We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude kids!”

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Jeremy Point Jaunt from Wellfleet Marina
More Info
$200.00*
and up
Private Sunset Sailing Experience in Wellfleet
More Info
$130.00*
and up
Full-Day Provincetown Land and Sea Scenic Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Massachusetts
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“Rude kids!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

It's a nice view at the top of the monument - but the kids are just so rude! Swearing and cursing the whole way up, with parents who just seem to have given up. The viewing area at the top is small, at best, and you feel like you're up there with hoodlums. Unfortunately, the museum at the bottom isn't much better --- what is wrong with parents these days, where they can't control their kids??? They let their kids ruin the experience of other visitors. No where did I see this more than at the monument!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank SMa1983
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    690
    338
    71
    14
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
45 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Quite a trek up but beautiful views!”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

We were doing a dolphin trip at 10 and i had wanted to go up in the monument too so we walked quickly up the hill to the monument entrance. We had already parked of course done by the marina and i think it was $3 per hour but i did note that the monument parking was $10 for the day so probably a better deal and i think it gave you money off admission too.
anyway, we weren't sure how long the climb would take so we talked to the very helpful staff at the front desk and decided to make a go of it. The admission price was good all day so he told us we could come back after the dolphin trip. We made the climb in about 10 minutes or so--it was definitely a work out! Lots of stairs and ramps--there are stones from many different cities who contributed during the construction and that was interesting to see. I am not claustrophobic but I think if you were, then this might get to you. Once up at the top, it was beautiful with great views in all directions. It was a clear day and very lovely to get the perspective from the top. They have pretty much "caged" it in--so you are looking through fencing, but it is possible to get pictures. We spent 5-10 minutes up there and we were the only people we saw the whole time! Unfortunately, we never made it back for the museum but wish we had...it looked to be very well done

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank L R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level 6 Contributor
574 reviews
316 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Interesting museum and nice view of Ptown port”
Reviewed June 29, 2013

The museum is interesting but could be better organized. It has 3 videos to see. One can snack on the grounds while pondering the view over Ptown and its bay. NIce shop with loads of curios and books.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LisandroVoyager
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great place to start your trip”
Reviewed June 28, 2013

Go there bright and early in the morning. If you are afraid of Heights then this is not the place for you. The Museum is great, and the staff were very nice

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Max0804
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The "Beginning" tour”
Reviewed June 27, 2013

Enjoyed learning about the pilgrims and seeing the artifacts from that era of America's History. Real interesting. Too many steps to go up inside the monument but the view from the base of the pilgrims monument of the Provincetown harbor was fantastic. Highest granite structure in the U.S.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank RedRunnerOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing