We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice View”

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$60.00*
and up
Cape Cod Fast Ferry
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Reviewed September 17, 2013

This monument towers over Provincetown and affords an excellent view of P-Town and the end of the Cape. The climb to the top consists of a combination of 116 steps and a series of ramps spaced throughout the stairs to the top. The stairwell is wide enough for persons going up and down to pass comfortably and is well-lit. In all, it takes about 10 minutes to reach the top. At the top one has views from 3 ports on each side, with both a plexiglass shield from wind and rain and an iron fence to prevent anyone, even little children, from getting close to the edge. My wife does not enjoy heights, but she had no problem enjoying the spectacular views from each side.

The museum adjacent to the tower contains an interesting presentation of the Mayflower Pilgrims' life on the Cape, and exhibits of the history and early life of P-Town. There is a fee to climb the monument which includes admission to the museum. There is a discount for seniors and both the ferries and the chamber of commerce have discount coupons as well.

1  Thank Bill139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,177)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

873 - 877 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed September 15, 2013

Climb up the monument has a great view of P-town and the cape. Museum is interesting and worth a quick look.

Thank WorldWideAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

I thought I would be going up a monument to take some photos....which I did. I did not expect the museum to be so much fun!!

Thank Laura C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 14, 2013

We have been to Provicetown many time and have never done the tower. We decided to do it this year. It's a lot of steps and enclosed and so if you have a fatigue problem or respiratory then I would be cautios. It can be done but at your own pace. Also, if you are claustrophobic not the thing to do. We climbed and climbed but when we got to the top WOW what a view. It's absolutely beautiful. Worth the climb. We stayed there for about 15 min soaking in the view and taking pictures. You get to see Provincetown and appreciate the harbor even more. We were told you can see Boston, MA for a distance. I recommend as something to do once.

Thank Nannalus84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

The $10 parking fee includes a ticket for one free admission so it is worth the convenience of parking right on site. As a couple of very senior citizens who are in reasonably good shape we took our time climbing the stairs and ramps, and the view from the top was spectacular. It is a shame they have positioned the telescopes in front of the best views for picture taking! After walking into town for some lunch and sightseeing, we returned to visit the museum. Being British by birth, the 43 minute movie was of particular interest to me, but was disappointing. Firstly it was way too long. I imagine that if you do not have a basic knowledge of British history it could be incredibly boring. Secondly the sound was way too quiet. Thirdly, it was shown at the back of one of the galleries so that the chattering of other visitors ( and this was a quiet day) was distracting. Fourthly, the seating was comprised of three very hard, very uncomfortable benches. Otherwise the museum was interesting and well done. It is well worth a visit.

Thank Yogaphile
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management response:Responded May 3, 2017

On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing