We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dogs are good, but skip the lobster roll”
Review of Lucky Dog Ptown - CLOSED

Lucky Dog Ptown
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Lucky Dog Ptown serves Premium all beef hot dogs, veggie dogs, lobster rolls, fresh sausages, homemade cookies, homemade Boston Baked Beans, Chili, Potato Salad, Coleslaw, toppings and more. We source locally, serve only the freshest stuff made on site.. we don't fry or freeze. Lucky Dog Ptown is family owned and operated. Open from end of April through October 31st
Salem, Oregon
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Dogs are good, but skip the lobster roll”
Reviewed June 10, 2013

We stopped in the Lucky Dog to see if it deserved it's #1 rating in Ptown (as the locals call it). Three of us ordered hot dogs and said they were very good. They were a bit taken back by the $2 additional charge for sauerkraut. I ordered the lobster roll. I had been eating lobster just about everyday since arriving in Mass., but had not had the "famous" lobster roll. Frankly, it was boring. The lobster did not have much taste, the dressing (mayo) did not have much taste and the bun was a day or two old. I was not impressed for $15 (that included a pickle and chips, which were both great). I asked my friends about the buns on their hotdogs and they all said they were very good. This might have been because they used a different bun, or because the hotdog and bun were microwaved together to heat them up. So, three thumbs up on the hotdogs and and sideways thumb on the lobster roll. I guess I should have ordered a hotdog at a restaurant named the "Lucky Dog."

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Reviewer1245
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about our business recently. We are grateful for all of the feedback we get and that we get from travelers like you on Trip Advisor. While we work very hard every day to make the Lucky Dog Ptown experience outstanding, we are unhappy to hear that you did not have a good experience. We take pride in our local handcrafted food – our lobster rolls, all six kids are made to order and served on bread baked each day from the Portuguese Bakery in Provincetown. We make our lobster rolls with as little as possible so the beauty of the lobster knuckles and claw meat comes out. Our classic rolls are mixed with only mayonnaise or warm butter – we add no fillers, spices, salt, pepper, herbs, vegetables and or other things that might get between our guests and their lobster. We would enjoy the opportunity to have you visit again and enjoy a lobster roll on the house. If you visit again, please introduce yourself to me personally and we will make you one heck of a lobster roll! Thank you once again for your comments!

Cheers to a great summer!

Best Regards
Aaron Schwartz, Founder & Owner, Lucky Dog Ptown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

111 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    21
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedford Hills, New York
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
107 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Great Franks”
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Large, thick beef franks with assorted topping. I had the Mac Dog yesterday...a frank with Macaroni & Cheese with bacon.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to review Lucky Dog Ptown. We are grateful for guests like you who enjoy your experience and want to share it! We hope to see and delight you again soon! Cheers, Aaron (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dracut, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
78 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Good if you like a hard snap to your dog and a variety of condiments”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

I think it's difficult to review a place like Lucky Dogs because people like their hot dogs different. I found the casing of the hot dog to be difficult to bite through and the dog itself was salty. They offer cool varieties such as a bacon and bleu dog or a hot dog with mac n cheese. The place was very clean, small, and the staff were very friendly. It all depends on the hot dogs you like. These were thick and again I was not a fan of the "snap" to the dog.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ireaisling79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to review Lucky Dog Ptown. We are grateful for guests like you who enjoy your experience and want to share it! We love the snap of a natural hot dog and we apologize for your experience. We would love to have you back to enjoy Lucky Dog again... Cheers, Aaron (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
46 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed May 27, 2013 via mobile

This is our second year back at Lucky Dog. Great food. Great value and great staff. Easy location. Spotlessly clean. Try the mac and cheese dog with bacon. Yumm Veggie dogs are available.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Addileesa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to review Lucky Dog Ptown. We are grateful for guests like you who enjoy your experience and want to share it! We hope to see and delight you again soon! Cheers, Aaron (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston,MA
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful hotdog outfit”
Reviewed May 26, 2013

Ventured into lucky dog when I arrived in Provincetown after a choppy (but fun) ferry ride. Place was immaculate and well organized. Ordered classic dog and it was prepared just the way I like it, and it was huge for my standards. While the restaurant is in the rear, rear is better (away from Commercial St crowds). Will go there again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank endorphin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to review Lucky Dog Ptown. We are grateful for guests like you who enjoy your experience and want to share it! We hope to see and delight you again soon! Cheers, Aaron (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Dog Ptown also viewed

 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing