocado sandwich, which she said was very good, but I'm not all about spending $9 on a sandwich w/ 4 oz. of meat. I've read their hot dogs are outstanding, but no matter how good they may be, I couldn't bring myself to spend $8-$10 on a hot dog. I can go to the other hot dog joint in P-town and spend $4 on a footlong that is apparently excellent as well.

Overall, they have decent food, but for what it is, it's overpriced. There are better options for dining out for lunch in P-town. I'd suggest Mojo's if you're in the mood for something quick.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ncm7772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Quality and care shine through”
Reviewed August 15, 2013 via mobile

You might say to yourself, "how good can a hot dog stand really be?" Lucky Dog shows that care and attention to detail can lift the humblest meal to the sublime. The dogs are thick and juicy and have that satisfying snap when you bite into them. The lobster rolls are spilling over with juicy sweet lobster, and they don't mix in the mayo until you order. They only add as much as you like! The Mac and cheese is velvety and decadent. These are people who give a damn about what they do, and it shows. Amazing place!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AngelfishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Overpriced, but tasty”
Reviewed August 14, 2013

Like most places in Ptown, the value is a bit dubious. Part of running a seasonal business. But the dogs are quite tasty, with a nice natural casing crunch and good flavor.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank VoyageurK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Dog Ptown also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing