We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sweet and Savory---in One Spot”

The Purple Feather Cafe & Treatery
Ranked #2 of 15 Dessert in Provincetown
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Bar, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Takeout
Description: Purple Feather is a true Mom & Pop place. All of our chocolate confections are hand made in our own kitchens. We also make all our own gelato, desserts and fudge. Our Hot chocolate and Mocha Lattes are considered the best by many of our guests. We use only "George Howell" coffee & espresso, and "Mem" loose leaf teas Purple Feather now serves Breakfast till noon and the rest of our food menu till 8 PM. Try our Lobster Roll or Baked Mac & Cheese. We also serve panini, sandwiches & salads for very reasonable price. Our baked mac & cheese is an old family recipe. We now have a full bar! Try our Mermaids Orgasm before dinner or a new gelato cocktail after.
Watervliet, New York
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Sweet and Savory---in One Spot”
Reviewed August 3, 2014

A great cafe for coffee, sandwiches, incredible desserts, homemade candy, and a wide selection of gelato. Great for a quick lunch or a later evening snack. Literally something for everyone--once you get past the line of people salivating over the chocolate selection. A one-of-a-kind spot in Provincetown--not to be missed!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jeff B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

555 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    323
    147
    48
    27
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fairfield, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
881 reviews
661 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
“Great place for dessert and coffee”
Reviewed August 2, 2014

We had a very enjoyable dessert. We both had gelato. They have a large selection of flavors. I had the chocolate peanut butter. It was very creamy and flavorful. I also had an iced decaf coffee. We sat inside- but there a few outside tables too. We also had good service.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gloria H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
193 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Best Dessert Place Ever!”
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I stop here nearly every day that I visit Ptown. They have so many tasty options that it is hard to decide. I would recommend to anyone and everyone. It is awesome!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank ttbryan1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Sweets!”
Reviewed July 27, 2014 via mobile

It's a dessert extravaganza! There are some offerings here that I've personally had it tried that are fantastic like the Panna cotta and the Cherry Fruit Tart. Yum! The Carrot Cake though tasty was a little hard around the exterior. One thing you should try though is the Chocolate dipped Bacon! The dark chocolate version is my favorite!
There is seating indoors and some outside. Outside is pet friendly. Coffees, teas and gelato are also available and so are lunch selections. Enjoy!

Helpful?
Thank Khoolton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
361 reviews
156 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
“Gelatto is Good,”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Ice Cream was pretty good, but not as good as Lewis Bros. Its sort of a strange place, ice cream, drinks, fudge, meals. Not sure what they are going for.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank HnLA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peter O, Owner at The Purple Feather Cafe & Treatery, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear Harlan8
Thank you for your review of Purple Feather Cafe & Treatery
It is hard to respond to your review as you were comparing our Gelato with another shops ice cream. Our gelato is about 1/3 the fat of the other ice cream, but it is OK if you like that better.
As for not "getting" the Purple Feather thing let me try to explain.
Purple Feather is a year round cafe. We offer different things because we want to be able to appeal to a range of different people and their needs.
We try to be innovative, which is why we are the only place in Provincetown where you can have a "Gelato Cocktail" while sitting on our patio and watching the world go by.
I understand if you don't appreciate this, but most of my customers seem to like the idea.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Purple Feather Cafe & Treatery also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to The Purple Feather Cafe & Treatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing