We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a view”

Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$50.00*
and up
Jeremy Point Jaunt from Wellfleet Marina
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: This monument commemorates the Pilgrim's first landing in Provincetown (not Plymouth), where they conceived, wrote and committed to the Mayflower Compact - the foundational document for the democracy America enjoys today. The Monument is the tallest all-granite structure in the U.S. rising 353 feet above sea level, and at the top, visitors are provided the most spectacular view of Cape Cod.In addition to the MOnument, the Provincetown Museum presents the unique cultural heritage of this historic town with special exhibitions and permanent displays.The Monument and Museum has ample parking, is open daily from APril 1st through November 30, and NEW this year - a food concession call the "Shallop Cafe" where visitors can enjoy a picnic lunch overlooking Provincetown and the Bay.
Fort St. John, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a view”
Reviewed November 2, 2012

116 steps and 60 ramps, well worth the climb for the view and pictures from the top, it's actually an easy climb

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Bonnie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    642
    319
    68
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Little Falls, New York, United States
Level Contributor
59 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great!”
Reviewed October 29, 2012

Have been going to P-Town for years, and finally returned to the museum for their latest exhibit...Awesome!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank David T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
75 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Somewhat disappointing”
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The museum is very small and unremarkable, and, worse, after climing 60 flights of stairs, you find that the entire top of the monument is encased in concrete and glass, making it very difficult to get good views of the landscape.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank GenPDP7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Provincetown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
672 reviews
320 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 311 helpful votes
“View from theTop”
Reviewed October 15, 2012

For anyone visiting Provincetown this is a must! It is a unique expirience, somewhat like an airboat ride through the Everglades!!
Had not done this in years and on a perfectly pristine day took my 2 visiting cousins all the way up!
It is not as difficult as one might think, as it is a series of ramps and steps with plenty of room to move at your own speed. It is also not as claustrophobic as it looks.
The view is breathtaking with a 360 of the lower Cape and back to the mainland. It was clear enough to see the skyline of Boston some 42 miles away,a real bonus! The view of the harbour and the town are equally awe inspiring! Don't miss the museum at the base, a great history lesson! Don't hesitate~ DO IT!!!!!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank CATTSAR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vacaville, California
Level Contributor
251 reviews
66 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Worth the drive!!”
Reviewed October 13, 2012

We drove from Boston to see this monument. It is definitely worth the 2 hour drive! Climb to the top of the 250 foot tower and enjoy beautiful views of the cape and the town. Tour the museum and learn a bit about the adventures of the very first settlers that started this great country. It's great to visit the place where our country got it start. The drive was beautiful; the fall colors are just starting to turn.

We drove highway 6A on most of the cape. It takes longer, but it's great to see all the small towns and buildings.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Emarsh69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Manager at Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum, responded to this review, May 3, 2017
On behalf of the Pilgrim Monument and the Provincetown Museum I would like to thank you for taking the time to share with us your experience here, your feedback is greatly appreciated and will help us as we grow and learn from our visitors.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum also viewed

Provincetown, Cape Cod
Provincetown, Cape Cod
 

Been to Pilgrim Monument & Provincetown Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing