We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not to be missed during your visit to Ptown”
Review of Lucky Dog Ptown - CLOSED

Lucky Dog Ptown
Price range: $2 - $29
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Lucky Dog Ptown serves Premium all beef hot dogs, veggie dogs, lobster rolls, fresh sausages, homemade cookies, homemade Boston Baked Beans, Chili, Potato Salad, Coleslaw, toppings and more. We source locally, serve only the freshest stuff made on site.. we don't fry or freeze. Lucky Dog Ptown is family owned and operated. Open from end of April through October 31st
Goshen, Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not to be missed during your visit to Ptown”
Reviewed October 14, 2011

This is not your average hot dog. The teenagers are still talking about the mac and cheese dog. The owner is a perfectionist. His attention to detail, cleanliness, customer service and excellent product cannot be beat. Don't miss this place.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy06756
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ASPTOWN, Owner at Lucky Dog Ptown, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Thank you very much for taking the time out of your day to review Lucky Dog Ptown. We are grateful for guests like you who enjoy your experience and want to share it! We hope to see and delight you again soon! Cheers, Aaron (owner)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

110 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    81
    21
    8
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Berkeley, California
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Great service, food was almost great.”
Reviewed October 11, 2011

First off, this place has to be found. It is located on the back side of comercial st. facing MacMillan pier and the harbor. It took some searching to find. Once I found it and went inside, it was very crowded but the line moved fast. I ordered the mac dog, which is what it sounds like: a hot dog with mac and cheese on top. The hot dogs are a premium brand, as you can tell as soon as you bite into them. The mac and cheese was your run of the mill mac and cheese (but how can you go wrong with mac and cheese). Most important, this hot dog was a meal, not a thing you can pick up in your hand and resume walking the strip. This is a fork and knife, table and chair, and napkins please, meal. The service was awesome and quick. The guys making the dogs were excited when me, and the gentleman ordering next to me, both said we found out about them on tripadvisor. Shameless plug for you guys. Overall, very good. I would definately go back.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Ryan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Still craving1”
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Visited Ptown on the last weekend of September and stopped into Lucky Dog for lunch, and what a treat it was. Had a dog topped with mac and cheese, which was to die for. While it may sound strange, it is a revelation that everyone should try. The mac and cheese is creamy, yummy, homemade goodness and should not be missed, even if ordered as a side.

My partner had a dog topped with onion sauce, bacon, and blue cheese. One taste of his and I could not decide if it was better than mine. From that point on, we shared, enjoying every last bite.

Tried a side each of chili, cole slaw, and potato salad. All did not disappoint. The chili was thick and flavorful, but not too spicy. Loved the cole slaw as the cabbage was not shredded into tiny bits, but instead was larger bite-sized pieces that were lightly dressed. Potato salad comforted me with just the right combo of creamy from the potato and crunch from the pickle.

Portions were very generous, so we had some leftovers to take with us. However, we did have to try the devil dog for dessert. Two fingers of red velvet cake with a yummy cream cheese frosting in the middle. Perfect for the two of us to share after our meal.

The place is clean and comfortable, with outdoor seating available. The owner was super friendly and helpful, checking in on us to see if we were enjoying our food, (which we were!)

Will definitely go back next time we are in town. Thanks Lucky Dog! Keep up the good work.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Tom D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long island, new york
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great Dogs, great staff”
Reviewed October 1, 2011

Lucky Dog Ptown serves probably the best hot dogs ever. This little hidden gem is set back in a little alley off Commercial Street but it is well worth looking for. The dogs are great with a wide variety of delicious toppings. The combinations are creative but everything seems to work even though they may sound a little weird at first. I had the NY dog and my husband had the chili dog both were delicious and quite filling, as the dogs are big and the toppings very generous. In fact, my husband had to eat his with a knife and fork because the chili topping was so abundant. They offer various sides such as potato salad, coleslaw, macaroni and cheese and baked beans. The staff is friendly and very accomodating and the place is spotlessly clean. The prices are very reasonable. They even have a vegetarian hot dog available so everyone can find something to eat here. There is a lovely outside eating area with a nice view of the water.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 2inlove74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Nicest people in town serving the best dogs in town”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

The guys at Lucky Dog are the nicest in town. They like to get creative with their dog-concoctions and have fun with what they do. Great place. Highly recommend it to friends in the area. Personal favorite is the Buffalo Dog which sometimes you have to order by special request.

  • Visited August 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank NOTstevejobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lucky Dog Ptown also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing