We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Local beach”
Review of Herring Cove Beach

Herring Cove Beach
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Part of the Cape Cod National Seashore, Herring Cove is Provincetown's most popular beach.
Ma.
Level Contributor
66 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Local beach”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Have been to Herring Cove Beach in summer for most of my life. Great place for swimming ,sun bathing , relaxing. When I was growing up here we used to call it New Beach and it was a way of life to go to the beach on a Sunday and spend the day in the sun and salt air . .I certainly miss the freedom of that beach since the National SEASHORE took it over. There are numerous regulations and federal laws now The beach is being taken over by the sea and they do nothing to stop it like The State of Massachusetts and the Town of Provincetown did when I was a youngster.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ronald P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

684 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    472
    161
    39
    10
    2
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
67 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“Beautiful!”
Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

Nov 10, 2013. I am writing about the National Seashore Beach with parking; not the place where people leave bikes on the fence near the road and hike in.

I visit the outer Cape at least twice a year. Today's day trip made it the third visit this year. The weather was less than ideal. We left Ptown around 4:50 and decided to drive through the Provincelands looking for coyotes like we saw in August. It was rainy and dark. We were greeted with a spectacular site. Despite the rain and darkness, the clouds had cleared on the horizon and the firey sunset there contrasted with the darkness on shore and was spectacular. What a pleasant surprise. Photos also posted, although they really don't do it justice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank forgotmypword
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“beautiful windy beach”
Reviewed November 9, 2013

especially liked this beach to watch the sunset. close to town, view of lighthouses, good for seal spotting.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank tri450
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Yorker
Level Contributor
83 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Another lovely National Seashore beach”
Reviewed November 5, 2013

We've been to this beach many many times over the years. The gay population is very accepting.
It's calming, nice dunes, good sunset. Concession stand and bathrooms.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank JoanAdria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mayfield, ny
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“sunset”
Reviewed October 28, 2013

good sunset; however, the skies were too clear -no clouds against whcih the sunlight reflects to cause backlight

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank jeffrey r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Herring Cove Beach also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Herring Cove Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing