We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book a Stay + Win a Getaway Book your hotel on TripAdvisor and you could win a great trip!

“Rude kids!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
Top Rated
and up
Fall on Cape Cod: Day Trip from Boston with...
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Level Contributor
83 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
“Rude kids!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's a nice view at the top of the monument - but the kids are just so rude! Swearing and cursing the whole way up, with parents who just seem to have given up. The viewing area at the top is small, at best, and you feel like you're up there with hoodlums. Unfortunately, the museum at the bottom isn't much better --- what is wrong with parents these days, where they can't control their kids??? They let their kids ruin the experience of other visitors. No where did I see this more than at the monument!

Visited June 2013
1 Thank SMa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

959 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
120 reviews
42 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Quite a trek up but beautiful views!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were doing a dolphin trip at 10 and i had wanted to go up in the monument too so we walked quickly up the hill to the monument entrance. We had already parked of course done by the marina and i think it was $3 per hour but i did note that the monument parking was $10 for the day so probably a better deal and i think it gave you money off admission too.
anyway, we weren't sure how long the climb would take so we talked to the very helpful staff at the front desk and decided to make a go of it. The admission price was good all day so he told us we could come back after the dolphin trip. We made the climb in about 10 minutes or so--it was definitely a work out! Lots of stairs and ramps--there are stones from many different cities who contributed during the construction and that was interesting to see. I am not claustrophobic but I think if you were, then this might get to you. Once up at the top, it was beautiful with great views in all directions. It was a clear day and very lovely to get the perspective from the top. They have pretty much "caged" it in--so you are looking through fencing, but it is possible to get pictures. We spent 5-10 minutes up there and we were the only people we saw the whole time! Unfortunately, we never made it back for the museum but wish we had...it looked to be very well done

Visited June 2013
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
449 reviews
254 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and nice view of Ptown port”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

The museum is interesting but could be better organized. It has 3 videos to see. One can snack on the grounds while pondering the view over Ptown and its bay. NIce shop with loads of curios and books.

Visited June 2013
1 Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to start your trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2013

Go there bright and early in the morning. If you are afraid of Heights then this is not the place for you. The Museum is great, and the staff were very nice

Visited May 2013
1 Thank Max0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The "Beginning" tour”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 27, 2013

Enjoyed learning about the pilgrims and seeing the artifacts from that era of America's History. Real interesting. Too many steps to go up inside the monument but the view from the base of the pilgrims monument of the Provincetown harbor was fantastic. Highest granite structure in the U.S.

Visited December 2012
Thank RedRunnerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing